We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of An Mordros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Mordros Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came down for a few days and will be back. We usually stay in Helston, but fancied something a little different this year and weren't disappointed. The room was lovely, the breakfast substantial and the whole ambiance relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    34
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just come back from a lovely week in Cornwall and stayed for a couple of nights at the hotel before moving onto our rental property. Lovely clean room with fantastic views of the harbour. Both Russell and Sandy made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. Will hopefully be back, thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely but rooms with a view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you vey much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful break in Cornwall. We stayed at An Mordros Hotel for a whole week and enjoyed every single day. The room that we were allocated was the back room that sometimes receives negative comments, all we can say is ignore them. The room is spacious, fantastically clean and very airy with two windows. Yes the view is of a courtyard but what do you really expect at the back of the house. I must say this did not effect our stay at all as we were so busy returning late most days - isn't a holiday for enjoying yourself, not gazing out of the window all day wishing you were involved in life!

We totally agree that Sandy cooks the most fabulous breakfast, everything just how you request it and so filling you can't eat until much later in the day. The ingredients are of the best quality - no cheap skinny bacon here and even good toast. Russell is always so helpful, giving advice when requested but not in a pushy way.

We can not recommend this hotel highly enough. The price is excellent and we have already booked another visit for next year.

Thanks for everything.

In the following section I have ticked excelent for everything however there isn't a pool but I didn't want to leave this blank in case this marked the hotel down

Mark and katie Evans

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icklebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014. See you soon. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in room No1 for one week, with harbour views, good sized, clean, plenty of storage space, comfy bed and a nice seating area to relax and enjoy the view from the window, the breakfasts were excellent, great service, plenty of choice and nothing seemed too much trouble always asked If we would like more, no problem recommending this to anyone, we are seriously considering booking a return visit, thank you Sandy and Richard for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on the An Mordros Hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you are considering returning to us in the future. See you soon. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were disappointed in An Mordros, the place has a tired feel, and would benefit from a good spring clean and lick of paint. Our room was relatively clean, fresh towels every day, but it had a stale smell, slightly redolent of previous cigarette smoke. The cooked breakfast was of poor quality although plenty of cereal, toast and fruit etc was available, the coffee was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilarityj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are sorry that your stay with us was so disappointing. We are very surprised with some of your comments as the hotel is redecorated every year and touched up(if possible) as the season goes along. We are renowned for our good breakfast (as mentioned on many reviews) everything is locally sourced and cooked to order. As for the smell of tobacco , rooms are spring cleaned by us on every changeover we did not notice any smell ourselves . If a previous guest has ignored the NO SMOKING sign in their room they have broken the law, but I am afraid it is very difficult for us to enforce this once they are in their room. We do hope that your satay with us will not deter you from returning to Porthleven in the future. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were given a fantastic Cornish welcome by Sandy who met us on the road to help us with our bags. From the moment we checked in we had an amazing few days as the views from our harbour room were magnificent. The breakfasts are very filling, no need for lunch. Nothing is too much trouble and they did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. This is the only place to stay in Porthleven so don't waste your time looking at others, the An Mordros is quite simply the best. We will be back and we hope you have a wonderful wedding day on 19th October.

Room Tip: Small hotel with only 6 rooms so attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miscura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write such an amazing review and 11/10 score is fantastic. We are so pleased you had such a nice time with us here at the An Mordros Hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and thanks for the wedding wishes. Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A lovely hotel in such a beautiful, stunning place. Had a harbour view room and just taking in the vast scenery was a highlight.
Breakfasts are fresh, tasty and more than ample. Homemade jams, plus local ingredients make it a very pleasant start to the day.
There is also a bar with nice seating both inside and out.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Porthleven is so relaxing a place to visit and this hotel just accentuates the relaxation you feel.
My partner and I would love to stay here again next summer or sooner if possible!!
Many thanks to Russell and Sandy for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: Any room is nice as it is so relaxing a place to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are pleased you had a relaxing and pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
9.7 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
10.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Mordros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Mordros Hotel

Property: An Mordros Hotel
Address: Peverall Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR1 9DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With outstanding views over Porthleven harbour the An Mordros is a family run hotel. Facilities include a cozy bar lounge and sea facing patio area. Elegantly furnished, all bedrooms include TV, hair driers, hospitality trays. All rooms are en-suite and some have incredible sea and harbour views. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Mordros Porthleven
An Mordros Hotel Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing