We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel deserves high ratings”
Review of An Mordros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Mordros Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Whilst other reviewers have raved about the front-facing bedrooms, I would urge anyone to stay in this hotel even if they can't get one of these rooms. My friend and I needed a twin bedded room for one night only (we were walking the coastal path) and were given a delightful room consisting of a double and single bed at the back of the hotel. The room was large with an en-suite shower room and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable beds that we had slept in for the whole of our holiday. The choice at breakfast was plentiful, well presented and very tasty. It set us up for the rest of the day. I can fully understand why this hotel rates so highly on Tripadvisor - it is well deserved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreas1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards Sandy and Russell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've visited Porthleven a number of times so we already know how lovely this Cornish fishing village is. However this was our first time at An Mordros and we were not disappointed. The hotel is set up high above the harbour so the west-facing views are spectacular at sunset. I've posted a couple of pix.

The rooms are well furnished and very warm and cosy - with tea & coffee making facilities and Freeview on TV it was was just right for a chilly evening. The shower room was a bit snug but perfectly practical and spotlessly clean. Our room had a harbour view and a table and chairs to watch the sunset from.

Breakfast is included in the price and has all the options you could possibly want, is well cooked and served promptly. In fact the service was warm and welcoming throughout. An Mordros comes highly recommended.

Visitors wanting good pub food and local ales should try the Atlantic Inn just 2 minutes away with even more spectacular views for those outside.

Room Tip: It's worth spending the extra £5 for a room with a sea or harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanfox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write such a lovely review on the An Mordros Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a break of 2 years we once again returned to An Mordros to find Sandy and Russell as friendly and accommodating as ever. It was the week before Easter and a little cold outside however within the hotel, where we had one of the superbly comfortable front, harbour and sea facing rooms which have unbeatable views, it was lovely and warm. The excellent breakfasts, I always opt for the "full Cornish", really set us up for the day and after which lunch is an optional extra. We look forward to our next visit and the peace and tranquility that is An Mordros and Porthleven.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but paying a little extra for the harbour facing ones is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STVBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write such a lovely review on the An Mordros Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed three nights in this cosy and clean hotel and were made to feel very much at home by both Sandy and Russell. We started each morning with a tasty breakfast, our every food request accommodated without hesitation. Our room provided us with wonderful views of this incredible harbour village and the hotel provided the ideal base from which to explore the beauty of Cornwall. We recommend An Mordros and Porthleven and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for finding the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,we hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The breakfast room looks bigger and lighter with the long low sideboard that has been installed since last year. The welcome and service are as warm and friendly as ever, as reported in my July 2011 review and we look forward to next year’s visit.
Our annual holiday in Cornwall would not be complete without staying at An Mordros, with its cosy rooms, ample breakfasts and magnificent views.
The weather was too cold and gloomy to sit on the terrace this year, but the cosy bar was a snug alternative, with views across the harbour through its window.
http://www.anmordroshotel.com/

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeldomReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guests, thanks to all your lovely reviews of the An Mordros Hotel, we have received a certificate of Excellence from Trip Adviser. We would like to give you our heartfelt thanks for finding the time to write a review. We would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we found this hotel after a long walk along the cornish coast, was a very friendly welcome and the room and breakfast were superb. highly recommended !!! Porthleven is a great stop off if you are a walker in cornwall !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guests, thanks to all your lovely reviews of the An Mordros Hotel, we have received a certificate of Excellence from Trip Adviser. We would like to give you our heartfelt thanks for finding the time to write a review. We would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just what we wanted from this holiday - a calm and friendly hotel, so relaxing. Fantastic position and views, great breakfasts and fab rooms, clean, quite and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended for a quiet, romantic break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guests, thanks to all your lovely reviews of the An Mordros Hotel, we have received a certificate of Excellence from Trip Adviser. We would like to give you our heartfelt thanks for finding the time to write a review. We would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
2.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
89 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
650 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
5.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Mordros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Mordros Hotel

Address: Peverell Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With outstanding views over Porthleven harbour the An Mordros is a family run hotel. Facilities include a cozy bar lounge and sea facing patio area. Elegantly furnished, all bedrooms include TV, hair driers, hospitality trays. All rooms are en-suite and some have incredible sea and harbour views. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Mordros Porthleven
An Mordros Hotel Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing