We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a nice Chinese for takeaway”

Moonflower Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Wanted to make a review as this really was a bad restaurant and their food was unedible.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It is a nice Chinese for takeaway”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have never eaten inside the restaurant as we have a dog but the food has always been nice as a takeaway. We always use it at least once during each holiday of ours in Porthleven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Loucoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    17
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great fun, tasty and friendly”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well we had a nice fun evening, the owners were very friendly and I would say that the food was great, seemed very authentic to us! Thanks for a great fun evening and the Fricky ice cream!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“TRY THE RIBS”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely little Chinese restaurant which we've visited many times over the last few years. The ribs are momentous - give them a go. Good food, good service - definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank alison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very very poor!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On my last night of my holiday in Porthleven i had met a lovely dear lady and we got chatting and fancied a Chinese and walk along the harbour! So we walked up to the Moonflower. As soon as we arrived we were waiting to look at the menu along the bar top, and the lady behind the counter kept asking us what we would like - without even having a look. Eventually after waiting for ages we got our food, very reasonable price considering to what we have to pay up country! I was so disappointed when it came around to eating it, very very bland, the chicken for some reason did not taste like chicken! I phoned up and complained and the waitress said i could have something else free of charge, so i chose to have the beef chow mein, which was a lot better than my first option! The waitress was very helpful when it came to me complaining about my food. Not the best in the south west!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Another nice meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We always have at least one takeaway from here everytime we visit Cornwall. We, so far, have never been disappointed. The Crispy Chilli Beef is recommended as are there Sweet and Sour Balls. Very pleasant and chatty staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonflower Restaurant also viewed

Helston, Cornwall
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Moonflower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing