We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good grub after a night in the pub!”

Moonflower Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wanted to make a review as this really was a bad restaurant and their food was unedible.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good grub after a night in the pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Usual Chinese food. Variety is good, value is good. Staff are friendly.
They have a takeaway, delivery service and a restaurant.
This business has been going for as long as I can remember (may be with different owners) and I am 45!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    16
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not the quickest at answering the phone, (I assume they were busy at the time), but very friendly, efficient staff and could even pay over the phone =].

Even managed to get drinks delivered as well which was great.

We ordered the quarter duck and sweet and sour hong kong style. They forgot the hoisin sauce but got the driver to bring it over very quickly which was awesome and made up for it. Would recommmend and if you go in to pick up you can get a pint while your wait =].

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“if this restaurant wasnt first class would we be repeat customers??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

we have been using this restaurant for years eating in restaurant, delivery and pick up, we have always been treat with nothing but kind, friendly professional people weather eating in restaurant or take away, the restaurant is a large bright clean area with plenty of room and great atmosphere, waitresses were happy and friendly and nothing too much trouble, the take away is spot on, food always piping hot an very tasty, we have also paid the delivery charge and had it brought out to us, by the time you hang up the phone, get plates ready and poured your wine the meal is there we have NEVER had to wait longer than 10/15 mins, also if you go in to pick up your take away there is a nice comfy area with chairs and magazines and papers to read while you wait,give this restaurant a try, trust me you wont be disappointed, house special with noodles is awesome as is crispy beef/chicken, go and enjoy :0)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank amphibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Ordered our first takeaway from here this week, having been coming to Porthleven for the last 7 years. Sorry Moonflower it was not good, duck, chicken Cantonese so so dry and tasteless I can honestly say worst takeaway I have ever had we won't be back, especially as there are other venues in the village to eat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rank”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Delivery was over an hour late food was dis gusting the containers were not even sealed resulting in a bag full of sauce ! Don't go there !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cribber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonflower Restaurant also viewed

Helston, Cornwall
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Moonflower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing