We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We tossed a coin”

Roland's Happy Plaice
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We tossed a coin”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We couldn't decide which chip shop to go for ... so a coin was tossed and Roland's won. We are not great fish and chip eaters but we enjoyed these ... the batter was light and the portions were certainly more than generous for us. Standard Cod for me and Hake for hubby. The Haddock special seemed good value and the food was freshly cooked. We received a warm welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ALF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    66
    17
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing fish and chips!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The smell entices you to turn the corner! Voila the finest fish and chips I can remember tasting. A choice of fish and meal options. All fried to order so expect to wait a little while.
Light crispy batter, scrummy chips. Added to the food excellence, eaten sat overlooking a sun drenched harbour. Perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best value chippy by far!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly, efficient & professional! Food so tasty & best value by far! We have visited other chip shops all over Cornwall over the last 15 years on our travels, but would rate this place in the top 3 for definite! We will always come back - never disappointed - keep up the great work! Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WHV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fish - Average Chips”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped here for Fish and Chips on a lunchtime, quite a wait but the fish was one of the best I have tasted - really thick white fluffy Cod in a light batter, certainly seems fresh and not over frozen that you get in so many shops. The chips I felt let them down - they were no better than average and a bit of a mean portion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Polhigey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“NO rip off here”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bank Holidays in Cornwall is usually fleece the tourist and locals time. But not here. Special offer,Fresh haddock and chips for only £4. Hot, fresh and tasty... and polite service. No need to say any more

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland's Happy Plaice also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Roland's Happy Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing