We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small..Busy...but worth it!”
Review of The Top Chippy

The Top Chippy
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Top Chippy is a family business owned & run by Norman/Vicky and their son Aaron Green who are all local to the area. Being from Cornwall we try and use local produce as much as we possibly can. we try our best to save the planet by using only sustainable vegetable oil sourced from local companies we have got a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu or on the specials board in the shop we even cater for the smaller appetite Give us a try !! REMEMBER WE DON'T FRY FAST FOOD WE FRY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AS FAST AS WE CAN !!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small..Busy...but worth it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The best fish and chips I think I've had!...definitely the best chips..nice and crispy....great value...and such a lovely part of Cornwall. ..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    44
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Fish and chips”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not many takeaways in Porthleven this place has never disappointed. Look out for the specials board as there normally is an offer on worth trying

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in porthleven!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited this shop after visiting the other chip shop in porthleven the day before and was very disappointed. Well this was lovely the batter was golden and good chips. Delicious food! Worth a visit!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_amanda_789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in village”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Having tried both the fish and chip shops in porthleven this wins hands down and the people that run it are lovely. Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank eye j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best fish n chips in porthleven !”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

after try fish n chips from both chippys in porthleven , this is by far the best yummy chips and fantastic fresh fish, with very friendly staff to go with it ! will definitely be eating here again on our next visit to porthleven!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top Chippy also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing