We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, fast, friendly!”
Review of The Top Chippy

The Top Chippy
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: British
Description: The Top Chippy is a family business owned & run by Norman/Vicky and their son Aaron Green who are all local to the area. Being from Cornwall we try and use local produce as much as we possibly can. we try our best to save the planet by using only sustainable vegetable oil sourced from local companies we have got a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu or on the specials board in the shop we even cater for the smaller appetite Give us a try !! REMEMBER WE DON'T FRY FAST FOOD WE FRY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AS FAST AS WE CAN !!
Restaurant details
Description: The Top Chippy is a family business owned & run by Norman/Vicky and their son Aaron Green who are all local to the area. Being from Cornwall we try and use local produce as much as we possibly can. we try our best to save the planet by using only sustainable vegetable oil sourced from local companies we have got a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu or on the specials board in the shop we even cater for the smaller appetite Give us a try !! REMEMBER WE DON'T FRY FAST FOOD WE FRY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AS FAST AS WE CAN !!
somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast, friendly!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is truly a treat. Fish and chips that are cooked fresh from this wonderful chippy. Porthleven is always a delight for a holiday with excellent restaurants, but if you fancy a night in instead of eating out, this is the place to choose. The staff are so friendly it is a joy to visit them.

I'm only glad this chippy is not in my local area as it would be too tempting, too often! Try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    45
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“excellent best ever fish”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Due to lack of crab sandwiches ..weagther not good enough for the catch to be collected. ...we went to the Top Chippy. Good move! Freshly cooked so a few mins wait. They helped by waited for me to come back and join my waiting husband before they wrapped them up.

REal fish..(if you get my meaning) white and fresh. Chips crispy. Fantastic. I could do with some right now!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great tasting fish and chips (very crispy). The batter was a little squishy but better than being too dry! The service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyyy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Chippy - clue is in the name!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

So - there are two chippys in Porthleven and to try and be fair, I've tried both several times.

I won't be trying the other one again.

Top Chippy do exactly what they say on the tin - Top Fish, much of it local, and unfailingly great chips. The smiles and genuine good humour are thrown in for nothing.

One thing I'd improve myself are the Mushy Peas - but TBH this is nit picking. 2 Hake and Chips please.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BinThereAteThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice Chips”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took family after a long drive down to Cornwall to save cooking and we were all impressed with the portion size, quality of food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top Chippy also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing