We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chippy in Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Top Chippy

The Top Chippy
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Top Chippy is a family business owned & run by Norman/Vicky and their son Aaron Green who are all local to the area. Being from Cornwall we try and use local produce as much as we possibly can. we try our best to save the planet by using only sustainable vegetable oil sourced from local companies we have got a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu or on the specials board in the shop we even cater for the smaller appetite Give us a try !! REMEMBER WE DON'T FRY FAST FOOD WE FRY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AS FAST AS WE CAN !!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chippy in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly welcome, beautifully cooked and good value. Catch of the Day (often local pollack we were told) is excellent.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pochardblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    43
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Five minutes before closing for the evening I was served with delicious freshly cooked haddock and crispy chips. Thank you - it was delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandimac323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
“Been a few times & never disappointed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always visit this chip shop every time we come to Cornwall and we have found it to be the best one in the area! I must say that we have never been disappointed and neither have any of our friends (as we recommend it to anyone going anywhere near!) so we were surprised to see the earlier review from Jon K! The fish is locally sourced - none of your frozen imported stuff - and everything is freshly cooked! We have certainly never found portion size to be a problem. The owners are very friendly and accomodating, for example, although they don't sell mugs of tea, they are happy for you to buy one from next door & bring it in to sit at their tables and enjoy your meal! On the whole its a great little shop in a lovely unspoilt little harbour village. 5 stars from us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevandCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A good fish and chip shop, not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I visited this chippy with a friend after reccomandations from friends. I have to say I was disappointed. You are only allowed one size of serving which unfortunately doesn't really fill you up. The chips were all small and we both had a lot of off cuts and burnt ends which we ended up throwing away. This is a good chip shop don't get me wrong but I would by no means put it in the excellent bracket due to fixed portion size and poor chips.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It really is as good as everyone says!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We popped in for lunch and had a good chat with the owners who hail from Staffordshire (as does my husband). Freshly cooked hake and haddock were on the menu with chips made from Cornish potatoes. Sat at one of the little tables in the window watching the rain coming down and wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else at that moment in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top Chippy also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing