We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More fish please” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kota Kai

Kota Kai
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kota Kai occupies the whole of the top floor of Celtic House and has unbeatable views across Porthleven harbour and beyond. Almost every table in the restaurant benefits from these views as the tables run alongside the many windows at the front of the building.The food is simpler than at Kota (our big sister restaurant), but all great quality using local ingredients and there is a fantastic variety of dishes including oysters, mussels, steak, burger and Asian dishes. We also have a selection of 'mini Kai', i.e. small plates such as salt & pepper squid, beef carpaccio, ham & cheese croquettes and mini fishcakes.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More fish please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was great, food was cooked to perfection.
Would like to see more fish on the menu.
Location over looking the harbour.
Worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minquies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    126
    37
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“An superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

There is a lift on ground floor and the restaurant is up on the first floor - very neat & colourful and an open kitchen area, also a lounge, greeted by a lovely bubbly young lady and nothing was too much trouble, first off we wanted to arrange the tables so we could sit side by side and admire the view (not busy else wouldn't have asked). The menu is varied and had great trouble choosing, I had the Laska seafood bowl - never had anything like this before and really enjoyed it but wore it too - perhaps bibs would be a good idea! We then had the sticky toffee pudding and ice cream between us which was very good. Will definately go again, no negative points at all. Cost £40 with coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lunch today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thought we would give this a try for lunch today following a stroll around the harbour.
Food was excellent I had the Thai Chicken curry & the better half had a Thai seafood curry, had a wait of 15 minutes as both were freshly prepared but as this was clearly explained to us & the view out of the window made the time fly!
The food was well worth waiting for ! Obviously freshly prepared & so well presented.
Staff were excellent all smiles & enthusiastic !
Well worth a visit & we shall return later in the year!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Top top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A colleague and I were looking for somewhere to eat last night and I am really pleased we saw the sign for Kota Kai. We both had a lovely meal. Fantastic actually. Having come back from Thailand this winter I was massively impressed with my massalam curry. Beautifull. The antipasti start was great and the elderflower g and t was little gem too..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Letsallhaveadisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough, good pho”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I did not expect to find pho in Porthleven,to be honest. However, the pho at Kota Kai was quite good. The food, I would rate average to above average. The atmosphere is appropriate to a casual family eatery.
The service was variable. Our waitress was fine, but we noticed another employee was a bit on the curt side with customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeStembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota Kai also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing