We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Weird ones like green tea and that'.”
Review of Kota Kai

Kota Kai
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kota Kai occupies the whole of the top floor of Celtic House and has unbeatable views across Porthleven harbour and beyond. Almost every table in the restaurant benefits from these views as the tables run alongside the many windows at the front of the building.The food is simpler than at Kota (our big sister restaurant), but all great quality using local ingredients and there is a fantastic variety of dishes including oysters, mussels, steak, burger and Asian dishes. We also have a selection of 'mini Kai', i.e. small plates such as salt & pepper squid, beef carpaccio, ham & cheese croquettes and mini fishcakes.
Porthleven
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Weird ones like green tea and that'.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

6 (locals) of us ate there last night, it was quiet. When asked for further information re the pork starter the waitress told us that it was 'sticky and porky'. It was not sticky and was very fatty. 2 had squid starters but the chef forgot to put the squid in, they were both dressed with anchovies only. Some delay while that was rectified. The mains were fine but not stunning. For dessert when we asked for the flavour of ice-cream served the waitress shrugged and said 'only weird ones like green tea and that'. We didn't bother.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beamer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneKereama, Owner at Kota Kai, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your meal the other night, I sincerely apologise for the waitress in question. It was her first shift back after a couple of months and although she had gone through the new menu thoroughly with the manager before service, she obviously did a poor job of passing it on to the customers. Also for the misunderstanding with the Caesar salad versus the squid caesar salad. She should have double checked this with you before placing the order - I can assure you she will be appropriately reprimanded on all these matters.
Our manager did come and check on you as soon as she heard of the problem with the salad (we did have over 30 diners plus cocktail drinkers so it wasn't that quiet!) but unfortunately nobody mentioned any problem with the waitress or pork to her so she was unaware of these issues.
Regarding the pork, our sticky pork dish is made from belly of pork and so does have fat in it - this is the authentic way of making the dish but I am sorry if it was not to your liking.
I do hope you will come and try Kai again - I can assure there won't be any more problems with the waitress.
kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    133
    39
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, welcoming service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ate there last night, busy for valentines day but great service, lovely food. Duck was sublime and the Cullen skink fabulous. Food is high end and price reflects it. Look for fixed menu / early bird for good deals. Recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BecksMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“International cuisine at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very pleasant dining experience with attentive staff and good food. Overlooking the harbour at Porthleven where there is always plenty of bustle and things going on.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for the family”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited with my young son and wife and had a superb visit. Good was outstanding, service was just right and the atmosphere was informal. The playroom for the kids is a great bonus on the well thought out concept. There's some tough competition in town, but these guys are up there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishinquisition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My brother & I went for a meal here recently. They were flat out catering for two xmas parties so we expected to have to wait, however we were attended to very quickly, and though the staff were very busy we were not forgotten about . Whilst the food was nothing exceptional it was well prepared and well presented. Have no problem recommending this restaraunt , just remember it's a small Cornish harbour town , not the foodie capial of europe. so go ith an open mind and just relax and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewlisa658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota Kai also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing