We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit place”
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must visit place”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

No visit to Porthleven is complete without a trip or two or three to The Ship Inn, we have been many times & always come back for more. We love spending winter afternoons/evenings sat by the log fire, listening to the friendly,characterful locals or just watching the world go by.
Its situated on the far side of the harbour, lovely views from the windows, watching the boats come & go, wave watching or just watching the sun setting over the breakwater. A climb to the top of the newly completed beer garden is well worth it, excellent views & photo opportunities.
They have an excellent choice local beers & cider, they even had some mulled cider - very tasty. We haven't eaten there for a while but the food always smells & looks delicious.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    156
    50
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Really cosy friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This pub is a true harbour pub with lots of locals using it after work in the evenings but also busy during the day with tourists and walkers as it is on the way to the coastal walk to Rinsey Point. Lovely welcoming fire in November/December!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy pub and good grub”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to this pub, the first being in February this year. My girlfriend and I had two very tasty meals. I had the ribs which were done just right and my girlfriend had the crab fish cakes as a main. Hearty food resulting in two clean plates.
Overall a lovely spot, nice and cosy on a cold winter evening. Definitely worth a visit! Get there early though as it's only quite a small place and fills up fast!

Helpful?
Thank Chaferross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Infamous Inn on the Cliff”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've been coming to Porthleven since I was a small child and the Ship Inn has always had a special place in my heart, with tales of pirates and smugglers and the like. It's always a pleasure to come back and sit by the fire in the winter months and not move for hours! Great homemade food, fantastic local jokes and yarns to overhear... Everything you'd want from a historic, traditional and typically Cornish tavern!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EDLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Visit!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

No visit to Porthleven is complete without at least a quick stop in the Ship Inn--spending an afternoon or evening there is much better! Perfectly situated to take advantage of the views of the harbour, village, and out to sea, there's no better place to become acquainted with the friendly village of Porthleven. They've recently expanded the outdoor areas, too, to enjoy the views on a sunny day. I had a delicious dinner here of grilled sardines followed by fresh, succulent local mussels, and finished with a shared cheeseboard that came with a delicious selection of Cornish cheeses. Service is efficient and friendly, and there's never a lack of local characters at the bar. A truly wonderful spot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart_in_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing