We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place for a coffee”
Review of Nauti But Ice

Nauti But Ice
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Porthleven's favourite cafe, coffee shp and pizza restaurant. Nauti is open daily 9am to 5pm daily extending to 9pm in the school summer holidays. Go Nauti Pizza restaurant is open 12pm to 9pm Friday and Saturday's and daily in the school half term.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely friendly place for a coffee”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've just spent a week staying nearby and popped in here for a restorative coffee and flapjack halfway through 10 miles of coast path walking. It was so nice and friendly (and tolerant of our muddy boots) that we came back a couple of days later and arranged to meet some friends there. Lovely coffee, cakes all look fab, and of course they have Roskilly's ice-cream which is always a good thing. We also loved that they do babyccinos for free - our friends' daughter downed hers in a matter of seconds so they must be good too! Great to find somewhere that feels as though it's loved by locals as much as 'discovered' by visitors - what a shame it's a bit far from home for us to go as regularly as we'd like!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    158
    41
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent local cafe”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have visited Nauti but Ice a few times over the years but it has now been slightly revamped into a pleasant cafe with occasional evening sittings and open all year.

We do remember it when it was owned by the same people who ran the much missed Crab Pot next door- now a bicycle hire shop. Its situated on the harbour- very picturesque unless the weather is wild

We stopped for both breakfast and coffee in our trip down in January- a wild weekend and it was the only option for us for Sunday breakfast. I think we were their only customer for a while. Breakfast options are good and coffee was good- they also have a good lunch selection, cakes and what I think was Roskillys ice cream- good for the summer.

Aware that it became flooded during the storms in February 2014, but reopened quickly as the locals rallied round to help re-open. Hopefully all is OK and back fully operational and that a good summer is had this year.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy cakes!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great service and great food! Very popular cafe but has a very small amount of seating which was uncomfortable as we were squashed next to some strangers. Cakes tasted lovely and it was pretty cheap for what you get for a cream tea.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

On a week away to Cornwall we visited twice for cream tea and we're very impressed. The cafe is right by the harbour and gives a great view of current rough sea conditions.we spent awhile watching the tide come in and waves lapping up. The staff were friendly, pleasant - everything you want really when visiting a new place. The cream tea was lovely, good amount of scones/cream/jam and of course tea :)
The overall look of the seating is lovely, having recently been painted, on our first trip it was very busy - Sun with tables vacated and filled instantly.
Although not tasted the cakes looked very appetising, along with the snacks.
Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallaceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This cafe stayed open despite the storm outside. This is where I recommend visitors to go for cafe and cake and ice cream.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauti But Ice also viewed

 

Been to Nauti But Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing