We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The main attraction for locals and tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Inn

The Atlantic Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lovely friendly locals pub with beautiful sea views from a terrace, serving home cooked food,locally brewed ales and a good selection of largers and other beverages.
Ledbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The main attraction for locals and tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A really good pub, open most of the day, with good local beer & good food. Overlooks harbour with outside seating. Very helpful staff. Stayed there three nights: bedrooms a little on the small side, but comfortable enough. Lots of good eateries nearby. NB the Kota Kai.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LedburyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    120
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unfriendly if not local”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't go to this pub if you're not local, it does have a good selection of beers and the food is reasonable, but some locals make you feel like an outsider. We went on a fairly busy night, thought we had found some seats but it was soon made very clear they were not our seats by a local, sorry no matter how good the place might appear, that sort of nonsense has no place in any establishment, paricularly in a holiday destination like Porthlevin. Nice pub shame about the locals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighsnt, Owner at The Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello
We are so sorry you felt this way about our pub.
You can see from many of our other reviews this is not the normal reaction here, most of our regular customers go out of their way to make visitors welcome,including them in their quiz teams and encouraging conversations. We regularly get tables and chairs from the dining room to increase capacity out in the bar, especially quiz night and bingo night to include extra visitors.
As I am not sure which night you actually came, I can not offer any explanation only to say visitors come back to Porthleven and us year after year and always praise us for making them welcome.
However thank you for your comments
Leigh Santi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice to talk to locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not just a pub for holiday makers it a local too. Good selection of beers food is very good and a good variety, order between 6 & 7 you get a free bottle of wine :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighsnt, Owner at The Atlantic Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments now I have the ability to respond I hope to do so more
Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went here with the visit Cornwall deal, getting a bottle of house with 2 main meals. It was a great Merlot and the food delicious. Seafood and steak just delicious and service was friendly. It's popular with the locals in the bar area too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LtleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reliable pub food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate here twice whilst staying locally for the week. Both times the food was lovely and excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and attentive. The views from the terrace are beautiful and quite a little suntrap. The back room is quite dark and depressing unfortunately but we wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise34a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Inn also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing