We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood , loudy street rest”
Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #24 of 51 Restaurants in Buyukada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Istanbul
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood , loudy street rest”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ali Baba is one of the seafood restaurant's of the Prince Island. I paid 73 USD for 2 persons for dinner. ( include 2 plates of cold dishes , 1 fried squid , 1 octopus salade and a 35 cl of Turkish Raki and fruit plate )
Because that we were not very hungry , we didn't eat any fish plate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stiffsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    21
    17
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tabriz
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food good view”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Alibaba restaurant has 2 sites each opposite to the coastal road (Nisan Caddesi). The site on the southern side of the road is adjacent to the Sea and you can see seagulls descending just at the windowsill. Don't forget to eat calamari (squid food).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaiseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good Place to Eat fish!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It has a great view of this stunning island, the service is good, they had great salamon-olives appitizers. We had fish and shish kebab. It was raining and it was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohaio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“be careful very expensive”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we visited with my parents.. first they helped us down the ship road.. one short dark skinned and arabic accent man..he gave tome a card for fish restaurant.. on the card time table o ships. goback.. my fa belived him.. but oricinal fiction now.. 3 person for lunch.. non alcol.. 425 turkısh money.. these gang.. l wlln t choose a more.. never.. and l write anywhere... all over the world a kilo of fish max price 25 euro but in alibaba 100 euro stupidsss...gangss

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank isabel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good mezes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the restaurant where I go when I eat in Büyükada.
I will not say it is the cheapest one, you should go to the street in parallel if you look for a cheap fish meal.
You are free to ask a menu, or rather go the display fridge inside show the cold starters you want and ask the prices one by one. When to the fish go to display case choose the one you like and of course ask the price. Nowadays the most expensive fish you might eat in Marmara sea should not exceed 120 TL/kg.
The problem is with the drinks, alcoholice beverages are expensive not only in this restaurant but overall Turkey (due to latest tax regulations). You shouldn t be surprised when you have a bottle of ordinary local wine for 30Eu. I don t even name the imported brands.
There is one thing for sure, I don t beleive this restaurant is more expensive than all the others in the line, moreover what they serve is fresh and well prepared.
You shouldn t forget that there are at most 15 restaurants with such a view on the Asian side of Istanbul therefore leverage your price/quality expectations accordingly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank horz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba also viewed

Buyukada, Princes' Islands
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
 
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
 

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing