We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but very expensive.”
Review of Milto

Milto
Ranked #26 of 53 Restaurants in Buyukada
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok but very expensive.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I felt they took advantage of us. It was ok the food the service but we ended paying a lot because they do not give you an option when you do not know the language. You feel like directed to eat what they want which of course is the more expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hector Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    12
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beware of the fish you didn't order!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Despite being in a great spot on Princes Island, right by the sea, Milto Fish restaurant is a place to AVOID as it operates a scam. We were greeted as we came off the ferry by a helpful man who first explained the ferry times and then gave us a card for his restaurant, Milto. We went as a return favour. When we ordered our food we enquired on the price of fish which was unpriced inthe menu. He told us a reasonable price so we ordered fish and some calamaris. The helpful man then came with the fish we ordered (25 tl) and a fish we didn't order, saying it would be hard to resell it. He seemed upset that we refused the extra dish so we offered to exchange the fish we ordered for the one we didn't. When we received our bill we saw he had charged 80 tl for the fish we hadn't ordered. It is a shame he operates such a scam as he does not need to. He could do well with good reviews and take advantage of his great spot. Due to the scam, we cannot recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Thornberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My brother, my sister, her husband and I spent a wonderful cold and rainy afternoon at Milto's following a beautiful ride around the island in a buggy pulled by two sturdy horses...what fun. And gorgeous scenery.

We were invited in by the manager and quickly seated at a prime table by the water. We enjoyed a few wonderful Efes beers and then switched to a really nice white Turkish wine. We were offered a selection of cold appetizers from which we ordered cold boiled shrimp in an olive oil dressing, fresh artichokes, octopus salad and a seafood chili. All were good but the seafood chili was outstanding. We then had a complimentary hot appetizer of grilled calamari. Fantastic.

The fresh fish was on display and we chose red snapper and a local fish that looked similar to a flounder. I did not get its name but it was a good choice. The fish were grilled whole and presented on two platters surrounded by golden fried potatoes, sautéed spinach, sliced tomatoes and garnished with flowers sculpted from fresh vegetables and fresh greens. Our server and his assistant expertly deboned the fish at the table putting on a masterful performance. He placed a healthy portion of each on our plates and then neatly arranged the remaining portions on a clean platter and placed it in the center of the table. Everything was delicious.

The service was perfect. The whole staff was warm and friendly and very professional. While in Istanbul, we ate at more expensive restaurants that may have equalled Milto's in service and quality, but none surpassed it. I would love to return. It was a warm memory of an otherwise cold and wet day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious fish”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

İ stayed two nights in buyukada, my hotel was very nice. Kitchen was under renovation thats why we went for dinner to milto restauant.
Their meze s ( tapas- appetizer ) were really nice. İf you like garlic you will love it. On the table there are salt peppers and virgin olive oil bottle which you can enjoy with some toasted brown breads. İ suggest you to try; babaganus(eggplant), calamari(fried with tarator sauce) , fresh octopus salad.
İ ordered seabass from sea it was 80 TL for 1 kg. Really it was huge, some grilled onions, tomato and rocket were my choices and really good paired with this course.
You might even try french fries which they use real patato and home made style to make it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hilfanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not that good”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went there as a part of a touristic programe in Buyukada. I ordered a grilled seabass and my wife ordered grilled chicken. Both of them were normal, not good not bad. They had no warm water for hand washing !!!
We witnessed all the customers complaining about prices and bills and the owner himself came 3 times to argue with them.
No special service. No special food. No special atmosphere.
The only special thing is the view and the setting over water.
I didn't try another restaurant in Buyukada but I'm sure you'll find better

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaaAboshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milto also viewed

Buyukada, Princes' Islands
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
 
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
Buyukada, Princes' Islands
 

Been to Milto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing