We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mustafapasa
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Cappadocia. The first impression was a little intimidating as it looked more like a small fortress than a hotel. However it turned out to be a remarkable large collection of stone buildings around courtyards. In fact the buildings are from the period when this area was Greek but it was a really interesting place to visit with masses of atmosphere. Inevitably the rooms vary considerably, we had 208 which was quite a trek from the entrance area but revealed a small hallway with a shower room and then a huge room with a double bed in one area and a further bed/divan in another and a delightful balcony overlooking the courtyard. Even more impressive was 207 with a huge bedroom and an almost equally large bathroom complete with sofa and views over the countryside>
We enjoyed a great set meal full of Turkish local specialties and a huge buffet breakfast the following morning.
The little town is very pleasant as it seems to be on the edge of the tourist area and rather low key compared to the bigger towns in the vicinity. We just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper courtyard around 207 to 209 seems to be particularly good and large but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtimetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Mulstafapasa is a charming, formerly mostly Greek (they left in 1923), town that has lots of life, some of it related to the regional vocational college. The town is now attracting larger groups of tourists. Gul Konaklary caters to these, to some extent. Rooms are interesting distributed, and there are great common spaces to share with friends. Food, however, was less interesting, in buffet form. We also had a problem with a stinky floor drain, and smoke entering the room from a stack in the courtyard. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and can strongly recommend it. The building which is in a quiet location on the edge of the small town has been attractively converted from two C19 Greek mansion houses. It has a rose garden and a courtyard with a summer house. The bedrooms are either cave rooms, which are found in various places in Cappadocia, or are more conventional rooms. We were in both during our stay. The cave room had no outside window so the ventilation was a hole above the door and a hole in the roof so it was rather dark. We had torrential rain one evening & the water came in through the hole in the roof! As a result we were moved to what turned out to be a much nicer room with plenty of windows, a larger bathroom & 4 poster bed. It was probably the honeymoon suite! The hotel is well maintained, very clean and has wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, particularly Mehmet, who did all they could to make our stay so enjoyable. The food is to be recommended. We ate in the hotel partly because there is a lack of alternative venues and partly because of our good experience on the first night. It is a fixed menu but differed on the two nights. One night the dinner was cooked in a tandir clay pot which we were allowed to try our hand at breaking.

Room Tip: Unless you are an enthusiast for a dark cave room we suggest opting for one of the more conventional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you want to a romantic holiday, you have to go here and make a baloon tour. I went there wit my lovely wife. It was anniversary of marriage. She was impressed of my surprise. I can advise strongly. Our room was reaally exotic, old fashioned but so cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayfun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel on the edge of Mustafapasa. We stayed two days abducted it was a little oasis after some hot walking days Two of the staff - Mehmet and Osmur in the dining room were so helpful in sorting out vegetarian food for me. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big A
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I think our stay here defined our overall Cappadocia experience.
Beautiful property and nicely quiet, very atmospheric. If you have a car (like we did), I would avoid staying in Goreme/Urgup and go to Mustafapasa instead. It's less than 10 minutes away from urgup but feels like a world away from the bustle and far more romantic.
The hotel is lovely, we stayed in #206 which is a spacious cave room, and i highly recommend it. And i must add that the stuff is EXCELLENT. The manager Goksel is a gem. This is what i call true service and for the price we paid, i thought this was the best value for money amongst the half dozen or so places we stayed in all of turkey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rm992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

During a three-day visit to the stunning Capadoccia region, my sixteen-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Rose Mansion Hotel in Sinasos (Mustafapasa). Although we were only ten kilometers away from the bustling town of Urgup, we preferred to spend the evenings enjoying the calm of historic Mustafapasa. The Rose Mansion, with its individually decorated charming rooms, impressive dining rooms, courtyard, and tearoom, was even more beautiful than we had expected. The hotel manager, Goksel Bey, greeted us at the main door as our taxi pulled up; he and his highly qualified staff were always ready to help us during our stay. We loved our room with its spectacular view from the balcony and imagined going back in time as we made our way down the candle-lit steps leading to the small but elegant dining room. The breakfast buffet was truly exceptional and the four-course dinners reflected the amazingly diverse Turkish cuisine. I would highly recommend this hotel with its tastefully decorated rooms and competent staff to anyone who is looking for a peaceful setting with lots and lots of charm. My family and I are already planning on going back to visit the Capadoccia region next year, and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else but the wonderful Rose Mansion Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard in the second mansion are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hodson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustafapasa
3.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mustafapasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
3.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions

Property: Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions
Address: Sumer Sokak, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gül Konakları - Sinasos consists of two old Greek Mansions built on an area of 4000m2 in the mid 1900s. The renovation of our Mansions was started on September in 1998 and completed on June in 2002. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gul Konaklari - Sinasos Rose Mansions Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing