We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel”
Review of Upper Greek House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upper Greek House
Ranked #4 of 10 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the atmosphere in this small village in the Goreme valley area. The hotel is situated above the village but it is an easy walk into the village. The room we had was just off the courtyard and it was very spacious with a high vaulted ceilng and a very comfortable sitting area. The bathroom was a bit dark for our purposes,and the shower must have taken at least 15 minutes with the water running full blast to get it up to temperature. The fixtures were good quality but not enough to redeem the bathroom for these issues. Wi-Fi was free but not very strong in the room,however Mahmet took care of this and loaned me the use of the office computer so we could catch up with our family in Dubai on Skype. In fact Mahmet could not do enough for us and gave us a tour of the buildings and took us up to the roof top terrace and we had a commanding view of the countryside and the small town. He and Safia were most hospitable as is so typical of small well run establishments in Turkey. Our breakfasts were served in a large hall off the courtyard as it was a bit cool and rainy. There was a good choice of cold food and also some hot dish as well all accompanied by lots of hot water for coffee crystals or tea. We also had dinner at the owners restaurant down town and were driven there each night. The food there was homemade and especially Turkish as it was created by the owner'swife an accomplished cook. Service was fast,friendly, and efficient and we were allowed to see the upstairs of the house where the owner and his family lived after dining. Be sure to tip Safia and Mahmet well as they deserved to be treated as well as they treated us! The only negative was the lack of hot water in our room and the dark bathroom, which no one else seemed to experience.It was from a solar heater which might be the issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balls99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trekking4Adventure, Owner at Upper Greek House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. Had you told Mehmet that your light bulb in the bathroom was burnt out, he would have gladly replaced it immediately. We pride ourselves in maintaining the property in the finest condition possible.
In each room an instruction sheet states, "Because we use a solar system for our water it sometimes takes a few minutes for the hot water to come on. Please be patient. It will get hot."
Since your comment we have measured the time for the hot water to arrive. Each time it has been under three minutes.
Based on our staff's performance, your comment about them was well deserved.
Thank you again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Upper Greek House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly hosts, big comfy beds, a decent breakfast, and a town safe from the hustle and bustle of traffic-jammed Urgup. What's not to like ? :)

P.S. They don't speak much English, so communication is sometimes a difficulty

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bill_shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a lovely, quaint hotel with all of the modern conveniences. Mehmet was very friendly and always there to help eg finding English stations on the TV. The breakfast was very good... one day we ate outside in the courtyard and the second day inside in a hall with a high, vaulted ceiling. Before breakfast we enjoyed the lovely garden. Dinner was at the Old Greek House in town and was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RED-E-2-trav-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This small hotel is charming and full of character.
Our room was clean and bright with a great view over the small town of Mustafapasa.
The bathroom was modern,there was TV, and the bed was comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent, and the staff (Mehmet and Safiye) were helpful and friendly.
We had two evening meals in the Old Greek House down in the town - the food and wine was very good.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they all looked good - ours was on the first floor with a view over the tow...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy22707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Again stayed there for two nights in one of the four suites and unbelievable place to spend a few days In the area....we wished that more time should be spend at this hotel...Mehmet was excellent and always there for your needs....but he was well,tipped for his service and deserve it as we'll...we were told that around 22 miles of tunnels in the area but not enough time to see or explore..the food at the lower Greek house was also excellent...very well recommended...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bustermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Upper Greek House is a delightful place to stay as a base of operations while you explore Cappadocia. Mustafapasa is a quieter alternative to some of the more touristy towns in the region and a good jumping off point to hike or vist the Open Air Museum at Goreme. The rooms are comfortable and Mehmet and Safia attend to your every need. Great meals are available at the Lower Greek House down in the village. If you crave night life you might find the location a bit somnolent and if you have trouble walking this might not be your ideal location, but for those who seek a bit of tranquility and a chance to relax and enjoy the outdoors it is a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69catamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This little boutique hotel is beautiful and overlooks the amazing landscape of Cappadocia. The place is owned and operated by a man who was born in a 200 year old house down the street. The little town where this is located Mustafapasa is about a 20 minute drive from Ürgup which is sort of the center of Cappadocia. Do not miss out on dinner at the Lower Greek House, owned and operated by the same people, all food is homemade from old family recipes and is the most authentic Turkish food you will fond anywhere in Cappadocia. The only down side is the shower takes a very long time to heat up, and sometimes does not get hot at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJshohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mustafapasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mustafapasa
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacha Hotel
Pacha Hotel
#2 of 10 in Mustafapasa
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
0.3 mi away
Osiana Hotel
Osiana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Mustafapasa
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
#6 of 10 in Mustafapasa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Greek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Greek House

Address: Yukari Mahalle Gazi Sokak No 56 | Ürgüp/Nevsehir, Mustafapasa, Urgup, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range: $46 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Greek House at the top of the Village of Mustafapasa, Turkey. Drink tea or famous locally grown wine while sitting on one of the lovely high terraces overlooking the village and surrounding hillsides. Eat and be entertained at the Old Greek House, famous for its authentic Turkish food, served in the same setting for over 300 years. All rooms furnished in the ancient Greek/Turkish style include private, modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Upper Greek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Greek House Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing