We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder of Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monastery Cave Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mustafapasa
Altdorf bei Nurnberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonder of Turkey”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

İt was by pure chance that we met Ercan and his family and ended up to stay for 10 days in their wonderful place. Monastery Hotel is a very beautiful old building with cosy cave rooms and many terraces and relaxed sitting opportunities. And they have just one of the best cafes İ ever saw in Turkey, directly at the beautiful village place, with shading trees and a biiiiig menu for gooood coffee and tea, nice breakfast and delicious traditional meals in the evening - even Vegetarian:). As the place is not so big it is very familiar, Ercan and his wife take a lot of time for giving advices - what to do in the breathtaking surroundings, sharing stories and in the evening musis (Ercan plays passionately Zaz - so we had some amusing Turkish evenings, with singing and dancing:)
For us it was more like being with friends, enjoying the place so much that for some days we even did not leave the hotel:) Go and see and feel good!!!:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalenaLisowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you travel to Turkey in Cappadocia, I guess you are someone curious and adventurous so I definitely recommend you to go to the monastery hotel. The owners are really nice, sociable,funny, honest and helpful...not sale people! They will advise you in your trips. If you are even more curious... you will share activities, food with the local people and discover a beautiful culture! Thanks Monastry Hotel!;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha100584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this charming, authentic 'cave' hotel. Our cave room was large, beautifully furnished and decorated (carpets, bedlinen, embroidered quilt all with a personal touch and very clean.).Pleasantly cool, no airco needed.
The kitchen served good breakfast and the fixed meals in the evening were traditionally Turkish, very tasty and varied.
And most of all, we appreciated the extremely friendly host and staff. The young hotel owner speaks fluent English and is very helpful, taking his time to inform you about the region, driving you around, picking you up at the end of your walk, booking reservations and providing unofficial and cheap guides for you. In fact, he is willing to do everything to make your stay perfect, according to your wishes.
We can recommend the Monastery Cave Hotel to everyone who is looking for an authentic and cosy, yet modern (with internet café), personal and friendly place to stay in the centre of Cappadocia!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marmar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraainem, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you look for quiet and luxury during your holiday and expect a classical hotel where beds are daily made up, rectangular shaped-rooms are cleaned every day and , definitely flee from Ercan and his Monastery Hotel !
On the contrary, if you want a warm and family hotel where you immediately feel home, with a friendly team, good and healthy food, charming (skew-whiff ) rooms with nice carpets and bed sheets, local music at night and a boss who knows everybody and every place in Cappadocia and gives you excellent advices to find less crowd yet even interesting places to visit, then definitely book at Ercan's, you will not be disappointed ! And, icing on the cake, his knowledge of English and French is really outstanding
Despite a quite unfriendly (seasonal, we heard..) weather, we had great time there and warmly recommend Monastery Hotel !
Thanks a lot to you, Ercan, and to your team/family/relatives and friends from Mustafapaça and elsewhere.
Anne-Sophie, Marc, Anne-Charlotte, Laurent et Guillaume

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalaugui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed there for 4 nights. We enjoyed our cave room very much, it was a special experience. Also I need to mention the very friendly staff who served us great diners, good breakfasts and proposed us exceptional sights that we would have missed otherwise... there are indeed many less known sights that are as good if not better than the "classical" Cappadocia. Finally, we enjoyed an unpretentious evening of traditional music and dance. This stay was definitely a high point of our trip to Turkey.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mv21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here for 3nights in the 'high wooden ceiling' room which looked out on to the street, I did look at the cave rooms but felt they might had been a little stuffy with such small windows and low ceiling. The staff where friendly and helpful, breakfast was typically Mediterranean; simple but adequate.
We would definitely stay again, although I'd probably check out the various internet prices as we could have got it cheaper if we'd searched more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank equifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustafapasa
0.1 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
3.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
5.5 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#32 of 72 in Goreme
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#15 of 65 in Urgup
533 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#32 of 65 in Urgup
97 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monastery Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastery Cave Hotel

Property: Monastery Cave Hotel
Address: Mustafa Pasa Kasabasi, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yours Home in Cappadocia Mustafapasa We are pleased to welcome you at our hotel since 1968, Our hotel is nicely carved-out in the soft rock of Cappadocia. Monastery Cave Hotel in Cappadocia-Turkey is the name of an exquisitely restored 13 room troglodyte cave house opened in 1968, in mustafapasa/sinasos.Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey Part of the hotel was used by Christian monks until recently. Some of the rooms were actually monk cells. The quality of the cave rooms makes you feel cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Volcanic rock called "tufa" is perfect insulation material which keeps the temperature between 17 - 20 degrees Celsius throughout the year. Restaurant Cuisine We offer warm hospitality, traditional food In the hotel kitchen, organically produced food is used. The chef presents the typical Cappadocian style of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Monastery Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastery Cave Hotel Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing