We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in a Quiet Village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mustafapasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Greek House for 3 nights with a Rick Steves tour. Our room was just off the inside courtyard that houses the restaurant area. The barrel-vaulted stone ceiling of the room was awesome.

The peaceful village of Mustafapasa with its' 1,500 population was such a treat after bustling Istanbul and Ankara. Small restaurants and wonderful small shops with friendly owners. Tourist-oriented, but not touristy. Convenient to all the sights in Cappadocia.

This would be the perfect place to spend at least a week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here with a Rick Steves' Tour in mid May and were swept off our feet from the moment we entered to the moment we left. The setting is idyllic, unpretentious yet fit for the stars. Our room was on the first floor off of the lobby and spacious with a large adjoining bathroom. Beds very comfortable. Our first meal upstairs was scrumptious with homemade falafel, a lamb stew and other delicious sides. The breakfasts were AMAZING with the most memorable being the rose water jam/jelly. The second night we enjoyed live music and my only sadness is that it didn't last longer. I'm not much of a dancer but even I was wooed to the dance floor by the intoxicating music. One of the young men who works there, Edrem I believe his name is, was so sweet to talk with my friend Danielle and I on the first night. He put up with our attempts to speak in Turkish and, admittedly, we swooned a bit over his handsome features, made sweeter by his demeanor. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Sweet sweet memories.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm here right now and the service, view and food are fantastic! I highly recommend a visit here! I tried the stuffed grape leaves and they were delicious! I sat on the rooftop and listened to the birds and the call to prayer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved this hotel for its charm and location. It's a fantastic historic building with several rooms looking out over their vegetable garden. It's just gorgeous and the details in design go on and on.

We stayed here with a group, so got to see almost all of the rooms... they are each different, but all quite roomy. There are pretty terraces and it's just a maze of charm. The beds were quite comfy to boot!

Location is perfect, as it is out of the center of the tiny town, with no real road past it, so very quiet. You can walk into town in just a couple of minutes.

Negatives for us were the teeny-tiny bathroom... had to shuffle in and out around the door if 2 of us tried to use it. Unlike others posting here, we did not find the staff to be particularly smiling or friendly. Breakfast offered no eggs and very little protein. (yogurt and one cheese.) Also-- I know it's Turkey and most drink tea in the morning-- but this is a tourist place-- would have liked real coffee instead of instant.

Still-- would stay here again in a moment! A very special spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was my favorite hotel during a month long visit to Turkey. It is a beautiful old building with arches, tile work, stairways to rooftop verandas and incredible views. Each room is unique, rustic, and charming. It is blissfully quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and one evening we were provided with a performance by local musicians--we all joined in the singing and dancing. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here with a Rick Steves group for 3 nights. This is a wonderful 300 year old building, all the rooms are different and amazing. It is family run and their food is fantastic. Everyone is so helpful and accommodating. Mustafapasa is such a quaint and lovely town. Shop keepers are friendly and love to talk to the tourists. At the hotel when we were ready to leave the family came out to have a picture taken with us and then stood outside to wave goodbye for several minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful our visit to the Old Greek House was. We stayed 3 nights and dined there twice. The owner and his family were inviting, friendly and helpful. The food was great and the quiet, comfortable room made the stay in the Cappadocia region of Turkey fantastic. The rooms are rustic but functional, soooo very quiet. I loved it. Had to ask once about the lack of hot water and they immediately remedied the issue. The homeyness was so nice after weeks on the road. The laundry and maid service were fantastic. Even though it's been over a year since our trip, I often think of this place. Should have written the review long ago!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room upstairs at the Old Greek House but others expressed good comments on the newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mustafapasa hotels
0.1 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mustafapasa
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
Konak Bezirhane Cave Otel
#6 of 10 in Mustafapasa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacha Hotel
Pacha Hotel
#2 of 10 in Mustafapasa
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
Sinasos Palace Cave Hotel
#3 of 10 in Mustafapasa
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osiana Hotel
Osiana Hotel
#4 of 10 in Mustafapasa
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Address: Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion known as "Asmali Konak" for years is one of the traditional old Greek Houses in fact. Now, it is in service as a hotel named "Old Greek House". The house has built in 1887, then in 1924; it was given to a family of Salonica as a result of the agreement of the commission for the settlement of the exchange immigrants. In 1938, the house was bought for 10 Turkish Liras by ancestor of Ozturks family, who came to the city as a teacher at that time. Ozturks Family has been lived here until 1992. As of 1992, the house has been designed as a hotel. Now, the hotel attracts attention of customers and visitors by its old traditional style and furniture. In addition, an Italian film "Dervish and his Death" (Dervis ve Olumu) was filmed in that place. Also, Turkey's most popular TV channel is still taking one of its films, "Asmali Konak" in this mansion. OLD GREEK HOUSE (OZTURK HOTEL). Hotel Capacity: 13 Rooms, 32 Beds. Rooms with pleasent view. Ruin and historical views are available. Facilities: Central heating, safe box at reception, 24 hrs room service, outdoor parking, turkish bath, laundry, dry cleaning, baby sitter, tv room, game room, garden, power generator and pets are allowed. Sports and Recreation: Jogging and trekking. Dining: Full board, half board, bed & breakfast, cafeteria and breakfast lounge, 6 open buffet restaurants, 50 pax indoor, 100 pax outdoor total capacity, international and Turkish cuisine. Please visit "Turkish Cuisine" page to get more information about our menu and foods. Meeting: 1 meeting room, (50 max. capacity), video player, television and facsimile. Location: Urgup 5 Km., Nevsehir airport 55 km. Kayseri airport 75 Km. in old city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Greek House Restaurant Hotel Mustafapasa
Old Greek House Restaurant And Hotel Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing