We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very positive surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Certificate of Excellence
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very positive surprise”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fantastic family hotel ! Very late Sunday evening I was driving on direction from Venice to Zurich and because of heavy rains and fatigue, I turned from the highway directly to Beckenried and stopped in front of beautifully illuminated Nidwaldnerhof hotel. Very kind Owner showed me direction to their garage and I booked the room for one night. In the past I already stayed in many high ranked Zurich Hotels - but this is something completely different surrounded by beautiful nature close to the lake with perfect gastronomy comparable with Grand Dolder, so I decided to extend my stay on the whole week even if I had to drive daily in Zurich and back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    49
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
107
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a five night stay at the Nidwaldnerhof. We have previously stayed many times on Lake Luzern in Vitznau, at the excellent Hotel Terrasse; on this occasion we decided to stay in Beckenried as I had a visit to the nearby Pilatus aircraft factory during our stay.

We very much enjoyed our time at the hotel. We had a comfortable room on a corner on the street side of the hotel, providing views from its balcony of the mountains behind the village and of the lake. The only disadvantage of the room is some traffic noise, mainly during what I guess is the morning 'rush hour'. The bathroom provides a good example of how to fit a lot into a small space! The weather during our stay was mainly hot, and our request for sheet and blanket to replace the too hot for comfort duvet was met immediately.

The hotel's restaurant is very good, and on fine evenings the opportunity to dine outside beside the lake is not to be missed. We found service to be excellent and friendly. The menu allowed plenty of choice for the four nights on which we dined at the hotel, but might feel a bit restricting for a significantly longer stay. The breakfast buffet is first class, with a wide variety of meats, cheeses and breads as well as fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and so on; and taken outside on the terrace is delightful.

The position of the hotel is great. There's a bus stop right outside with a frequent service to Stans, which provides train services to Engleberg and into Luzern (and thence to pretty much anywhere). The ship station giving access to the lake's incomparable boat service is about five minutes' walk away, as is the cable car up to Klewenalp.

Others have commented on cost. Switzerland has never been a cheap destination, and the current over-valuation of the Swiss franc doesn't help. However, against that background we thought the Nidwaldnerhof's prices reasonable given the high standard of food, accommodation and service. Our total bill for five nights' bed and breakfast plus four evening meals (three courses, with wine and coffee) was 1,535CHF, equating I guess to about £1,050. I suspect that would be hard to match in a nice hotel on Lake Windermere, for example.

In summary, we thoroughly recommend the hotel; and on future visits to the lake, the decision whether to stay here or in Vitznau will be difficult as we like both so much.

Room Tip: I guess that rooms on the lake side would be quieter during the morning rush hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wonderful location. High quality accommodation following recent refurbishment. However, the service and food did not match the physical improvements in the hotel. I stayed at the hotel some years ago and it has lost the personal touch then available. The fish was unboned and the waiter was indifferent to our comments. Unfortunately, now more style than substance.

Room Tip: The lake side rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just returned from a business trip which 9 of us stayed there for 4 nights. The staff were very personable and after the first morning knew what you wanted to drink in the morning. the food was awesome, had dinner one night and breakfast the rest of the mornings they even were ready for us on our departure morning.

the place was clean as a whistle and the beds omg I wanted to take it home with me especially the pillow. the shower was the best ever.

if you are in the area do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was getting late while travelling through Switzerland and randomly decided to look for a place in this town. Tried a few other hotels and quality and price was not good. This hotel was going through a renovation and we got brand new room at a cheaper price than the other hotels we looked at. Beautiful view of the lake and mountains. Top class breakfast included in price, with well made food. In the evening had a steak and it was perfect, but a bit pricey. Nice and friendly staff and very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel has breathtaking views over Lake Lucerne, the rooms are spotless and new, with very friendly staff, they have an excellent restaurant, and only 300m to the ferry wharf. i had a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: any rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezza2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for one night on a trip up from Italy.
Hotel is clean comfortable with a stunning view of the lake. Car parking isint an issue with an underground park which is easy to access.
We didn't book an evening meal as we wanted to go out and explore but from what we saw it looked lovely a bit pricey but again its Switzerland so you expect it.
Breakfast was fantastic lots of lovely crusty bread, cheese cooked meats cereal juice etc all enjoyed while taking in the magnificent scenery!

The only thing I would note is that its a 20 minute drive into the centre of Lucerne which wasn't a problem for us as we wanted to stay away from being right in the centre.

Overall wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenried
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seerausch
Hotel Seerausch
#3 of 3 in Beckenried
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krone Buochs - Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nidwaldnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nidwaldnerhof

Property: Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 12, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nidwaldnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Nidwaldnerhof Hotel, a haven of peace and tranquility... ... the most beautiful place in the most beautiful village. Our hotel is peacefully situated at the foot of the mountains of central Switzerland on the shore of Lake Lucerne. Always with you our amiable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nidwaldnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing