We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and not bad in any way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location and not bad in any way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Location is just brilliant by the lake, you can not but smile in the morning when you wake up and open the curtains. Only stayed for one night on a business trip but what one can say is that the room was very nice - big size and really comfortable. Wi-fi worked and was quick enough not to frustrate you. Dinner was a pleasent surprise, really nice seafood at affordable price. One thing though that others have mentioned also - move the smoking place for personnel further away !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    48
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
105
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely quiet clean hotel that accepts dogs with lake views. In a pleasant, non-touristy village. Very good food, extensive breakfast, only local suppliers used... Panoramic lake views from the restaurant. Vegetarian options on menu (delicious)

Room Tip: I think all rooms have lake views. Check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in general good
But we got upgraded and I don t think it was a real upgrade we indeed had view on the lake, But it also had view on a big pipe and the worse was the employee cigaret pause taking place on the terras just under the room
And beeing noisy until about 23:00 and starting again in the morning,
If you would want to open the window you then will also end up with the cigaret smell in your bedroom.
In Conclusion if you are there for holiday and rest this is not the best room, you better ask for an otherone then Titlis room.
For the rest the service was good and people were friendly.
I think this noise produced by the employee could easily be resolved by the hotel if they would take some action about it.
The breakfast is very nice but diner there is a bit expensive for the quality of the food served.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleidschendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel has obviously undergone extensive renovation recently and the decor is good - although I fear it will quickly date. However, that said it is light, bright and pretty. Our room was well appointed with comfortable beds and linen and excellent shower in the wet room. Complimentary bottle of water in the in-room fridge was very welcome but other than that, no other complimentary touches except for small chocolate on the pillow. As often in Switzerland the prices are very high, both for room and for the restaurant, although the service and food were exceptionally good. A popular restaurant in the evening but lacking any real intimacy (no dimmed lighting or anything, quite noisy). We would return but not before checking out cheaper options!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the lake as I think the rooms on the roadside would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I would recommend a stay at this hotel for anyone who enjoys a quiet location away from crowds. If you wish to stay close to lucerne we would not recommend this is the place for you. It meant a bus trip then train which in total took around 35 to 40 minutes. The hotel room was amazing with a beautiful balcony facing the Lake and mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful and a great breakfast buffet. Overall an amazing time, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritaincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel began as one of the most promising of all the fine accommodations we experienced on this latest European holiday. It should costing us $250 a night. We were greeted by friendly staff. The location was in a beautiful setting on a lake but this would all past very quickly.

STRIKE ONE: Parking. We were directed to an underground parking lot with the smallest of spaces which to maneuver a full size vehicle. We were not allowed to park in the spots marked "private" which would have allowed us more than enough room to park. We had to settle for tight spots with cement pillars serving as obstacles. We scraped the car along a cement pole trying to get into one of these spaces.

STRIKE TWO: One does not feel like they are staying a fine hotel when they find 'crap' on the toilet paper roll it the bathroom. Don't they change the roll or at least check for this sort of thing before checking in a new guest?

STRIKE THREE: Okay I get it, not many of the hotels in Europe, even the nicer ones, do not have air conditioning. I got over it. The patio area of the room we were given had a large cement barrier with a large steel pipe coming out of it. Closer investigation revealed with this to be a an outdoor stairwell. Not the nicest thing to have right outside your room but that was not the worse of it. At the bottom this stairway was where people (I think hotel staff) gathered for their smoke breaks. The cement stairwell acted as a funnel carrying all the loud chatter and the horrible cigarette smoke right up and into our room. I had no choice but to close the ceiling to floor metal storm shutters to block out the noise and that smoke. Needless to say with no air conditioning in August, I sweltered in my expensive room, with feces in the bathroom and a scarp along my rented car (a $1000 plus repair). If you go here and they try to give you the room called, "Titlis" (yes this is the name) please ask another room.

I will say that this hotel had the nicest of all showers a good breakfast that was included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1qaz2leadu4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July using in part a Wonderbox - lovely hotel, tasteful deco and the food was really excellent - loved the breakfast on the terrace outside - amazing choice of delicious breads, cheese, smoked salmon, cakes, fresh fruit salad, yogurts, muesli etc... Staff were very friendly.
Visited Lucerne one sunny day - quite a way on the boat - a beautiful town. Visited the covered bridge of course (!) + the old town and the lion monument and had lunch by the river. A great day out. One day it rained so visited the Transport Museum (for my husband!) where there seemed to be something for all ages - and the Hans Erni museum (for me) which was a delight - a must if you're in Lucerne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytogoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenried
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seerausch
Hotel Seerausch
#3 of 3 in Beckenried
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krone Buochs - Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nidwaldnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nidwaldnerhof

Property: Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 12, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nidwaldnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Nidwaldnerhof Hotel, a haven of peace and tranquility... ... the most beautiful place in the most beautiful village. Our hotel is peacefully situated at the foot of the mountains of central Switzerland on the shore of Lake Lucerne. Always with you our amiable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Nidwaldnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing