We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantischer Ausblick, super leckeres Essen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantischer Ausblick, super leckeres Essen”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the newly-renovated on the 2nd floor. The Room´s "name" is Uri.

We wanted to go sledding. The reception, the hotel manager and the owner all in one was informative and helpful.
It was a bit reluctant that we have to go through restaurant from reception to the room. Not sure whether this change after renovation. (From now on until mid March 2013)

Now no room has bath tub, but rain shower. The (winter?) duvet was very warm that I sweated at night for the first time. The bed was comfortable. We had two beds put together, not a king bed. Not sure whether they (will) have one.

Can´t find temp. adjustment in the room. No kettle, tea in room. Forgot to ask for internet password.

The restaurant and their swiss-milk ice cream is a must. High quality and very good price, elegant.

BF is included. 3 kinds of Joghurt, chocolate cake, lemon cake, high quality smoked salmon with radish, many good cheese, 2 sorts of bread, champagne, bacon, ham and fruit salad. Love the quality - 5 stars for it!

Will stay here again if I have a chance! Recommended!

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Seeblick, 2. oder gar 3. Stock haben super schöner Ausblick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    52
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
112
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our first-floor room, with a balcony overlooking the lakefront, was very modern, high-tech (e.g. electric blinds), well equipped & spotlessly clean. The bathroom was excellent, with a fantastic shower.
The restaurant also had the same splendid outlook over the lake, and was very stylish. We were just a little disappointed with the half-pension dinner menu. It consisted of three set courses, but we were not offered any choice and the main course (a meat roulade) was something that we weren’t very keen on. Breakfast was a good buffet, as you would expect at this class of hotel.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Nidwaldnerhof for one night during a trip from England to Italy. We arrived in heavy rainfall and it was dark but the hotel was extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had a table in the restaurant.
Our room was very impressive, we opted for a lake view, and despite it being too dark to see the view, the room itself made up for it.
The bathroom was very luxurious and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were also impressed with the fridge and free mineral water.
The food in the restaurant was delicious and traditional. Be warned however, the prices are a lot higher in Switzerland compared to the UK and this was a little bit of a shock.
When we awoke the view was spectacular. We had a private balcony and were literally feet away from the water. It is such a shame we had only one night and hope that we can return in the not too distant future.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are going, enjoy. If you're not going, why not!?!?!

Room Tip: The Lake view is spectacular and definitely worth it but please don't think the mountain view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stop over on our way back to the UK. Location and view from our room overlooking the lake coupled with the private parking, the quality of the food and friendly staff were all excellent. We also explored the walks in the mountains which are easily reached from a cable car in the village. Well worth a visit for a quiet few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard63029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a reasonably expensive hotel situated on the shore of Lake Lucerne. We had a Lake view room which had superb views and a nice balcony. The rooms are very modern and clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and comes with the room. Staff were very helpful particularly the lady running the breakfast who went out of her way to get us fed at 6.00am on our departure day! The restaurant is very good and the views from the terrace and dining room are superb.
The only downside was the lack of a real divider between the balconies so the chain smoker next door became an issue as smoke drifted directly into our room.
Beckenried has excellent boat service and access to the cable car to Klewenalp. This is very expensive unless one goes after 4.00- however the meal served at the top was a good and an inexpensive way to watch the sun go down

Room Tip: The room overlooking the road can be noisy but the lakeside rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger123Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived here on foot exhausted after a day's walking up the mountains. The thing here really is the food. The restaurant is well known to locals apparently. Our dinner was included as part of our package and was memorable. First class proper cooking. However, we didn't sleep a wink for noise. The main road was always busy, the church clock very near and a delivery lorry at 3am which made no attempt to respect the tiredness of hotel guests clattering and banging at full volume for 20 minutes.
The room was OK but basic, no bath. One menace which tends to arrive along with any famous lakeside position is the dreaded mosquito. Keep the window shut and sweat instead.
Welcome was a bit lacklustre and there was nowhere downstairs to sit other than the bar. No lounge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wez521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night on our way from Umbria to London. The underground parking is very convenient. The welcome was slow but warm. The room was a little functional but had all one needs and the bonus of a fabulous terrace overlooking the lake and mountains. Our room had a stairway in front of the terrace down to the restaurant which could do with some TLC - it needs some plants or paint to disguise its bleakness.
The restaurant was excellent - the food interesting and well cooked and the local wines were really good. Breakfast was also very enjoyable with a great buffet choice and eggs cooked to order watching the lake wake up. Service was impeccable and all the staff clearly enjoy working there.
We only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the delights of the lake and in the mountains and indeed of the hotel itself.

Room Tip: go for a lakeside room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenried
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seerausch
Hotel Seerausch
#3 of 3 in Beckenried
111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
4.8 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
600 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krone Buochs - Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nidwaldnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nidwaldnerhof

Property: Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 12, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nidwaldnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Nidwaldnerhof Hotel, a haven of peace and tranquility... ... the most beautiful place in the most beautiful village. Our hotel is peacefully situated at the foot of the mountains of central Switzerland on the shore of Lake Lucerne. Always with you our amiable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nidwaldnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing