We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a two night stop over on our way back to the UK. Location and view from our room overlooking the lake coupled with the private parking, the quality of the food and friendly staff were all excellent. We also explored the walks in the mountains which are easily reached from a cable car in the village. Well worth a visit for a quiet few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard63029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nidwaldnerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a reasonably expensive hotel situated on the shore of Lake Lucerne. We had a Lake view room which had superb views and a nice balcony. The rooms are very modern and clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and comes with the room. Staff were very helpful particularly the lady running the breakfast who went out of her way to get us fed at 6.00am on our departure day! The restaurant is very good and the views from the terrace and dining room are superb.
The only downside was the lack of a real divider between the balconies so the chain smoker next door became an issue as smoke drifted directly into our room.
Beckenried has excellent boat service and access to the cable car to Klewenalp. This is very expensive unless one goes after 4.00- however the meal served at the top was a good and an inexpensive way to watch the sun go down

Room Tip: The room overlooking the road can be noisy but the lakeside rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger123Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived here on foot exhausted after a day's walking up the mountains. The thing here really is the food. The restaurant is well known to locals apparently. Our dinner was included as part of our package and was memorable. First class proper cooking. However, we didn't sleep a wink for noise. The main road was always busy, the church clock very near and a delivery lorry at 3am which made no attempt to respect the tiredness of hotel guests clattering and banging at full volume for 20 minutes.
The room was OK but basic, no bath. One menace which tends to arrive along with any famous lakeside position is the dreaded mosquito. Keep the window shut and sweat instead.
Welcome was a bit lacklustre and there was nowhere downstairs to sit other than the bar. No lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wez521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night on our way from Umbria to London. The underground parking is very convenient. The welcome was slow but warm. The room was a little functional but had all one needs and the bonus of a fabulous terrace overlooking the lake and mountains. Our room had a stairway in front of the terrace down to the restaurant which could do with some TLC - it needs some plants or paint to disguise its bleakness.
The restaurant was excellent - the food interesting and well cooked and the local wines were really good. Breakfast was also very enjoyable with a great buffet choice and eggs cooked to order watching the lake wake up. Service was impeccable and all the staff clearly enjoy working there.
We only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the delights of the lake and in the mountains and indeed of the hotel itself.

Room Tip: go for a lakeside room with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel is right in the lake edge with great views form the room and balcony. Rooms are airy and large but no air conditioning is a real disappointment. Staff were friendly and helpful but Beckenried is a sleepy little town with few facilities so if you are looking for shopping or night life this is not the place for you.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover on our way to Italy.

We took a room with a lake view, which I have to recommend. Wonderful vista and recently refurbished rooms - in comparison the 'mountain view' rooms looked very old fashioned and over looked the bust street.

The food in the restaurant was very, very good and we took breakfast on the terrace, which was lovely.

My only criticisms would be:

-Lack of AC in the rooms - when we arrived it was only about 22c outside, but the room was HOT. On a summers day/night I suspect it would be very uncomfortable.

-Large parts of the hotel are 'old fashioned' and really do need refreshing.

Staff were friendly and overall we really enjoyed our night. Just make sure you take a Lake View room!

Just be aware its not 'cheap', then again no part of Switzerland is. For one night B&B (2 adults) and an evening meal we paid over €320.

We would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Must take a lake view. Refurbed rooms and spectacular views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandfarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We travelled to Switzerland for a long weekend and were very glad we took the effort to travel a little further than Zurich and down to Beckenried. We took the boat from Lucerne and walked from the quay to the hotel. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. I agree with another review that the 'lake view' rooms are definitely worth paying extra for - the view was fantastic. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in, and the food in the restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JokerJokerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenried
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seerausch
Hotel Seerausch
#3 of 3 in Beckenried
123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
516 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seeblick Hohenhotel
Seeblick Hohenhotel
#1 of 1 in Emmetten
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krone Buochs - Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nidwaldnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nidwaldnerhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 12, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beckenried
Price Range: $123 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nidwaldnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Nidwaldnerhof Hotel, a haven of peace and tranquility... ... the most beautiful place in the most beautiful village. Our hotel is peacefully situated at the foot of the mountains of central Switzerland on the shore of Lake Lucerne. Always with you our amiable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Nidwaldnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing