We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For family only”
Review of Montemar Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montemar Maritim
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
NY NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For family only”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good choice for family with young kids. Many activites for kids while grown up baked in the hot sum by a very noisy pool.
Good choic for middle class income. Breakfest is excellent, everything else is over priced and under average quality. The Juices are all from cans, nothing freshly squeezed as you may expect to find in summer in Spain.
Room very simple without any frills that a savey traveler may be accustom to. Internet service cost extra and does not works in roomsd at the back of hotel.
The surrounding area is all about inexpensive shopping and fast food. One has to be patient until he/she find good gourme food.
The beaches are croweded and the water is just wonderful.
Good for budget oriented family.
Not a romantic place.

Room Tip: If you can afforted, find another hotel in less crowded / noisy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardentours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    119
    38
    18
    3
See reviews for
160
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is alright, nothing special. The Internet was 20 euro per seven days which hardly worked! Huge waste of time, frustration and money. The safe is extra money as well which should be guaranteed in every hotel. The staff is fine but forgets about small details- no towels on bathroom and soap was not refilled. Entertainment in the evening was cheap and tacky. The food was really plentiful and good, but you better not take a fruit from the all you can eat buffet on your way out or they will literally chase after you! Also the location is not the greatest. Santa Susanna is full of hotels and not much else. The beach is no thrill either. Train is close by so you can take trips to other beautiful and historic locations..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aga1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I would like to know how hotels *'s are given to them as I would rate this Hotel as barely 1*. I have never had such bad food I cannot understand how people haven't been really ill with the cold food.

The first night we were there we had pork roll which was all fat and cold oven chips. We thought it would get better for breakfast as what can you do with that, I was wrong the eggs were not cooked in front of you they were cooked in the kitchen when they were turned over they were all broken and put on top of each other so consequently no one ever ate them. My partner tried one and they were also cold, so it was toast and marmalade for us every day. Thanks goodness we were only there 4 nights so we ate out the other nights. Breakfast was supposed to be until 10.30 but they really looked down their noses at you if it was 9.45 when you went to the dining room. I have never seen such a small buffet especially in a 4* hotel

I stayed in the Golden Bahia de Tossa for 4 nights before this the cook in the Montemar Maritim needs to go there and see what 4* food is like.

The room was OK although I did ask for a quiet room on 3/4 floor we had a quiet room but it was on 1st floor and had notices on the door and extra locks so there was obviously a problem with security there.

The car park left a lot to be desired there was no tarmac just gravel so you were unable to pull your cases you had to carry them to the steps and the ramp was a good way from the entrance to the hotel so consequently we carried them down the hotel steps as well.

I think I have covered everything but as I say please don't stay there if you are looking for 1st class food and service

Room Tip: Don't stay here don't know if all 4* hotels in Santa Sussanna are the same if they are I wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I choosed this hotel for me and my family while i found it here with a 8,4 rating. But there were some things not satisfying. Only two small elevators for 5 floors
There is a safebox in the room. If you want to use it you can get a key at the reception. 20 Euros a week! Wifi is availabe, only in the public space: 5 Euros per day! The light in the bathroom was blinking on arrival on saturday, very irritant. We had to wait until monday for replacing the neonlight.
There is aircon and a fridge on the room: for both you cannot change the temperature. Inside the fridge it was about 12 degrees. The roomtemperature about 23!
Enough, the breakfast was good, the dinner reasonable but not for a second time.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Food was adequate - good at breakfast but rather predictable and basic in the evening. Avoid the poolside bar for lunch which is poor quality. Drinks are extra with dinner. No queues though - excellent table availability even at the height of the season.
Location - very convenient for the train station so a car isn't essential. Only a short walk from a beach with coarse sand and a short walk into the main part of the tourist strip. 1 hr 20 mins from Barcelona on the train.
Room - clean and acceptable. Good size balcony.
Pool - fine with regular volleyball, aqua aerobics and water polo sessions if you like that kind of thing. You need to use your own towels. No problem with sunbed availability.
Resort - nothing special but okay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We took ages to find this hotel - exactly what we wanted - easy to get to resort centre but not lots of noise or disturbance. Next to the beach and easy to get train to Barcelona as well as tourist train to mountains and museum of rural life.

Our tour operator let us down though so when we arrived there was NO BOOKING at this hotel and we were devastated!! We found out that our tour operator 'On The Beach' had made an error on their internet page and it was actually another hotel in another resort of a lower star rating !!!! The hotel staff were fantastic, helpful and understanding. We sat around for ages making expensive mobile calls to the tour operator to try and get a solution. This hotel, we have been told, does NOT deal with on the beach internet website tour operator and the hotel does not do all inclusive - NEVER HAS!!

I had read the reviews on this site and noticed no one mentioned our "ALL INCLUSIVE" option - I should have phoned the hotel direct I think, but when you book with an ABTA operator you trust what they say!!!

Anyhow I refused the hotel they offered me as I had spent ages finding out about Santa Susana Resort and the hotel - they booked us into the hotel for that night (the hotel was fully booked after that date) and we had to find something else !!!

So we had a beautiful evening meal with a super variety of food dishes for all. The staff were so welcoming and curteous. Drinks are bought with tokens from reception. Breakfast was very nice, fresh and also well presented.

The entertainment was very popular and seemed of very high standard but we were so busy trying to find out about the rest of our holiday accomodation we did not spend as long as we would have liked there. Great thing is it was not horribly noisy through the hotel. There are quiet areas too and places to sit without being in the audience.

The evening market outside runs right along the beach and is very interesting and crafts, artists etc are fun to browse along.

The layout of the hotel is very good - and the terrace corridors overlooking dining area are pretty and a lovely feature. There is no noise from other rooms - well soundproofed.

The pool is great with grassy areas and hedges, it was not over packed with sunloungers. The bar cafe area had lots of seating, variety as well as internet areas for 1 euro per 10 mins. Fast and efficient unlike some others! Large screen TV well located.

This hotel has one of the very best locations - we did find another hotel nearby to spend the remainder of our holiday at but would definatley recommend this 4 star hotel to families, couples of all ages etc. Hen or Stag party groups this is not for you!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hall-of-fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great hotel, very clean, great services, very friendly staff, great shows (at night) and great animation team, big family room, great food (especially at dinner). You have to pay for drinks (except breakfast). If you need a late check out (after 10 am) you have to pay 25-29 Eur/room. There is a 5 Eur deposit for TV remote.
Santa Susana is a wonderful location (very animated), a nice promenade, nice facilities for adults and kids, walking with cuc-cuc (a mini-train that takes you to a walk to see everything in Santa Susana). About 1.5 km from the hotel you can find Carrefour an Lidl and also a nice mall near.
To reach the beach you have to cross through a passage under the railway lines. The beach is pebbles, if you want 2 chairs and an umbrella you will have to pay 15 Eur/day. There is no shower on the beach, only near the pool (at the hotel). The train station is just in front of the hotel (there is no noise), so you can take the train direct to Barcelona (aprox. 55 km). If you buy a ticket (=24 EUR) it is enough for going/come back and also for visiting Barcelona with the shuttle for one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.0 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar Maritim

Property: Montemar Maritim
Address: Avda del Mar 5, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montemar Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montemar Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Maritim Hotel Santa Susana
Maritim Santa Susanna Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing