We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the English”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mercury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercury
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not for the English”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The deal was really good value for money, however the variety of food for evening meal was poor, no entertainment for the kids or English, was all geared for the Germans, who are rude and loud. The staff were non English speaking and had no customer service skills and never smiled or interacted. All inclusive is not all inclusive at this hotel, overall it was a chore when you asked for anything.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascinoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    178
    166
    99
    103
See reviews for
252
212
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I just got back from staying in this fantastic hotel in Santa Susanna and we could have not had better luck. The temperature was almost 85degrees, amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful (I wish I could speak Spanish like they speak English) and my kids had a great time with all of them. So sad to be going back to work now our vacation is over... I truly recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesMathers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at the Mercury two weeks ago because I had to attend the Alimentaria fair in Barcelona. Me and everyone I was with found it very enjoyable and its surroundings are wonderful. Lots of small towns with Mediterranean restaurants even better than the ones in the city (check the Peixateria, in Calella with fresh market fish everyday). I would sure go back for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaBetourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a week at this hotel.. our room was great views breathtaking. But my concerns are the food... Not enough choice for children.. and rabbit ? octopus ? Salad leftovers recycled later on. I have a shellfish allergy and found a stray prawn in my tuna salad.
My children didn't have much to eat as they got bored of fish fingers.
One of my children fell Ill and with medical insurance was told at reception 2 am that I would have to pay 100 euros before anyone would even come out to my child. Left me scared and without any options. Not impressed at receptionists attitude on that.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was traveling around Europe this March with my wife and two daughters and we chose this place when we stopped in Barcelona. It is outside the city near the beach which is what we wanted to be more relaxed and the experience was awesome. The views of the sea are great and the atmosphere is very child friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This february I stayed at the Mercury with my coworkers during the Barcelona Congress. It only takes a nice train ride to get to Plaza Catalunya. It was a much more affordable option to the hotels in the city center and the service could not have been better. I would definately go back for vacation with my family this summer if I can, the beaches in front of it looked amazing even though it was still a bit chilly to go! I sure recommend it to anyone willing to visit Spain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

went here begining of may last year with family and really enjoyed it, hotel was nice and clean staff didnt speak much english but we got by fine they were freindly enough also, food was really lovely we were all inclusive and always plenty of good things too eat, would definatly recommend ths hotel and would go again .

Room Tip: the rooms faceing the pool are the best as you get beautifull veiw of the beach rite across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Susanna Resort
Santa Susanna Resort
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caprici Verd
Caprici Verd
#11 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#13 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercury

Property: Hotel Mercury
Address: Avenida del Mar 2 s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercury 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Hotel Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing