We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hi, My wife and I have just got back from this hotel after enjoying our holiday in Santa Susana from the 15th to 22th of Sept 2012. I have to say you can read some reviews and they will put you off staying at certain hotels but let me tell you we have nothing but good news about this hotel. I dont think we managed to pass one cleaner without them wishing us a good day and Marina who greets you in the dinning room was very happy and cheerful in the morning. The pool area was very clean with a fantastic leisure programme. The food was of a very acceptable standard and my wife and I had no complaints. The hotel was probaly 70% of Germans but we had no problem with this and had no trouble from them. The rooms were cleaned when you left your door card on the outside and we left valubles in the room on several occasions and nothing went missing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear ray m,
We thank you very much for your review written on September and especially for mentionning the cleaning ladies and Marina from the restaurant.
We really hope to welcome you again among us very soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful week at the aquamarina, the hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff were freindly and helpful and i would recommend this hotel to anyone. The food was very good and there was always something to chose from and they only put out small amounts at a time and replenished the food as needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sallyg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear sallyg1967,
We are delighted to read that you will recommend our hotel and that you had a wonderful week in our establisment.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel but used hotel snack bar. Stefano so-called manager was extremely rude and impolite.
We ordered "pizza"- thin base with huge amount of fat melted mozzarella- nice size but horrible taste and "Chicken Cesar salad".
There was only 1/4 of burned chicken goujon in the salad so we called waiter-Gustavo(another grumpy person) to replace this for another salad.
We have been told we "MUST PAY" because salad was done and it doesn't matter that we like it or not- we "MUST PAY".
Stefano as a "manager" wasn't more polite. He shouted at us and in the end ask us pay the bill and to leave the place!! We refused to pay for a salad that we never eat!!
So he said that he will call the police.
That was too much!! We asked to talk with a REAL MANAGER cause I cant believe it that real manager will talk with costumer like that.
Stefano refuse to call him and said that we do not have to pay for a meal but we cant come back to this bar anymore!!
Well, we didn't plan to come back after what happened.
Very very poor costumer service. Personnel barely speak English, never asked us do we like the meal, no interested in providing quality service at all!!
So maybe the hotel is lovely, I don't know i didn't stay there, but I DO NOT RECOMMEND this place for tasty and quality meal. They treat clients like cattle!!
I work in hospitality industry for 10 years and this kind of behavior happened to me first time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Customer,
First of all, we thank you for your comment written on TripAdvisor.
About the incidence occurred in the snack-bar, our cook was willing to prepare you another salad, if you did not like the one served, without charging you the first one.
They asked you to pay because you told them that it was not what you expected for only by seeing it. The salad chosen in our menu card was well detailed with each ingredient.
We would like you to understand that once the food is served on the table, we cannot sell it again. Moreover, the company’s rules were not respected because we did not charge the salad as you did refuse to pay.
Also, you spoke well with the manager in charge of the snack-bar. He was designated to take the responsibilities in these kinds of situations.
Finally, we regret what happened. Our personal tries hard to provide an excellent service day after day in order to satisfy the customers’ satisfaction.
Yours sincerely,
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the last week in August 2012. There was me my husband and two younger children. The food was great with good choices daily and very friendly, helpfull staff. Drinks prices were reasonable at about 1euro 70 for bottle of water at lunch time and a bottle of house wine approx 6 euro. The cleaners were great at there jobs, friendly and efficient. The hotel was lovely and clean and well presented at all times we were there. The pool area was cleaned thoroughly and we never had any problems around the pool area. The pool was cold but it added to the fun.
The reception staff were very helpful with any questions we asked and we even improved our Spanish slightly. :)

The entertainment staff tried very hard to keep everyone entertained, and made good friends of us all. Varied entertainment at night. Dancing, animals, Disney shows, hoopla hoops and other great acts. We all learnt new dances and Spanish songs to bring home with us .
The market was very good just outside the hotel but does get busy. These people tell you a price and stick to it there is no haggling. The bus/ smaller train outside the hotel was fun and showed us around the area. We come home dreaming of our next family holiday. It was great

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for the great report you made about our establishment and also to mention our staff.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the entertainment.
We are looking forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We (a young married couple) stayed at the Aquamarina for a week at the beginning of September, and it was just fab!

Room - beautifully clean, great views from the balcony.

Food - fantastic! I am a vegetarian and I know a few other veggies have had problems but I really didn't find it difficult to eat at all! Very few places in Europe cater well for vegetarians, this hotel was probably the best attempt I came accross - spanish omlette, pasta with sauce, pizza, salads, stir fried noodles. My husband loved all the variety of seafood which would have cost a fortune if he had eaten at another restaurant. As for breakfast, this was amazing and I overate pretty much everyday!!!

Staff - Cannot fault them at all! They were all so friendly, and I was amazed at the effort they put into speaking different languages. The hotel attempt to translate everything into about 6 different languages. In general, most of the guests were Spanish or Russian, yet there were a few English people dotted around - and I never had any impression that any nationality were treated more favourably.

Santa Susannah - This is a resort built solely on the hotel trade, which means little culture yet caters very well for tourists. It was clean, safe and had a nice craft market on the promenade each evening. Incidentally, we thought the resort was much nicer than the neighbouring resorts. The train station is about 5-10mins walk from the hotel and you can easily get to Barcelona from here (about an hours journey) for under 9 Euros - which was so worth it that we did it twice. The beach is not quite sand not quite shingle, it's kind of a fine sandy grit - which was fine by us. The beach was clean and not crowded, however the sea shelves quickly and I was out of my depth within about 3 metres of shore, so be careful with little-ones!!!

I really can't suggest any improvements at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleMooCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Customer,
We are very delighted to read that you loved your holidays in our hotel.
We thank you very much for the great review you made about our installations and especially about our staff.
It will be a real pleasure to welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just stayed at the Aquamarina Hotel from 27 - 31 August on a half board basis.
We had booked a premier room. The room seemed to be of a standard size but had a double and a single bed in it. It had a flat screen TV, fridge, complimentary toiletries, balcony with reclining chairs, complimentary wifi, complimentary towels at the pool. And best, being in a premier room, we were allowed to eat breakfast at the BurgerClub which sits beside the pool. This has glass walls on a couple of sides which open up when the weather is good. You can sit inside or out. It's smaller than the main dining room but a lovely spot to start the day.
All staff have been excellent though at times incredibly busy dealing with so many holidaymakers. If you treat them with respect they are helpful, friendly, obliging no matter how busy they are.
The food is my only gripe and that's because I don't eat meat. In Spain that always leaves you with very little choice. However, I do eat some fish so I managed. If I didn't eat fish I would have really struggled. There was always salad and fresh fruit available, usually hot vegetables (if you're veggie watch out for those they hide ham in!), chips. If you're not a veggie, the choice is wide and varied. There was always plenty of food and generally is was hot. I found that having dinner when the dining room opened rather than later gave you hotter food and less crowding. The staff work tirelessly to clear tables, reset them, resupply food, supply drinks, clean up spills, and interact. They are a great asset.
The hotel is very family friendly with a busy animation team working with the children. They all worked really hard and were very good at their jobs.
The evening entertainment was varied and of good quality. Despite going out in the evenings, we saw a reptile presentation which the kids loved, an acrobatic trio, a quartet reliving Mowtown. All were really good. I assume all the other acts were just as good.
The hotel has a lovely pool area and there were plenty of sun beds to go round. As ever, some were reserved with towels early on in the day, but there were enough for everyone during my stay.
Overall, the hotel was very clean.
The hotel bar was quite good value too. Only a modest mark up on the road out front prices.
You have to cross the road in front of the hotel and a railway line to get to the beach.
Yes, I would happily stay here again.
If you do visit, do go to Barcelona on the train. A return ticket is less then 10 euros. The train station is on the road in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Premier rooms come with added extras. Check the supplement and see if you think it's worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knapsack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Customer,
We are glad to read that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast at the Burger Club.
About the food, we always try to provide a wide range of variety so that every customer be happy.
We thank you very much for your report and we hope to welcome you in the near future.
Best regards,
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from Aquamarina, after reading reviews we were a bit apprehensive but realised you can’t please everyone.
Hotel very clean and immaculate. Staff friendly and spoke good English. Rooms cleaned every day, and towels changed when required.
Good variety of food especially with our party: 1 strict vegetarian, 2 children & 1 human dustbin. We got to use the Burger Bar for breakfast – which was spacious, good variety of food, welcoming staff. We found Burger Bar smaller than restaurant but proved so much easier to use as a family – stress free.
In-house entertainment lounge well soundproofed, having 2 young children we only got to see a few shows, but what we saw was very good. Though got very in hot inside. Did not use kids club as they were too young.
Swimming pool – if you wish to sit round the pool everyday this is not a hotel for you. We only managed to get sun loungers twice in a 10day stay. Unless you wish to get up at the crack of dawn then towels have already been put. Most annoying thing is people then don’t return to them for some hours later – very frustrating. Lucky for us the beach is 5min walk away and kids loved it. If you returned late afternoon there were some sun loungers available.
Family room – had originally book room with sliding door to make 2 rooms (as hotel internet picture had shown). On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to have a huge a 2 bedroom room with two balconies. Only downside we were at the rear of the hotel facing the mountains, had requested a sea view but looking at the size of the rooms we were happy and children slept well.
Our return pick-up to the airport had been forgotten (this was booked independently). Very helpful receptionist phoned travel company, she then chased them twice as we still hadn’t been picked up. We were told it would be 5mins max, she said if we hadn’t been picked up in 5mins she would arrange for a taxi. Our coach turned up (in total an hour late) but did return us back to the airport. Thank you receptionist.
Weather great reached 45 degrees.

Room Tip: Corner rooms larger than normal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Customer,
We are delighted to read your comment written on August about our hotel and that you and your family had a great holiday.
Thank you very much indeed to mention the receptionists.
We will be pleased to welcome you again any time soon.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $60 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing