We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel the last 2 weeks of August, so it was VERY busy. This is not a place if you want a quiet relaxing break, the pool area especially on our first week was very , very busy. Could always get a sun pounger mind you , was just hard to watch the kids at the pool due to numbers, had to stand besdie them and often pool itself felt a bit like human soup ! Second week was a lot less busy and was perfect in the pool area. We had a family room which was great 2 rooms and a bathroom with a sliding door between the bedrooms. I thought the food was excellent, we were on half board so had breakfast and dinner , both buffet, food choice and quality was excellent, although the dining room was huge so ambience was obviously a little lacking ! Breakfast was a puzzel, our premium room entitled us to eat in the Brassiere, smaller cafe stayle with more ambience, however the food choice there was sloghtly more limited than the larger dining room e.g. less flavours of jam, tended to run out of popular items and most importantly for me did not have a coffee machine with fresh ground coffee whereas the supposedly "lower" choice of the main dining room did. As the coffee in the Brassiere was awful, we started to go every morning to the main dining room, this casued consternation evening morning with the staff on the door who kept directing back to the "premium" option ! In terms of lucnh, very disapppointed iwth the resort and options on places to eat, our experience and others was that the options in our hotel were cheaper and better quality than other places tried. So we had lunch most of the days in hotel Italian brassiere, which was excellent and we were very happy with. Bar prices were very good so did not feel fleeced with price of drink. Evening entertainment was of a very high standard and fulfilled its purpose in keeping kids (4 and 7) entertained. One major downside for us was that this is very much a cash only hotel and all extras like room safe quite expensive. Typically hotels we have stayed in you can charge extras and drinks etc to room, saves you going over and back to ATM, but in this hotel NOTHING can be charged to the room. ATM is on site so very handy but if you had assumed using credit card and not cash lodged to account could cause a problem and worth knowing! In summary I would say that this hotel does what it says on the tin, does it well and does not pretend to be more than it says !

Room Tip: Family rooms are good size with sliding door between rooms feels spacious. Saw into rooms that had 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    426
    190
    59
    24
See reviews for
499
332
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we arrived at the hotel, 5 people stayed at 2 rooms for 6 nights.
in one room 1 adult with 2 kids (15 & 11) and other room 1 adult & 1 teenager.
we got the standard room which was in the package we bought from the travel agent. (flight, transfer and hotel half board)
the room was clean and comfortable,however we wanted to have wi-fi for the kids but it is not availble in the standard room so we asked to upgrade the room to premium one. the hotel was full and we were told we can get the premium room only after 2 nights so we agreed.
we needed to pay euro7 for each person for each night for the upgrade.
the premium room gives you free wi-fi in the room, free beach towel (when you are in standard room you pay Euro1 for the towels), there is mini fridge in the room (which is not availble in the standard room).
the hotel is charging you for every single thing that i never had to pay in any hotel i have been before in other parts of the world (not even in NYC which is very expensive)
they charge you for: beach towel, for the use of safe box in the room(!!!), for wi-fi in the lobby, for the mattress you use on the sunbad in the pool.
i have never faced this in the past and it left mewith bad taste.
the hotel looks like slums when you see all the beach towels that people hang on their room balcony as they bring the towels from home to avoid the extra charge they need to pay for the pool towels. it really look ridiculous.
the hotel can avoid it if they will take only the deposit for the towels to guarantee that the people will return the towel to the hotel but they should return the full deposit when people return the towels.
i can say that the stuff was very nice and helpfull in the front desk especiallly Dimitri.
they help us with every question we had.
we travelled alot during our stay in the hotel to: aqua park, barcelona , football game (barca-napoli), port aventura amusement park (not recommended), monsseratt and they helped us with ordering the tickets with bus and when we hired a car they helped us to contact the car agent who came to hotel with the car.
the service was in the first garde.
i can also say that the breakfast and dinner were very good with various options for the adults and for kids, there was always refill of the food when it was finished and it was well made and also the resturant stuff was really nice and helpfull. when something was missing and we asked them about it they immediately went to the kitchen to bring what was missing
if you go to costa brava i recommend to stay in santa susana as it is nice and peacefull area. with train a few minutes from the hotel.
i recommend to anyone who wants to stay in this hotel and need the extra services to take the premium room.
however i do recommend to this hotel to learn from other hotels in the world that for basic things they should not charge the visitors as it is a part of the basic service that hotel gives their guests.

Room Tip: take the premiumroom, or bring beach towels from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alizaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we have been visiting this hotel since 2004 and have been back 5 times since then. The staff are always friendly the food is very good we went the last time with my brother and his girlfriend and it was the first time he had been here. she had been before with me and my mum 2 years previous. My brother is a very fussy eater and he loved the food. The rooms are a perfect size and have everything you need. They are cleaned every day and the linen and towels are changed every day. The cleaners are great and always say Hola to you every morning. The reception staff are brill and are always on hand if you have any queries. the restaurant staff are the best and you are escorted to your seats and don't have too much time to wait. I love this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: the rooms are very clean and get changed every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinnyfaeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from this hotel and the best we can say is that the station to Barcelona is nearby and only costs 7.70 euro, easy to escape for the day.... Where do I begin? - party of 4 - Two of us in early 50's and our son and friend both 16 years old - ALL complaining to Reception about the noise - kids running riot around corridoors till early hours and screaming all over the place day and night! Hotel was swarming with teens from Norway doing a handball competition, and then joined by Spanish kids on football tournament (and chasing said Norweigan girls) and then English kids on school trips. Oh and if we were really lucky we had smaller kids skidding on knees all over the main reception area where the lifts were, whenever we went in or out! Staff seem unconcerned about the general 'free for all' .... FOOD= Mealtimes were hell on earth. Staff will not let you into 'restaurant' without waiting to be escorted by one of the 'waiters' and one day we waited for 15 mins to be seated even though breakfast lasted from 7.30-11am. Families and kids 'elbowing and fighting' for buffet and walking into/over everyone else - babies and little ones running amok in between our legs by the hot drinks machines. Food plentiful but very bland, catering I think for a more Northern European clientel. My son's friend got sick from the squid/cuttlefish which was uncooked (yes he's a rarity, a kid who likes seafood) and one day I saw uncooked pork being served. Veg was overcooked into mush a lot. We discovered that lot of the problems arise from the fact that the dining room seems to be serving a LOT more people than the hotel holds so we wondered if they also serve people from the other Aqua Hotels/Self Catering suites nearby. So many people that you never see the same people twice at mealtimes.... ROOMS= Hotel is built in an 'M' shape. First given 2 double bed rooms when we paid for a double and twin bedded rooms for teens in our party. These were on 5th floor. Nice but concrete balcony had views only to fields and were very high. Rooms all clean and tidy but very small and 'tired' and not at all like the pics online. Bathrooms quite small and doors hit bidets on entering. Rooms then got changed to the 2nd floor, one with views to back and other to front. Back room had all the tour buses revving up for 20 mins a time outside windows all day and night. Front facing room was in a dark corner with tiny balcony. Balcony size however irrelevant as noise from the pool and the evening entertainment (both indoor and out) meant we were unable to open doors a lot of the time, If I hear once more the 'Macarena', 'Agado' or any of the other 'join in' songs I will scream!!!!! ... HOTEL AREA= Hotel is set back to front with main door overlooking fields/car parks and the 'rear' being where the main pool and outside space is. Reception area has at times a pervading smell of raw sewage which seems to come from toilets/showers in the Underground section. Underground area has sweeping marble starcase leading to a very odd area that looks like an old bus station with Pool tables and a Games Room. Internet access is cheaper here than in main Reception area - 1 euro for 30mins as opposed to 7 euros for 1 hour upstairs! Not a lot of room in the main Reception area as lifts fill the middle of the large space. Kids are always seated on the couple of steps up to the lifts. Only 5 chairs in this area for sitting/waiting for taxis/coaches. If coach party is leaving at end of holiday no room for people or cases. Outside pool is far too small for the amount of people in the hotel and the space around the pool does not have enough sunbeds. Evening 'entertainment' is the usual Elvis, Man-Woman Duo etc doing the same boring hits from 30 years ago when I first went to the costas.There is a Brassiere by the pool and the food there is superb, ribs, chicken and beef freshly spit roasted. There is also a Pizzaria on site.... OUTSIDE= Right outside the 'rear' of the hotel is the Promanade then the main road. Over the road is the railway line and beyond that trees and the massive long stretch of beach. Station is only about 200 metres from the hotel and train runs every half hour to Barcelona. Pineda, Calella and other resorts on the Costa Brava only a station or two away. Stalls are outside hotel every night and on a Tuesday the road is closed off for a larger market. It's a nice enough resort with plenty of cafes and the ubiquous 'tat shops'.

I booked this holiday as a 'end of exam' break for us, our son and his friend. I paid a lot of money for HB. Although this was billed as a 4star it would struggle to be a 3star. The hotel in fact has both 4 stars outside the main door and then 3 on it's logos higher up the building so I guess it's been downgraded. We are a fun-loving family and don't often complain but we expected a lot more than what we got for our money. We would NOT go back to this place if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Propietario at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Customer,

The hotel management sincerely regrets that you couldn’t find in the Aquamarina the ideal place to spend your holidays. We always try to do our job professionally and we only wish for our customers their satisfaction. We are deeply saddened to see that the hotel did not fulfilled your expectations.

We would like you to come back, maybe we could find the time in which the hotel offers a more peaceful atmosphere. A 601 room hotel cannot always be a haven of peace, but we could try to find the way you feel comfortable. We even offer you the possibility to find in another AQUA HOTEL the peaceful atmosphere you are looking for, and which you could not find in Aquamarina. We are always willing to find alternatives and solutions for our customers.

We hope that the event does not prevent you of coming back, if something is not right during your visit, do not leave without comments, we are willing to fix it right away and finally do not hesitate will be happy to have you with us again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in April/May 2011 & paid just over £400 Half Board for 2 x Adults & 2 x Children, so wasn't expecting a quality hotel & how wrong we where.
Booked through Travel Republic with £6 e/w Flights with RyanAir to Gerona & £60 coach Transfers, no extra RyanAir charges through Travel Republic.

Listed as 3* & it should be a 4* as it provides all the amenities required with the hotel/rooms are cleaned daily, although they're a little basic but have a Wardrobe & drawers & everything else required for a short stay.

Restaurant is Buffet Style with a choice of different hot dishes, salads, fruit & deserts everyday with free Tea/Coffee & Juice on the Morning.
Make sure your in the Restaurant before 8pm on the evening, as it can get a little busy & then the queuing starts.
The nightly entertainment was in the Cocktail Lounge & good acts can see the room overflowing, such as our last night with a Jacko Tribute.

The 2 pools are un-heated & can take a little getting used to & you also have the Brasserie & a Pizza shop around the pool, if you fancy something different.

The other shops within the complex are good with a large supermarket (Carrefour) a short walk up behind the hotel.
The Promenade has stalls on the night, with a large Market on Tuesday morning
The beach is a short walk through the underpass under the Railway line.

Hot Tip: Barcelona is just over a 1hr away via the Train which costs €7.30 or a combined City Sightseeing Bus & Train Ticket is €23.00 saving you the €7.30 & you can pick the Red & Blue Route buses up in Pl. Catalunya.

Room Tip: Rooms near lifts get Noisy in Morning & Night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven, cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I have stayed at Santa Susanna for the last four years and love going back. I just go for 3 nights and use it as a base for going to Barcelona!
This time i stayed in the Aquamarina and it was really good. The hotel itself is huge and the staff and rooms are excellent.
The food was also very good, lots of choice and plentiful!

I will definetely be going back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Santa Susanna for a summer holiday last September. The hotel looked great from the outside, and the reception area was nice. We checked in and went to our room which was on the fourth floor. We had asked for a double room, but the room had 3 single beds. We went straight back down to reception and they gave us another key straight away without any fuss and told us to come back again if we weren't happy! The next room we saw was much better. It was fairly basic but nice and very clean, we overlooked the sea and had a great view. Also wasn't too close to the pool, so wasn't noisy!

We thought the food was pretty good - we certainly ate a lot. Some of the food was quite odd at times but there was always plenty to choose from and we enjoyed the salad bar and desserts too. We never had a problem getting a table and the staff were nice. The pizzeria outside by the pool which belongs to the hotel was great - the best food on the sea front in my opinion. We ate lunch there several times.

Pool area was good, pool a bit cold for time of year so we only went in a couple of times but always managed to get sun beds.

Santa Susanna itself is nice, the beaches are great but the town is nothing that special. Very much like a typical holiday resort. We enjoyed it but we were only there for a week... any more and we might have gotten a bit bored. The market was nice. We visited Barcelona twice (we wished we could have gone more) and the train was convenient and close, but it was a bit of a stressful journey as we could never get seats and it was always very hot and busy. However Barcelona is a wonderful city, I have been there many times and if you visit Santa Susanna, make the most of going to Barcelona.

We took a boat trip to Blanes and visited the Botanical Gardens. Beautiful but nothing much else to do in Blanes. Recommend a boat trip, though.

We found a bar by chance that we really liked called Aloha. Very english but they served pints of cocktails for 3 euros. We went there almost every night, absolutely loved the staff - Freddy, Magda and especially Lydia - always out on the street coaxing people in and giving us free shot vouchers every night! Made some good friends there.

We bumped into a group of Brits our age who told us that their hotel was awful, and when we told them we were staying in the Aqua Aquamarina, they said "the posh one?" The hotel definitely looked better than a lot of the hotels in the area.

Recommend hotel, was a very fun and also relaxing trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WelshLily91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing