We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“we love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

we have been visiting this hotel since 2004 and have been back 5 times since then. The staff are always friendly the food is very good we went the last time with my brother and his girlfriend and it was the first time he had been here. she had been before with me and my mum 2 years previous. My brother is a very fussy eater and he loved the food. The rooms are a perfect size and have everything you need. They are cleaned every day and the linen and towels are changed every day. The cleaners are great and always say Hola to you every morning. The reception staff are brill and are always on hand if you have any queries. the restaurant staff are the best and you are escorted to your seats and don't have too much time to wait. I love this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: the rooms are very clean and get changed every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinnyfaeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    406
    187
    56
    24
See reviews for
485
306
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from this hotel and the best we can say is that the station to Barcelona is nearby and only costs 7.70 euro, easy to escape for the day.... Where do I begin? - party of 4 - Two of us in early 50's and our son and friend both 16 years old - ALL complaining to Reception about the noise - kids running riot around corridoors till early hours and screaming all over the place day and night! Hotel was swarming with teens from Norway doing a handball competition, and then joined by Spanish kids on football tournament (and chasing said Norweigan girls) and then English kids on school trips. Oh and if we were really lucky we had smaller kids skidding on knees all over the main reception area where the lifts were, whenever we went in or out! Staff seem unconcerned about the general 'free for all' .... FOOD= Mealtimes were hell on earth. Staff will not let you into 'restaurant' without waiting to be escorted by one of the 'waiters' and one day we waited for 15 mins to be seated even though breakfast lasted from 7.30-11am. Families and kids 'elbowing and fighting' for buffet and walking into/over everyone else - babies and little ones running amok in between our legs by the hot drinks machines. Food plentiful but very bland, catering I think for a more Northern European clientel. My son's friend got sick from the squid/cuttlefish which was uncooked (yes he's a rarity, a kid who likes seafood) and one day I saw uncooked pork being served. Veg was overcooked into mush a lot. We discovered that lot of the problems arise from the fact that the dining room seems to be serving a LOT more people than the hotel holds so we wondered if they also serve people from the other Aqua Hotels/Self Catering suites nearby. So many people that you never see the same people twice at mealtimes.... ROOMS= Hotel is built in an 'M' shape. First given 2 double bed rooms when we paid for a double and twin bedded rooms for teens in our party. These were on 5th floor. Nice but concrete balcony had views only to fields and were very high. Rooms all clean and tidy but very small and 'tired' and not at all like the pics online. Bathrooms quite small and doors hit bidets on entering. Rooms then got changed to the 2nd floor, one with views to back and other to front. Back room had all the tour buses revving up for 20 mins a time outside windows all day and night. Front facing room was in a dark corner with tiny balcony. Balcony size however irrelevant as noise from the pool and the evening entertainment (both indoor and out) meant we were unable to open doors a lot of the time, If I hear once more the 'Macarena', 'Agado' or any of the other 'join in' songs I will scream!!!!! ... HOTEL AREA= Hotel is set back to front with main door overlooking fields/car parks and the 'rear' being where the main pool and outside space is. Reception area has at times a pervading smell of raw sewage which seems to come from toilets/showers in the Underground section. Underground area has sweeping marble starcase leading to a very odd area that looks like an old bus station with Pool tables and a Games Room. Internet access is cheaper here than in main Reception area - 1 euro for 30mins as opposed to 7 euros for 1 hour upstairs! Not a lot of room in the main Reception area as lifts fill the middle of the large space. Kids are always seated on the couple of steps up to the lifts. Only 5 chairs in this area for sitting/waiting for taxis/coaches. If coach party is leaving at end of holiday no room for people or cases. Outside pool is far too small for the amount of people in the hotel and the space around the pool does not have enough sunbeds. Evening 'entertainment' is the usual Elvis, Man-Woman Duo etc doing the same boring hits from 30 years ago when I first went to the costas.There is a Brassiere by the pool and the food there is superb, ribs, chicken and beef freshly spit roasted. There is also a Pizzaria on site.... OUTSIDE= Right outside the 'rear' of the hotel is the Promanade then the main road. Over the road is the railway line and beyond that trees and the massive long stretch of beach. Station is only about 200 metres from the hotel and train runs every half hour to Barcelona. Pineda, Calella and other resorts on the Costa Brava only a station or two away. Stalls are outside hotel every night and on a Tuesday the road is closed off for a larger market. It's a nice enough resort with plenty of cafes and the ubiquous 'tat shops'.

I booked this holiday as a 'end of exam' break for us, our son and his friend. I paid a lot of money for HB. Although this was billed as a 4star it would struggle to be a 3star. The hotel in fact has both 4 stars outside the main door and then 3 on it's logos higher up the building so I guess it's been downgraded. We are a fun-loving family and don't often complain but we expected a lot more than what we got for our money. We would NOT go back to this place if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Propietario at Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Customer,

The hotel management sincerely regrets that you couldn’t find in the Aquamarina the ideal place to spend your holidays. We always try to do our job professionally and we only wish for our customers their satisfaction. We are deeply saddened to see that the hotel did not fulfilled your expectations.

We would like you to come back, maybe we could find the time in which the hotel offers a more peaceful atmosphere. A 601 room hotel cannot always be a haven of peace, but we could try to find the way you feel comfortable. We even offer you the possibility to find in another AQUA HOTEL the peaceful atmosphere you are looking for, and which you could not find in Aquamarina. We are always willing to find alternatives and solutions for our customers.

We hope that the event does not prevent you of coming back, if something is not right during your visit, do not leave without comments, we are willing to fix it right away and finally do not hesitate will be happy to have you with us again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in April/May 2011 & paid just over £400 Half Board for 2 x Adults & 2 x Children, so wasn't expecting a quality hotel & how wrong we where.
Booked through Travel Republic with £6 e/w Flights with RyanAir to Gerona & £60 coach Transfers, no extra RyanAir charges through Travel Republic.

Listed as 3* & it should be a 4* as it provides all the amenities required with the hotel/rooms are cleaned daily, although they're a little basic but have a Wardrobe & drawers & everything else required for a short stay.

Restaurant is Buffet Style with a choice of different hot dishes, salads, fruit & deserts everyday with free Tea/Coffee & Juice on the Morning.
Make sure your in the Restaurant before 8pm on the evening, as it can get a little busy & then the queuing starts.
The nightly entertainment was in the Cocktail Lounge & good acts can see the room overflowing, such as our last night with a Jacko Tribute.

The 2 pools are un-heated & can take a little getting used to & you also have the Brasserie & a Pizza shop around the pool, if you fancy something different.

The other shops within the complex are good with a large supermarket (Carrefour) a short walk up behind the hotel.
The Promenade has stalls on the night, with a large Market on Tuesday morning
The beach is a short walk through the underpass under the Railway line.

Hot Tip: Barcelona is just over a 1hr away via the Train which costs €7.30 or a combined City Sightseeing Bus & Train Ticket is €23.00 saving you the €7.30 & you can pick the Red & Blue Route buses up in Pl. Catalunya.

Room Tip: Rooms near lifts get Noisy in Morning & Night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven, cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I have stayed at Santa Susanna for the last four years and love going back. I just go for 3 nights and use it as a base for going to Barcelona!
This time i stayed in the Aquamarina and it was really good. The hotel itself is huge and the staff and rooms are excellent.
The food was also very good, lots of choice and plentiful!

I will definetely be going back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Santa Susanna for a summer holiday last September. The hotel looked great from the outside, and the reception area was nice. We checked in and went to our room which was on the fourth floor. We had asked for a double room, but the room had 3 single beds. We went straight back down to reception and they gave us another key straight away without any fuss and told us to come back again if we weren't happy! The next room we saw was much better. It was fairly basic but nice and very clean, we overlooked the sea and had a great view. Also wasn't too close to the pool, so wasn't noisy!

We thought the food was pretty good - we certainly ate a lot. Some of the food was quite odd at times but there was always plenty to choose from and we enjoyed the salad bar and desserts too. We never had a problem getting a table and the staff were nice. The pizzeria outside by the pool which belongs to the hotel was great - the best food on the sea front in my opinion. We ate lunch there several times.

Pool area was good, pool a bit cold for time of year so we only went in a couple of times but always managed to get sun beds.

Santa Susanna itself is nice, the beaches are great but the town is nothing that special. Very much like a typical holiday resort. We enjoyed it but we were only there for a week... any more and we might have gotten a bit bored. The market was nice. We visited Barcelona twice (we wished we could have gone more) and the train was convenient and close, but it was a bit of a stressful journey as we could never get seats and it was always very hot and busy. However Barcelona is a wonderful city, I have been there many times and if you visit Santa Susanna, make the most of going to Barcelona.

We took a boat trip to Blanes and visited the Botanical Gardens. Beautiful but nothing much else to do in Blanes. Recommend a boat trip, though.

We found a bar by chance that we really liked called Aloha. Very english but they served pints of cocktails for 3 euros. We went there almost every night, absolutely loved the staff - Freddy, Magda and especially Lydia - always out on the street coaxing people in and giving us free shot vouchers every night! Made some good friends there.

We bumped into a group of Brits our age who told us that their hotel was awful, and when we told them we were staying in the Aqua Aquamarina, they said "the posh one?" The hotel definitely looked better than a lot of the hotels in the area.

Recommend hotel, was a very fun and also relaxing trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WelshLily91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We too booked this short Break through Travel Junky, but we knew It was not going to be anything outstanding for what we paid. What we did not expect, was to be with 300 Spanish over 75yr olds and 150 16yr old school kids that all want to eat at the same time. I don't know who were more unpleasant and noisy the old ones or the young ones. Hotel is very clean. The rooms are small, boring and dull. Meal times were a complete free for all and .a bunfight. The noise in the dining room has to be experienced to be believed. The food is extremely average, cold and not much choice. The staff are very friendly but very overworked. One of the dining room staff told us that party's of school kids and old age pensioners are the only way they can fill the hotel and full it was! There is a disco that starts at 11pm that is very loud and seems to attract locals. The pool area is black concreat and very uninviting. There are no sunbed pads and no umberellas. The pool was absoluptly freezing and the only people jumping in were stag parties and teenage school kids. Because there is very little landscaping and the design of the hotel the sound of laughter or scraping sunbeds is amplified and echoed to the point where you can't stand the racket up on the balconies. Your balcony was the place you went to get away from the noise of the hoards of oap's and kids! One good thing is the little cafe that is owned by the hotel on the pavement next to the railway track. The food was very good there.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomascat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

my husband and I booked a 3 night break with Traveljunky at the end of March. Decided to come here as it was only £85 for the holiday, and wasn't sure what to expect. First impression was very good; check in was chaos as room not ready; staff on check in a bit laid back, but it is Spain, and didn't seem to care much about the delay. Room was very good if a bit compact. We had a room on the sea facing side - they all seem to have balconies with table and 2 chairs. Standard room had a double and single bed; wardrobe; drawers; safe in cupboard but you have to pay for the key at reception (4 euros a day, 18 euros a week, and 10 euros deposit); bathroom had low level bath with shower, loo, bidet, hair dryer and free toiletries. There was air conditioning but we found it not very good. Breakfast was a buffet and had a wide variety; cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs etc., cooked meats, cheese, pastries, croissants ... coffee, juices, but the tea is dubious! Bring your own tea bags! Pool looked good but not warm enough yet for us. Facilities looked ok if you want them - cinema every day, fitness club, gym, entertainment in the cocktail bar every night, clubs for kids in season etc. Local beer is good in the main bar - small draught is 1.90euros.
Excellent pizzaria as you leave the hotel near the 'promenade' serves pizzas, pasta and burgers - highly recommended. There are not many places to eat out and we found this the best in the area. The main reason we stayed here was to visit Barcelona (cheaper than staying there!) you catch the train at the station which is about 500 yards to the right as you leave the hotel - day return costs 7.70 euros - takes just over an hour. Trains run every 30mins all day till very late, but get there in time to buy a ticket as there were always queues.
Not much to do at Santa Susana but relax, walk up and down, but if you want a reasonable hotel this is fine - the area is remarkably clean and tidy. Good supermarket next door as well. One thing though ... the floors throughout the hotel are marble/stone so it can get very noisy at times - you can hear noise from the corridors and in the rooms overhead.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle and tea bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Address: Avinguda del Mar 16, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An uniquely constructed hotel situated in the middle of the Santa Susanna promenade facing the sea and just 150 meters from the beach. A very spacious layout where you can enjoy our extensive range of services which include: restaurants, bars, night club and sports and leisure facilities which will make you feel looked after and catered for. Let your children enjoy our kids club and children´s playground. As well as this, our younger guests can enjoy our games room and the sports facilities already mentioned. You can stroll along the wide promenade, have a tasty drink or cocktail on the terrace, be entertained by the nightly show at the Festival Bar, enjoy a good pizza in pizzeria "Il Veneziano”, or enjoy new specialities in our newly opened restaurant "La Brasserie"...Aquamarina can also offer: Aqua Hotel commercial area (shops, supermarket, hairdresser, cash machine), indoor garage and outdoor parking. All the ingredients for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing