We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavy music but no rain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Saint Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavy music but no rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The only trouble - extremely loud evening concerts. Daily evening musicians - of very different level! The only level each and every musician succeed to keep was sound loudness! It was impossible to hear your own voice addressing to the waiter or to you friend next to you.
By the way, different sounds from all the surrounding hotels at the same time is a real madness!
Spanish people, probably, believe loud music the necessary thing for seaside holiday.
Though concerts had been finishing at midnight sharp, day off, let's say on Wednesday, would be a good idea!
All the rest was pretty close to feel as excellent!
Location, rooms, service, food, endless Sun and warm sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    129
    69
    27
    26
See reviews for
117
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel is in a very good position just over the road from the beach. Staff extremely friendly and approachable. Hotel good value for money. Food basic but with a choice you will always find something to eat. No hairdryer or fridge in room but can be hired. Would definately use hotel again. No complaints. Had no trouble with the noise and it was last two weeks in August. Close to the train station where you can get to most towns Barcelona a great day for sight seeing. My 15 year old was delighted with wifi at 20 euros for the week. All in all a great holiday at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tieggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crema
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel in good position, easy to reach from the airport by shuttle (we used this), but also by bus and by train. From Girona airport it took 40 minutes and 10 euros per person by shuttle. The hotel has been recently modernized and the rooms are rather small but clean, modern, and well furnished (no fridge, no microwave, no hairdryer though). Internet Wifi is quite expensive (1 day 5 €, 3 days 10 €,1 week 20 €) but it works well. The beach is close and easy to reach. Also Barcelona is very easy to reach by train. The pool is rather small and the patio is normally overcrowded. Nights in the terrace are pleasant but you have to buy drinks from bar and they are quite expensive. The animation consists in one girl doing her best, don’t expect much. Food is good enough, but the beverage is not included. Very good neighborhood, you can exit and stroll with a lot of stands for everything. Overall a good hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnGarMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

we had a room which I am assuming has been modernised, as some reviews say the hotel is dated.... I am here now, and my room is all nice an new, modern shower, 2 large double beds, nice decor, sliding wardrobes, food is very good, buffet style choice, we are half board, so had breakfast and evening meal, have no complaints.. service and food excellent, only downfall, there is only one lift, unless there is one hiding..lots of entertainment, kids mini disco.... great fun, and I will definitly return, fridge hire is $18 euros per week, all be it a small fridge, its ideal for keeping the drinks cold, we bought our own kettle as there is no facility in the room to make drinks, no iron or hairdryer, but i think you can get these from reception, internet $20 euros per week,

Room Tip: room service everyday,, never used the fitness center, so cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackyh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found the staff at this hotel to be polite and considerate and the standard of hygiene is excellent. Melissa who ran the kids club was fab! they all worked really hard to make the kids stay fun. The location of the hotel is excellent you are just across the road from the beach and you have everything on your door step. This hotel is a balancing act do you want peace and quite and a real get away? then this is not really for you (that is not a reflection on the hotel just its location). This is a high energy family location, with nightly entertainment in the open air under a covered arena that spills out onto the main strip. It is a little loud if you are sitting in your room, but most families are down enjoying the entertainment (which this hotel does well). The food is of good quality with a varied choice every night, the bar was reasonable and the atmosphere was excellent we felt comfortable, entertained and well feed! I think overall if you are looking for good value for money without dropping your standards then this is a good choice. We have stayed in several hotels along this coast line in the past, this is the only one our son goes on and on about. The children are made to feel very welcome here and I think for a lot of families that is very important. On reflection we had a lovely family holiday in a relaxed upbeat atmosphere and we would have no problem returning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been update, try to get one of these ours was lovely, flat screen, walk in shower ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 186338Ccfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just returned from spending five nights at the Hotel Alhambra, half board. It's not a bad hotel by any means, but there are some things about it that a potential traveller should know before booking in there:

1. The hotel has a modern exterior but is quite dated inside - think late 1970's to early 1980's decor, which whilst very clean and tidy looked a bit tired in 2012.

2. The food was plentiful but often overcooked and tasteless. The dining hall is in the basement of the hotel and often smelt strongly of cooking, which was not always pleasant. If you are wondering whether to go half board or B&B then pick the latter as although the breakfasts were good, the evening meals left quite a lot to be desired. The descriptions of the food are also not always helpful and a bit vague, so if you have any particular dietary requirements this may be an issue. There is a pub (King's Tavern) a few doors down the road that serves delicious food and drink at reasonable prices.

3. The hotel was clean throughout, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeepers were great - beds made up and towels changed daily. The rooms themselves were old fashioned but very clean and tidy. The pool was very clean, and sunloungers were plentiful, although there might have been a few more parasols.

4. The hotel is noisy at night! There is a nighclub adjacent to the hotel, and there is live music on the hotel terrace most nights that plays very loud music until about midnight. This was loud enough to make the windows rattle at times, so please be aware of this.

5. The waiting staff on the pool terrace restaurant are not very attentive, and took a long time to serve us, even when there were no other people sitting in the area.

6. Our transfer was not until 4pm, so it's worthwhile paying an extra 25 euros to get a late checkout for your room. However if you don't want to do this, there are also shower cubicles in the toilets in the main building should you want to go in the pool after you have given up your room and still have some time to spare.

Overall, we had a reasonably good time, but would perhaps choose another hotel in the resort if we were to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just come back from Santa Susanna Alhambra Hotel. Holiday was really fantastic, place is great - you can have a beach holiday and you can explore Barcelona as well. This amaizing city is just a bit more than one our by train from Santa Susanna. Hotel was ok. The staff is very competent and helpful. We had a lot of questions about places to visit and we always got a good answer and a smile from the receptionists! :)
The room was ok, just safe box was not working. We got the room in a terrace side, and concerts and shows every night was a bit disturbing our sleep, but that's ok. If you want calm and quiet atmosphere, you just have to choose another hotel. Actually these musical shows were not bad, it was entertaining if you want to spend an evening with a glass of wine and some music. What I did not like - almost every evening the same singer and the same songs. That was tedious.
Room was absolutely ok for 3*, comfortable enough. Just cleanness should be a bit higher. We were staying there for 7 days and during this time the room was dusty all the time and the floor was not cleaned properly. As we spent the most of time out of hotel, this was not
very disturbing to us. Towels were changed every day.
I was disappointed that there is not an indoor pool in this hotel. In outdoor pool the water was always cold. But the hotel is very close to the beach.
Food was ok, but nothing special. You can have a lot of it, but most of it is tasteless. Of course, it's the question of taste :) If you want to enjoy a real spanish food, eat out of the hotel!
In general I can say, that this hotel is very good for the money we paid. I am really satisfied with the holiday, but next time I will try an other hotel.

Room Tip: Room changing costs 30 euro. If you want to sleep good dont choose the room at the teracce side, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprici
Hotel Caprici
#14 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Passeig Maritim s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alhambra is just 100 meters from the beach in Santa Susanna and offers a large outdoor swimming pool and entertainment for children and adults. All rooms include satellite TV, safe and air conditioning. Children up to 10 stay free when using existing bedding. In summer, the hotel organizes live music sessions on the large terrace. There is also a disco. The restaurant serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers Mediterranean and international dishes. There is also a bar and an ice cream parlor. Santa Susanna is a quiet destination on the Maresme, in the north coast of Barcelona, and has a very wide sandy beach. The train station of Santa Susanna is close by and provides direct connections to Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing