We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, nice staff, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Checkin Sirius
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there in October 2012. We had breakfast and dinner, the food was delicious, very variable due the week. Staff was as nice as they could be after long and exhausting season... ;) Cleaning ladies were kind, polite and cheery. There were 2 things that I didn't like. The noise in the evenings is nonstopable. If you spend a week over there, by the end you'll be exhausted. I used eardrops every night, because other way wasn't possible, you can even hear the neighbours snoring, the staff starts 6 o'clock am clattering with the glasses (tare) and garbage in the "hall" between hotels beside and the noise spreads like an echo. Same in the evening atleast til 12 o'clock. Other problem was, that the rooms were little dusty, but that wouldn't have annoyed me, if I could have get some sleep... :)

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to / facing the mountains are probably quieter, especially east side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy-Lola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Checkin Sirius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here (two couples) for a week after disembarking a cruise in Barcelona. This is a small hotel compared to others around it but it is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff were mostly pleasant and Roger on reception was very helpful in sorting out our airport transfers.
Location: It is near the end of the strip but since Santa Susanna is not that big this wasn't a problem. The beach is a short walk across the road and is very nice.
Rooms: These were adequate though with a pretty small double bed. There is a small flat screen TV with a few channels including BBC World news. We were on the 5th floor so the balcony is basically in the roof! It was fine when it was sunny as it was completely open but useless when it rained as there was no cover. There was just enough space for a table and two chairs. The bathroom was lovely - very spacious with a great shower over the bath.
Pool: There is a nice, small pool on the 3rd floor with plenty of sunloungers and a pool bar. The cocktails are pretty good!
Lounge: There is a large lounge/bar on the 2nd floor with an outdoor terrace for smokers. It is very nice and there is entertainment there in the evening. I can't comment on that as we never stayed in to watch it.
Food: Breakfast was OK with the usual spread of cold meats, cheese, salad, etc. There is always bread and rolls on offer though they were often a bit stale. There were omlettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs and sausages on the hot buffet. Bacon seemed to only happen every second day! There are tea/coffee machines at either end of the dining room and there is usually a queue. This wasn't a problem unless you had someone in front of you making half a dozen "fancy" coffees!
We were half board so mostly had evening meal although we twice swapped this for lunch as we wanted to eat out at night. The food at dinner was fine - as long as you love pork! It was always an adventure to see how they had cooked the pork each night! In fairness it sometimes was quite nice - really just various sauces/gravy. There is a grill where fresh food is cooked and there was usually chicken, fish - and pork chops. On the buffet there was normally pasta with sauce, fish (completely tasteless) and the usual vegetables, salads, etc. There is the choice of two soups which were pretty good. One problem though is the food is ALWAYS lukewarm, no matter if you are in early or late. There is a microwave where you can warm it up though. The sweets were nice with a limited choice of cakes, blancmange and ice-cream. I definitely can't class the food as 4 star. Also the dining room is so noisy! It has high ceilings, bright lights and absolutely no atmosphere. It actually became quite depressing as the week went on, hence we ate out the last two days.
The hotel seems to cater for mostly older guests - we are not youngsters by any means but felt young in that dining rooms at times! There is a list of extras in the room which you can purchase. One of them was rubber bed sheets!
In summary this is a very nice, clean hotel but the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony with a roof don't choose the 5th floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

just got back from a brill stay at the above mentioned hotel the food was fantastic, a big thank-you to the staff for making our stay great....and gents dont forget your long trousers at dinner time also if you want to eat out ???? go just along the road and your come across plenty of places to eat....watch your wallet in the evening as there are plenty of peeps who dont like working for aliving (if you get what i mean) other than that this is a resort that has everything you could ask for

Room Tip: get a room away from the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regnurse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:

Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.

Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely hotel and staff. Had wonderful time of relaxing and good food. Can't fault hotel, lovely pool on 3rd floor!! with beautiful view of the sea. Evenings quiet but plenty of entertainment in nearby hotels. Near all the shops with stalls in the evenings and a great market on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazsc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Three of us stayed for one week HB. The rooms are clean, shower/bath is great. Room was cleaned every day.
Food: breakfast was OK, evening meal was excellent, but men, don't forget you long trousers for the evening meal, you will not get in.....they are not joking.
Staff are excellent, especaily the reception. The swimming pool was freezing when we stayed there.
No kettle in room and had to pay for fridge hire.
The station is a good 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hotel. There is a tourist bus/train that starts a few yards f...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qqnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great Food, friendly staff, cool 3.0! Reception was really helpful, cosy atmosphere and ggrrrrreeaatt swimming pool! I recommend checking out the jacuzzi! I love the long-trousers-for-gentlemen-at-dinner-time policy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rental C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just got back from a 7 night stay at Hotel Sirius and it was brilliant. I went with low expectations from some of the reviews I had read before going, but I was very pleasantly surprised! The hotel and the area is brilliant. I went with my grandmother (69) and my cousin (13) and all of us had a wonderful time, it was suited for the three of us. Most people said it is not worth 4 stars, but I personally wouldn't give it any lower. The food is lovely, something to cater for everone. The pool is not massive but it is a decent size and the pool area and bar were quiet with not many children so sometimes the pool was empty, there are enough sunbeds and umbrella's for everyone even if you don't go and reserve one in the morning. The rooms are a decent size, we had an extra bed in a double room and it was still big enough, the bathroom, balcony and the actual room have every you need. The staff were really polite and because we had my cousin they made a big fuss over her and they were nice and helpful if needed. The hotel did have entertainment on at night but it wasn't fantastic, we went for a walk each night to some bars which were at the most a 5 minute walk away but it was far enough away so that it was not noisy at night. The beach is very close and is very nice. The resort was lovely, the beach was close, there were many shops and bars and restaurants too. I would recommend this hotel to anybody, but if there are young children maybe not. I will definately be returning again because I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paris27878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Checkin Sirius, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Checkin Sirius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Checkin Sirius

Address: Avda. del Mar N 18, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Susanna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $69 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Checkin Sirius 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the tourist centre of Santa Susana, just 150 m from the nearest beach and 100 m from the closest shops and bars. The neighbouring towns are Pineda del Mar and Malgrat del Mar. Links to the public transport network also lie within walking distance. This modern hotel was newly opened in the year 2000 and comprises 161 rooms with a total of 5 floors. The hotel offers access to various facilities including a foyer with a 24-hour reception desk and a lift. There is also an inviting lobby bar with a lovely sea view with free wifi access and an air-conditioned dining room. Conference rooms as well as laundry and room services are available. The modern & inviting rooms come with an en suite bathroom, direct dial telephone, satellite TV and a minibar wifi access (extra charges may apply), individually regulated air conditioning / central heating, a hire safe as well as a terrace also come as standard. There is a freshwater swimming pool and a relaxing spa equipped with sauna, jacuzzi, a steam room available for your confort. Hotel is also equipped with a gym for more active guests as well as other activities such as motor boating, windsurfing, sailing and catamaran sailing (additional fees apply). The nearest golf course is 12 km away.Guests may select their breakfast as well as lunch and evening meal from a buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Checkin Sirius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Sirius
Sirius Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing