We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of Caprici Verd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caprici Verd
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Usually I refrain from writing of reviews or complaints, but this time I decided to share my experience which might be useful for other travelers.
Caprici Verd looks quite new, and is located in the nice place, in a lovely small Spanish coastal town Santa Susanna. All hotel‘s rooms have the balconies, and the most of the rooms on the upper floors have the sea-views. That's all positive things about our stay.

The hotel itself is looking as a large touristic accommodation with impersonal (and even impolite) customer approach, but not a real 4 star hotel. I'm travelling a lot for business and leisure, and definitely can compare the service level of the different hotels officially having the same rating.

This hotel is operating on the "super saving regime" - this aim is reminded to the hotel guests everywhere: the notes "save water, think about the environment" are put in a few places in the guest room. This is, of course, not a bad purpose, but how it looks in the reality? It looks so: the bedding in our room were not changed within a whole week (!); the floor in our room was not swept no one time too (!), the thin and small towels were changed only twice per week; the cheap toiletries were provided also only twice, so we had to buy the soap, shampoo and douche gel in the supermarket. It's not a problem, however, this in no way doesn't correspond with the service of the 4 star hotel.

The meal is served in the large canteen in the hotel basement, it has no windows, poor lighting and unpleasant smell, therefore, it comprises the dready and comfortless place. But the most appalling thing is the customer approach of the staff. In particular: the young couple was not allowed to enter the dinning-room because of having the beach bag with them. The staff on the entrance strictly told them to leave the bag, because it's forbidden to take any bag - like to the Sistine Chapel or the diamonds store... When we finished dinning, my girlfriend has taken a few nectarines in her hand, and was stopped on the exit by the same staff, who told her to return these nectarines, because it's forbidden to take any item from the dinning-room. Of course, everybody understands it, and nobody intends to take any dishes, it's elementary, but to communicate in such way with the guests who took only a few small fruits - it's no comments...

So neither we, neither another mentioned young couple decided to don't eat in the hotel anymore - we chose to have the lunch and the dinner in the town, in the different restaurants - all of them are really cozy, with friendly staff and serving good meals and drinks. Obviously, in such way the hotel achieves its aim to save all resources including the meal, which is paid by the guests but not consumed, to avoid such unpleasant behaviour of the staff.

The hotel has a nice swimming-pool, but not sufficient amount of sunbeds, which were occupied during the whole day. So we were at the pool only one time. There is a warning for the guests in the pool area: "forbidden to use any drinks or meals purchased outside of the hotel". However, the pool bar doesn't offer the cold sorbet drinks, which are usually served everywhere, and would be really enjoyable during the hot days. The pool-bar serves only such drinks as fanta, sprite, cola and mineral water, which are very overpriced. The guests are obliged to buy these overpriced drinks. So if you bring a small bottle of the drink with yourself, you will be told to leave the pool area, being infringed the established hotel's rules!

To get to the beach you need to cross the railway line via the narrow underground pass with a low ceiling, so if you are high, be careful of your head! The beach is not pleasant, quite small, dirty, with pebbles and very steep.

One more unacceptable thing is the quality of the advertised free WI-FI, which is a disaster. The connection is interrupted every 15-20 minutes, and the signal strength is so low, that it's almost impossible to surf in the internet - it's sufficient only for the checking your mail-box, nothing more.

Unless the town Santa Susanna itself is lovely: clean, well-kept, with many disco bars with live music, many nice restaurants fitted to everybody's taste, souvenir shops and supermarkets, but considering our stay in the hotel Caprici Verd, our experience overall is disappointing. So we won't return, and can not recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriciVerd, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Caprici Verd, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear User,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate all the reviews that guests have made, as they are one way of trying to improve our customer service.

Regarding the bedding and toiletteries, let me incise that we change our bedding every 3 days if the guest wishes so (The only difference with us being energy-saving is that we give our guest the option of changing the bedding, being noted in our hotel channel and other documents and notices). Towels are changed daily and all the amenities are supplied each day too. Of course, as in any other place, there can be small mistakes made by the room cleaners, but if the guest contacts with reception, in a matter of minutes they should have what wasn't supplied to them earlier in the day.

We are sorry that you did not like our restaurant. We are doing everything we can to improve it. However, I must say that our rules regarding food leaving the dining are indeed very strict. This is because our hotel, as many others that I'm sure you've visited all around the world and especially in Europe, has a very clear and strict legislation, abiding both by the Spanish and the European Health and Safety Regulations. In order to ensure that our food will not be the cause of any inconvenience or a danger to our guests, no food, none whatsoever, is allowed to leave the dining room. I'm sure that you'll agree with me that this is more than reasonable. And I can assure you that we do not want our clients to eat somewhere else, we do everything in our hand to please our guests in every way.

It is true that no food or drink from outside the hotel is allowed into the pool area, but we have, I believe, quite an extensive assortment of both food and drink. We do serve sorbet drinks, I am sorry you weren't able to find them.

Regarding the underpass to the beach, we do know that the access is not ideal, but we believe that the sacrifice of getting to the beach in around 7-8 minutes instead of 4-5 minutes is worth when you take into consideration that the hotel is less than 2 minutes away from a straight railway connection to Barcelona, the main hub and city closest to us.

I am also very sorry to know that the 1.9 km of beaches that Santa Susanna disposes of weren't satisfactory enough for your stay, but we cannot change that aspect of your holiday, I'm affraid.

Finally, regarding the WI-FI connection, I must agree with you absolutely that lately our connection has been very very defficient. I can assure you that we are currently working on this problem and trying to make it as good as possible in order to have a good and proper connection for our present and future guests.

I hope that this answer has helped you to reaffirm your views of our hotel and I am sorry to know that you will not be coming back to our hotel. Again, thank you for your comments and wishing you that your following holidays are in your range of a good holiday.

Best Regards,

The Management - Hotel Caprici Verd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    270
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
334
174
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel 8th - 15th June 2013. Had lovely standard room on third floor, very clean with side sea view. All areas of hotel were excellent, my only disappointment was the entertainment, not enough variety as other hotels along the strip had flamenco dancers, and a young band with a good selection of songs.
The food was plentifull but a little boring some evenings. The hotel is in a good location with the train station literally over the road.
Would recommend a trip to Callela for the best shopping, and a trip to Barcelona is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms over the car park have side sea view and get the sun first thing in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worcester1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived few hours ago, the hotel is nice, clean, the rooms are good, i hope the dinner good as the ftont desk service! Barbara is very helpfull! And speaks russiun!! Very recomended hotel! We will recomend the hotel to all

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Average but nice hotel. Great location.

Lots of families were there when we were and although I am a family person, i just wanted a bit of quiet. Had a lovely time all the same and am hoping to go back next year ss it is good value for money. Hope i get a quieter room thought.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardando79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The rooms are clean, the facilities well above the average and the staff knowledgeable. However, I would have expected a four-star hotel to have gluten free bread in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

very good hotel.
good facilities, clean and nice.
the hotel is located on the main promenade with all its shops
i would appritiate to add variety of food, the food was very good but was the same every day...

Room Tip: you can buy big bottles of water in the automatic machine - good deal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank touristTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent an 11 nights holiday in this hotel. Three families with full-board.
First glitch was, when we asked two months in advance to have rooms near each other and we have been confirmed that it will be so. On arrival we were put on separate floors. Thanks! :(
On general, the hotel is clean and nice, we can not say anything bad about this. Although we were a family with a small child, in the beggining the staff separated the beds everyday. It took them a week to realise that we want the beds united.
What is the real problem with this hotel is the food. It is tasteless, no spices used and the variety is poor. We like to eat soup every day. They didn't knew how to make one. Even the gazpacho was terrible. And the onion or tomato soup or the beef soup were like salted and coloured water.
Pasta was always overboiled and sticky. All the grills were tasteless and screaming for some spices, to have some taste at all.
But what was the worse, was the water situation: 2,5 EUR for a small bottle of water!!! And there was a guy, we calle dhim the Nazi, who was so keen on guarding not to use water form outside, that one time he took out the bottle from a newly arrived lady's purse. Without even asking!!!
We complained to the hotel manager, but he was very determined, telling that this is normal.
The kids club from the basement is destined only to Russian kids. Which was very puzzling for our kids, since they coudln't understand why they are not allowed in. Also, the entertainement for kids is based on Russian songs.
And here is the second problem with this hotel: too many Russians. Better said, too many uncivilised Russians. Their kids have no respect for others and the parents don't care about it.
Otherwise Santa Susana is a nice place. We loved even the sea which was clean. The sudden depth change doesn't bothered us. More fun this way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zsolt_Bodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprici
Hotel Caprici
#12 of 21 in Santa Susanna
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprici Verd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprici Verd

Property: Caprici Verd
Address: Avda del Mar 3, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caprici Verd 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caprici Verd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprici Verd Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing