We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to hotel Don Angel.”
Review of Hotel Don Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Don Angel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Do not go to this hotel. My friends and I came back to find our door wide open and our personal things either being stolen or been looked through. It was not a nice experience coming back to our clothes all over the place, personal items missing and being used. The hotel was not very helpful about it and said that there was nothing suspicious. After the 3rd day of it happening we realised the only people that could enter our rooms was the maids and since the hotel managers said that only the maids were entering our room during they day. We had to suspect it was them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lucy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great location and lovely holiday overall but my friends and I had stuff stolen from our rooms, most likely by the maids. When we complained about it the receptionists didn't seem to care. As well as cigarette buts being left in the toilet, food that we had left in our rooms was partially eaten and left out. Food was bearable, although there was no labelling and you had to pay for drinks at lunch and dinner time, even if you were all inclusive. Shame, as the pools were lovely and it was a five minute walk to a lovely beach and the evening disco was really good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Don Angel hotel is not for young families. Good, clean room but the pillows are rock hard. The evening buffet menu could do with labelling and more variety during the week. Lovely swimming pool and plenty of sun beds, with music during the day. Evening entertainment by the small pool, which is lovely and relaxed.

Excellent rail service to Barcelona and surrounding areas. Tossa de Mar is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel, since our last visit, three years ago, it has had another pool added. The hotel, is mainly used by Spanish pensioners, so is no good for young people, it is more suited to middle-aged people. The rooms are well kept but could do with updating the decor,the meals were quite good with plenty of variety,( the time we were there it was filled with Russians who seem to have a fetish for taking all the fruit that's on offer as if there was a shortage of the stuff), staff were ever so friendly and the new pool is superb and maintained and checked daily, the music that's put on at night is mainly for the Spanish pensioners but lively just the same. It's location is great for the markets & the train station is only about 400metres down the road.One tip, take time to learn a bit Spanish as the locals show a bit more respect if you do. Would use this hotel again if coming back to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room as you get the sun most of the day & evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was our second visit to the Don Angel. Good value, good food, good entertainment.
Lots of things had been upgraded since our visit last year - sun loungers, TVs, air con.
Staff friendly and helpful. Great pool and relaxed entertainment at night.
Look out for the man "sitting in mid air" on the strip outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This is a good and very well positioned hotel. Whilst we travelled out of season it is still amongst the main area of the town with the train staion only a couple of minutes away.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, ask for 607 or 608 for best views, and the food, whilst limited, is very good.

I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the Santa Susana/Costa Brava region.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobthecabbie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Good holidays , a perfect week with my wife. Clean hotel , very good swimming/pool . Located at central avenue .Near Barcelona we went by train .Chaeap and fast way to go to Barcelona .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#14 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#6 of 21 in Santa Susanna
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Angel

Address: Avenida del Mar 14 | Avenida Del Mar 14, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel placed in the maritime walk of Santa Susanna, Hotel has 227 rooms, we have suites with lounge, suites junior and rooms estandard. All are equipped with TV flat screen 32 inches, air conditioning, minibar, wifi, bed of two beds of 1.35 Or of one of 1.50, Complete wash basin, hairdryer. Facilities: reception 24 hours, restaurant buffet, restaurant a la carte and bar(snacks), bar swimming pool, two outdoors swimming pools , one of salty water, sunbeds, parasols, parking, ballroom , conference of 300 meters2 without pillars, very adapted for dances, meetings. Near barcelona connected by train at 1 hour of the Plaza Catalunya station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Don Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Angel Hotel
Don Angel Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing