We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wouldn't recommend it Thanx but NO thanx”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Susanna Resort
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Lancashire united kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“we wouldn't recommend it Thanx but NO thanx”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we went on 22nd Oct we wasn't aware everything was closing down til we got there. Then things just went down hill. Reception was on the 3rd floor our room was on 2nd floor right under the so called games room we heard everything from the money being put in the pool table to the balls being set up to the game being played and cues being banged, i complained to the management to which i was told they stopped people playing pool at 10.30 this was at 10.45 i complained and i was just tutted at I WAS FUMING. Then my grandson (15 mth old)was taken ill as well as 8 other children he was sick on the floor we asked at reception if there was a cleaner to help us but when she came she stormed towards us like a bull tutted the whole time n when we said thank you she just snubbed us and walked off unfortunately he was sick again n we were giving some paper towels. The restaurant food wasn't nice.
The park is next to the pool so children had to walk passed the deep end ov the pool with no safety guard at all one slip n they could have fallen in. The room we were in we found a hole in the roof and no matter how many mosquito s we killed the more kept flying out of the hole we killed loads but we were bitten loads, it is nearly end of November n we still have the bites n scars off ones that have gone away. The hotel was clean and the bar staff were brilliant train drivers on the free train were funny but that's it. I would never return or recommend this place to anyone. This was my daughter n her family my son n his wife's 1st holiday abroad n this has put them off taking children abroad. Not one of us enjoyed it we booked for a week n we were ready for home the 2nd day. We understood the staff had worked hard through the year but that wasn't our fault but they made us feel that way. The minute we arrived hear alot of us said it was like faulty towers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bouncer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    771
    521
    248
    280
See reviews for
1,037
642
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The staff were very rude and not friendly at all, the night time entertaiment was not worth staying 5 minutes for. some of the male bar staff were very unprofessional to youngeer girls (aged 12 upwards). the food was poor, mainly reheated microwave meals. out of the 7nights at this hotel the food was nice on 1. the rooms were very small and dated, beds were extremly uncomfortable. the cleaning staff were excellent, very friendly and polite. as for the pool.... if you wernt up at 6 to lay down towles then half 8 to get a bed your would have no where to sit through out the day.... overall the experience was an eye opener and i would not advise anyone to go to this hotel.... however there is a hotel 5minutes away near the fountains that was brilliant.

Room Tip: find a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgia238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

any one who says you get what you pay for is talking rubbish ,you get no where near what you pay for we took two of our daughters and grandson on his very first holiday abroad,weather was great as for hotel i have never ever stayed in such a disgusting place,i have traveled all over Spain and the Balearic isles and never had such a horrid holiday ,,bed so hard like sleeping on a slab even the children were complaining of bad backs not even a hook to hang a towel up on ,30 euros to hire a tv remote on a tv older than father time ,9 euros for a cot per night for those who need and god knows what they charged for a fan we booked a two bedroom pool view with balcony high floor. first they tried to put us in an attic one room, car park view the only place you could stand up straight was in the bathroom or the walk from the door straight to the window facing ,if you sat up in the bed you would smack your head into the ceiling.
with a disabled husband it was a no go .so i told reception no way then we had to have a ground floor pool view if you look through the bushes just.again one room very dark situated between kitchen and entertainment room five o'clock start in the kitchen and so called 12 midnight stop in the entertainment room the noise of kids and fighting could go on until two in the morning women fighting beside the pool at 12,45 am,so called parents so drunk that they were incapable of looking after themselves let alone the children who were left to do whatever they pleased.The second week of our so-called holiday A couple from London moved into the room next door to us with there 3 daughters, come midnight on their last day the husband came drunk and kicking at our hotel door looking for is wife (apparently this divvy thought she was hiding in our hotel room????) Anyway after 5 hours of vomitting all over there room he decided to beat his wife up,one of the daughters decided to protect mum and he promptly beat he daughter up as well. He then broke the door and window to the room.Then they all trundled off with their cases to the coach. We attempted to phone the management but no answer.Their is no security at the hotel (not even a pool attendant) if your idea of a good holiday is putting up with the dregs of society from all over britain,alcoholics,very poor food that gets pre mauled by every dirty fat salad dodger with greasy mits then book in at this place and you will not regret it. P.S KEEP A EYE OUT FOR A COUPLE OF THE BAR STAFF WHO TEND TO PREY ON ALL YOUNG GIRLS FROM THE AGE OF APPROX 12 UPWARDS.
,.Anyone who recommends this holiday have very low standard all round not even a basic butlins holiday back in the 60's is as bad as this dump.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, considering the rudeness they had to put up with from the guests......a please and thank you doesn't go amiss!
Yes there was a selection of food available, but we found the local supermarket was a much better bet and I think probably a lot safer as we did hear of lots of tummy bugs going around.
The drinks available at the bar was extensive, which was good as you did need a few large brandies to help you sleep through the constant running up and down of the corridors by what seemed herds of unsupervised children.
Santa Susanna itself was like Britain on a stick, not an authentic Spanish restaurant to be found. Yes it was the end of the season, but still, maybe 'When in Spain'?
All in all if someone gave me a free weeks holiday here I wouldn't go.....ever again!

Room Tip: Another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJMJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

went october 13th this is my 6th time at this hotel and i have never had a problem. check in is always fast if its near a meal time they let you go and eat first so you dont miss it, rooms are basic but clean and beds not to bad i took my grandaughter this time and she loved the kids club and mini disco it was a bit limited because of the time of year but she still enjoyed it, food always found something to eat and im a fussy eater plenty of choice also has a kids section which she loved as it was lower so she could reach it and get her own which made her feel grown up.snack bar round the pool has hotdogs burgers chips toasties and any drinks you want has a daily cocktail which were nice what can i say cheap and cheerful the staff are all very friendly and most are always smiling or having a laugh with you looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: ask for sea/farm view much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Im telling you, the staff was great im not complaining about it... but the food was horrible and disappointed, I think if you go away you want to try differents food that you are used to eat and something traditional. My daughter came with a mosquitos bites as a souvenir and the room that we was was so small that we cant even walk in there... coming back to the same resort? not really...

Room Tip: n/a no recommended really
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Just came back , you get what you pay for here I'm very open minded but wouldn't go back, I had bad tummy for 5 out of the 7 days , 5 families that I know of including my son were sick, my hubby seems to think it's the spa pool spreading germs.
Staff really good , they work hard and do long hours .
Food lots of choice but basic also had mould on my roll and few hairs during week .
Met some lovely British people over there thank you to the lady who gave us medicine for my son it worked and cleared his tummy and thankfully we were able to fly home nxt day ! we took ur advice and are going to turkey the voyage hotel looks stunning ! So if you read this thanks for that , and it was lovely meeting you :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janesymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Susanna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Susanna Resort

Property: Santa Susanna Resort
Address: Crta. Nacional 2, Km 680, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Susanna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Susanna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Susanna Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Santa Susanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing