We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive ( not)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We'll lets begin ,we traveled to Spain on the 19 th of this month, that's me and my wife were both in our forties ,thought we would just have a cheeky week away with a touch of sun, of which weather was fantastic in the 30's everyday,now the bad bit,all inclusive is not what you get I.e you get a small tumbler of a glass which is small,filled with Estrella then and only then once you have drunk your drink you must go to the bar again with your all inclusive card to get another, so if you want a pint of beer you need to visit the bar 3/4 times .the bar on the pool roof was closed all week,not good as the pool was on the 7 th floor! They said that there were bar snacks from 10-12 at night which was not true as there was nothing there I did add a few photos, a bag of crisps from the bar cost 1€ so not all inclusive!coffee from there other hotel across the way was 1.60€ which wasn't included and you had to use the bar inside if you were all inclusive! not outside in the heat?bar staff treat you like 2 nd class cattle as they know you are not going to tip them so there not great.food was ok (ish) we did eat out most nights as there wasn't a great selection. Overall not a great experience .

Room Tip: Lots of quiet rooms at the back near the coach park
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnray111_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am just back today from Santa Susanna, I stayed at H Top Royal Suites. I thought it was good value for money, we stayed All inclusive. The hotel was very clean with big suites. My room looked onto the street and to the left you have the beach a short distance away. For people who like to shop there is a Carefour Supermarket and great Wine Shop to the right. Also lovely Water Fountains. Worth a visit in September.

Room Tip: If you prefer a suite with 2 Bedrooms this is available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we had a great time again here.the changes they have made in the hotel was great to see the entertainment was alot better than last time(which wasnt to hard ).We had room 116 which was very clean with loads of room.the only thing we thought need to change was a refurb of the bathroom.but other than that the room was good.The food was good i know people complain about the food but we had plenty of choose it was hot ,the pack lunches for day out where much better this year.The staff are great they where very helpful and even remembered us from a couple of years ago.The kids used the free bikes a couple of times over the hoilday which was great.I just wish they had a bigger swimming pool.we will come back again.some people go to spain and think they should have english food english everything well no your in spain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HealyWheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

this is the third time i have stayed at this hotel in the last 5 years , this time i have found the food to be vastly improved , with the introduction of theme nights and just a improvement.
of food choice and quality. the rooms are great and the cleaning also great , the rest of the staff welcoming and friendly as always . but be aware of two things
1 the new tourist tax ( about 7 euro's each) which i did'nt know about
2 and if you are on the east side of the hotel there are a group of youths who play loud music and shout until the early hours in the car park ( the hotel will call the police but as it's a private car park there is not a lot they can do) but then not the hotels fault .
we have visited this resort 5 times in the last 6 years and we think it's time for a change so i wont be reviewing this resort again anytime soon not that i don't like it but time for a change i think

Room Tip: avoid the east side as the entertainment room is that side
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robbie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked a weeks holiday for a family of four for a relaxing break. We found a good deal on the Internet for a week All Inclusive to a 4star hotel in the H Top hotels in the costa brava. At first we didn't know where we we staying as it was a SECRET DEAL!!!!! (never again) And 4 days before our departure we was contacted by the agent and told we where staying at the ROYAL STAR in lloret de mar. We then prepared our son once we knew where we was staying as he has autism and we need to explain repetitively what is going to happen as he doesn't deal with change quickly.
We departed from Bristol Airport with RYANAIR and was delayed for 2 1/2 hours but no reason was given just they we running late!!!! (good start there)
We arrived at Girona and was meet by a transfer rep and was told which bus to get on and confirmed we was to get off at The Royal Star in lloret de mar.
When we arrived at the hotel we was then told very ubruptly we should not have came to that hotel as we was not staying there and it was our fault as we didn't check at the airport. Once we showed them the transfer and hotel voucher they we a bit more helpful and began to ring around asking other hotels if we where staying there. We was then told we was staying at The Royal Sun in Santa Susanna !! They then arranged a taxi which cost me 30 euros. We set off for the hotel and arrived at 4am and was told yet again we was not there as they didn't have any rooms and they rang another hotel asking if they had any rooms available. We was then told we would have to go to The Royal Sun Suites which was a good 10 minutes walk at 4.15 in the morning with 2 children and our luggage. Very bad customer service and considering the time they could have arranged another taxi When we arrived we was meet by the night receptionist JOHN who was an ex pat and was understanding and very thorough explaining how the all inclusive cards work. He was very helpful and throughout our stay was always a willing to help and answer any questions for us big thumbs up for him.
The room was very large with two bedrooms and a separate lounge area throughout our stay the whole hotel was kept very clean the maids working hard and to a high standard. There was clean towels every day.
The food was not so good no choices for the children, plenty for the adults and if u like seafood there was plenty of it the meat was always in a sauce so not to dry it out but there was a good choice of dessert which is pretty much what my wife lived on for our stay. They did do a Chinese night which was fantastic.
The entertainment was virtually non existant as only 1show on in the night during the week and a reptile show that was on at 5pm for the children on every Wednesday. But it is obvious that if they put a show on every night then the bar profits would be down as nearly everyone was all inclusive and as it was not many stayed in during the nights they including us where looking for an entertaining night.
The hotel staff where nice but occasionally they came across rude and they seem to work very long hours. The bar staff were very friendly and didn't wait too long to get served. Only downside is the small glasses in which the drinks were being served in which meant by the time you walked back to your table with your drink you had to walk back to get another.
The pools were very small and being on the rooftop was not suitable for my son as he likes a bit more freedom as being in proximity makes him very anxious. We spent most of our days in The Royal Sun down by the beach which has a very large pool and more suitable but even though we were all inclusive you cannot eat in the restaurant unless you book a day prior but being on holidays we didn't want to be tied a decision. So the days we did eat there we had to pay for the food in the Beach cafe!!! ( all inclusive should mean all inclusive)
On the third day into the holiday my 8 year old son who has autism was attacked by a German girl and was slapped across back when my older son intervened he was also attacked by a German boy and he suffered a fractured hand but because the German boys nose was bleeding the entertainment staff took the side of the Germans even though when we tried to explain that the girl attacked my son first and his brother was only intervening to prevent him being hurt. They said in spanish laws as my son and the German boy was fighting as the police was called then he would need to attend the hospital and police station for further questioning and to make a formal statement we were the made to sign the forms even though they were in spanish. For the rest of the stay we were intimidated by the German family but we was the ones told to stay away from them. We now wait to see if anything will come of this as the police man told us that we may receive a letter trying to claim for compensation from the German boy!!!
We was told we needed to see the hotel director first thing in the morning, she was very understanding and helpful and she was the only one who was seamed to be on our sides and explained there was nothing to worry about and was going to call the police on our behalf and she also translated the paperwork the police made us sign without reading or understanding it first.
We also asked for a late check out on the day we checked in as we needed this as our flight back home was not until 7pm and with the needs of our son we needed this but was told we were to ask 1day prior to leaving but our request was put in the book and to come back then, we asked on the day prior and was told that we could have the room as it was already taken!!! But we were told we could have our room until 12 oclock instead of 10 am but at 10.15 the maids were asking us to go as they needed the room, then the reception rang us asking us to leave and when we told them what was already agreed they still said no so my wife had to go to reason with them and explain my son needed to take his medication just before 12 so they reluctantly agreed but said no longer than 12. We have since found out that another family asked for a late check out room but was told no as it was gone but if they paid 30 euros they could have it !!!!!!!
We have travelled many times to different parts of Spain,Cyprus,Majorca using different hotels and never once been treated like this from start to finish the whole experience has been a farce and would never use H Top hotels again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomorealcohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location - Santa Susanna is a small resort. Not the prettiest place, but a nice beach. The hotel looks out over a car park, but you do get a lovely view of the hills and the town fountains.

Check in/out - Relatively quick and very friendly, but didn't give us all of the information about the use of other HTop hotels with our All Inclusive stay - half of our party had already arrived, so were able to explain it to us.

Room - Rooms were basic, but a good size and clean with fresh towels and linens every day. Good black out curtains if you wanted a lie in. A good sized balcony to sit out on, which looked out over the hotels at the back of the hotel - these are the same hotels which blast music out until midnight each night! The only issue with the room was the aircon, which wasn't particularly powerful.

Pool - The pool is up on the roof and is very small - really more of a plunge pool. There are plenty of sunbeds and they were never full during our stay. There is a pool bar which is open from 10am until 6pm. Unfortunately, that is also the times for the roof/pool area to be open. As someone who likes to be out sunbathing about 8.30, this is a real shame, especially as there was 3 days of bad weather during our stay. The pool area was well maintained and kept clean.

Bar - All Inclusive drinks weren't bad - the vodka was drinkable as was the beer! AI is on until midnight, with the bar closing at 1am. The bar staff in the main bar and the pool bar were fab, very friendly and generous with the measures when asked. The chairs in the main bar were not comfortable!

Restaurant - The staff were very efficient and were quick to clear tables and refresh the food in the buffet. However, I felt the food was a little limited. I love spanish food, but this felt a little too cafeteria for me. Too many chips and pasta options and the meat was often dry. That said, I always found something to eat. Lots of choices for dessert, including some very nice fresh fruit. Breakfast choice was the usual cooked and continental options and generally fine.

Entertainment - This is probably the most disappointing aspect of the hotel. Whilst the enertainment staff try hard, the standard is not good. During the day, there are some activities for the kids. At night, there is a kids disco at 9pm with exactly the same songs and then adult entertainment varying from bingo to shows. However, I don't think kids face painting at 11pm is appropriate and often the adult entertainment consisted of spanish music and lots of spanish OAPs dancing. Not reflective of the clientele of the hotel which had English, German, Dutch, French, Russian etc.

Staff - The real stars of this hotel is the staff, especially the bar staff. All are friendly, helpful and clearly take pride in what they do.

General - Outside of the hotel, the nicest local restuarant is Bei Pepe (go down to the sea front and turn left and carry on down into Malgrat de Mar, towards the HTop Planamar hotel right near the other end of the front. Beautiful Paella! Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a great gym and lovely spa - EURO 5 for the full day's use. Visited the HTop Royal Star in Lloret one day. Unfortunately, this was one of the poor weather days and it was too cold to sit out by the pool. This meant 4 hours of entertaining young, bored children in the bar area. The food and staff were not as good at this hotel as at the Royal Sun Suites (one of our party came down with a dodgy stomach after eating lunch) and the gym was appalling.

Overall, a reasonable 3 star AI option but far from being a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel and there are several reviews on here that are very accurate others maybe not so ! Our room was very large and very clean , it was cleaned daily with clean linen the balcony was very large too . The comments about noise are true but it ends at midnight and you are on holiday after all !! The staff are lovely and helpful but the glass system is extremely annoying the other negative is the food ! It really isn't great at all !! We visited the calella palace which is also 4 star the same as here and the food was far superior also the entertainment was a bit dire so we tended to wander into other hotels where the atmosphere was much better , location is great and the bus service visiting other hotels in the hotel chain is a good service .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahmh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
7.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#85 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior

Address: C/ Marina 1, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Sun Suites)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $50 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star-superior H•TOP Royal Sun Suites hotel is located in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona. It is perfect for singles, couples and small or big families. The spacious 106-room H•TOP Royal Sun Suites offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles * • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Hotel Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing