We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel shame about the Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the H Top Royal Sun Suites from the 30/092012 for seven nights on all inclusive we went with our friends Des and Mandy, the hotel looks very modern, and we were given a nice suite, two bedrooms one double and one twin lounge sofa bed/ kitchen,bathroom with overhead shower(very powerful) only thing missing a kettle,if we knew therooms were this big we could have shared, we had rooms 210 and 310 they had nice long balconys overlooking the the space below ( which looked like it needs a pool or seating area as the only seats are at the front of the hotel next to the road and is not ideal they soon got filled up!)and a sea peep between the hotels at the front of us of which one of them plays the same loud music every night.
Our only complaint with the rooms was the beds were pretty hard.
The small pool was on the roof seven floors up and the pool bar closed on Friday 5th oct end of season the reason yet it was averaging 27c we were not amused so you had to go down seven floors to the main bar just for a drink!
The main thing that lets the hotel down is the food, breakfast was probably the best thing fried eggs every other day, the rest of the meals were very bland and by the amount of waste that is thrown away you would think the hotel knew there was a problem!
We ate out the last two nights once in Barcelona ill come to that in a bit and once at the Drunken Duck a nice pub just around the corner we took a Birthday cake there( bought from carfour big supermarket five mins walk) for Mandy's Birthday they gave us a great night special thanks to our host Jordan who runs the sister pub the drunken Duckling where we watched the footy, the food was great fantastic mixed grill!
Santa Susana is on the main rail line to Barcelona so we went for a day trip on the friday we got a combined ticket for the eurobus which gives you tours on a open top bus with comentry you can hop on and off as you please but you wont do it all in one day Barcelona is a vast place with so many things to see, cost us 24 euros each well worth it we had a meal in Trobador great steak and salmon many thanks ( just outside station third stop in bacelonna)
Overall we had a good holiday and Santa Susana is a nice resort with other local resort Magret just 20 mins walk away, and the train will take you to Blaines and all the other costa resorts the flight was just under 2 hours and transfer of 45 mins but i would look for a better hotel next time.

Room Tip: Rooms 210, 310 good views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daftdevondave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

stayed here in 2010 and found it a good hotel very modern rooms and nice staff.
But we stayed in the Royal Sun in 2012 nice location that was about it staff rude food looked nice but got boring after a few days,drinks very poor rooms falling apart, if i had to pick out of the two hotels it would be the sun suites we popped in there for a drink and some food in 2012 far better than the Royal Sun this holiday has put us off going to Spain again shame really adios Spain the Royal Sun finished it for us x

Room Tip: Dont get confused with the Royal Sun good location but rooms dated staff rude food bad Royal Sun sui...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogsey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a week here all-inclusive.Good 3+star but not sure 4 star.
Positives- Staff friendly and helpful.Room on 2nd floor as requested and good size.Food was good,plenty of meat/fish/pasta +Catalonian dishes.Card/glass system took some getting used to but it did keep queues short +stop some people abusing the A/I system.
Negatives-Only rooftop pool was very small and not as per websitePool bar shut day we arrived.Also need more outdoor seating downstairs.Entertainment not great.Had issues with keycard too.
We had a good stay here,Santa Susanna is a lovely resort and great train service to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastbds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the end of September for 3 nights. Not sure if it was just us but we are a bit confused as to what hotel we booked. There is another H Top Royal Hotel at the sea front - the sun suites is slightly back. Both us and our friends had seen pictures of both hotels and can't work out which one we booked. However, it was not a problem, we were standard all inclusive and you can use your card at any H Top hotel before 7pm. The Royal Sun Suites was nice, I struggle with the European star system - I wouldn't call this a 4 star, but certainly a 3 star. The man on reception was exceptionally friendly, we have booked a 1 bedroom suite but was upgraded to a 2 bedroom, which was massive. Very clean and perfect for our stay. The food was fine, probably us but don't think I could manage a week of it, the dining room is in the basement and although nice and light, I did feel a little confined. The card system is okay, snacks were a little dissapointing but other than that I would say it is a typical all inclusive hotel in Spain.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are rooms 415 and 416.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WORLDLIKEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

W e just back from a 8day holiday at this hotel traveled as a couple after reading the reviews we were not sure if we should have booked,when we arrived at hotel we got a nice welcome at reception,room was spacious and clean we found no problems with the card system for drink food was good and could always find somthing to suit even my hubby who is a fussy eater,staff helpful and efficent,we must admit that we would rate this hotel a good 3star would come back .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms lovely and clean couldn't fault, reception restaurant and bar staff very friendly, Swimming pool is on the 7th floor and doesn't open until 10 also after being here 3 days the pool bar got shut so you had to go down 7 floors to get a drink and with the whole recycle thing you were only allowed one drink which was a nightmare,also food variety very limited and poor no ice lollies only ice cream snacks which you can only get when it's not a meal time was a "packaged" sandwich with cheese and ham or salami with only 1&1/2 slices of bread some crisps on a plate stale biscuits and cake fruit or ice cream, due to the size of small glasses I found myself at the bar constantly when I asked for a larger glass ie. pint I was told it would cost 1€ 55 every time I understand recycling but what's the difference between a 1/2 a pint and a pint and due to them being understaffed with constant queues at the bar it would make sense as I was all inclusive to be at the bar less. It was. Complete pain in the butt. Also you couldn't get bottled water you were required to use the vending machine costing 1€50 a bottle as we had a child with us that required juice we had to go to the supermarket and stock up I think this is very poor for a supposedly " 4 star " hotel also on Friday and Saturdays nights the locals have raves on the gravel pit across the road so if your room falls on one side of the hotel they start partying at about 1am and keep going till 6am which as we had a baby was a nightmare no sleep was not very happy reported this to reception which they knew about and said it happens ever weekend needless to say overall very disappointed and will NEVER be staying with HTOP hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just arrived back from 5 days @ Hotel Top Sun Suites on arrival booked under full board not A1 and the rooms was not ready travelled as 2 couples. Reception was very good and upgraded us to gold A1 not much difference except you could drink labelled drinks not watered down ones . Had to share room for 1 night but very spacious only 1 bathroom though moved into own room next day but was late other than that really nice hotel good food some staff didn't smile much barman in restaurant was non helpful !! other staff that we did see was o.k. Entertainment was crap but the animated person did a good job was quite loud @ times . Clean towels and maid in room every day overall clean hotel . Quite noisy as room overlooked bars and restaurant on street but didn.t bother us much. Pool is on the roof and small breezy @ times .Had better sun on balcony of room. Would I stay here again Yes not 4 star more 3 star.Enjoyed our stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
7.3 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#85 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior

Address: C/ Marina 1, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Sun Suites)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $50 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star-superior H•TOP Royal Sun Suites hotel is located in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona. It is perfect for singles, couples and small or big families. The spacious 106-room H•TOP Royal Sun Suites offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles * • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Susana
Htop Santa Susanna Hotel Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing