We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay in October 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in October 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel after informing them that we would arrive late, unfortunately this was after the evening meal had finished. The restaurant had been informed of this and put aside a chilled meal and it was available shortly after we had checked in.

Our room was overlooking the village of Santa Susanna in the hills and the fountains which appear from lunchtime and are lit during the evening. It was fun watching the children having immense fun getting wet in the warmth of the day.

We stayed in room number 401 and balcony did not get much sun in the evening as it was October and it faced north, however the room adjacent was angled more towards the evening sun.
The rooms were spacious, as this was a suite, but the bathroom needs a little attention, only tiny things but a little ongoing maintenance is required. We had no complaints at all regarding the general hotel condition and the upkeep of both public areas and rooms.
The animacion team seemed to bond well with the children in the hotel and on the occasions we stayed in the hotel to see the evening entertainment the animacion team made us laugh too.

The main beach is a little less than ten minute walk away, via either a bridge or an underpass, the main railway line passes in front of the beach. The railway station is located in front of a sister hotel Onabrava, this was approx. a ten minute walk away. The trains to Barcelona are frequent, clean and inexpensive, I would definitely recommend the trip.

Overall we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the staff were always friendly and efficient; they are a credit to the Hotel Montagut.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    243
    93
    22
    17
See reviews for
286
192
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

the hotel and location was very noce. the staff there was totally rude!! Ariel and Anna just dont want to listen! booked through media travel there was a mis communication between the hotel and the local agent in spain. Ariel and Anna were adament we pay for our room which we had already paid for in the UK. never have met such rude people!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himsn124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed with my husband and 1 yr old. All of hotel was very clean. Food lovely. Staff were fantastic from the manager to the kids club. Room was smaller than we thought it would be but still an ok size. We paid extra for a premium room and was surprised there was no double bed in the bedroom, just 2 singles. Santa Susanna is a lovely resort, great massage on the beach for 5 euro. I would highly recommend a restaurant called Bei Pepe in Malgret de Mar. I would recommend the Hotel Montagut.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachsliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with room size , with 2 balconies! Breakfast was bountiful and a good quality of varied foods to suit all cultures. Deserving of its 4 star superior status!
We only went B&B . Beach is nearby and not too busy, although quite windy so be prepared! It's not far to the station for the train to Barcelona which takes about 75 mins and a lovely coastal journey.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jools064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are pleased to read your review about the hotel.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our establishment.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Montagut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and 2 year old son went for a weeks holiday at this hotel and we had, in the main, a very nice stay. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was very good, though as other reviewers have mentioned, it could get a little bit monotonous! The room was clean, modern and spacious and the maid staff did a great job!! The only complaint that we had was the night noise....we had a 4th floor, road facing room and we were happy when we heard this because other reviewers mention that if you have a pool facing room then the entertainment can go on till midnight and with a 2 year old that would be ideal. But nothing compared us for our first night, it appeared that there some sort of local party going on close to the hotel and people were shouting and bawling until after 5am! We asked to be moved, but were told that the hotel was at capacity! So we went and bought earplugs from the chemists fearing that this would be the norm. However it wasn't, and appears to have been a one off!! Though I would still suggest the earplugs! Because coaches seem to coming and going until all hours and if you're a light sleeper like me then you will be woken up....amusingly our boy wasn't woken up once by noise!! The negative above, I would recommend the Aqua Hotel Montagut...we found the staff to be very warm and welcoming and we had a nice break!

Room Tip: Read the review...I don't think you can get away from noise there I'm afraid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just got back to the u.k. arrived sunday.This year we stayed at Aqua Hotel Montagut on arrival we found the hotel a good size,Room was nice we stayed as a 3 thought we had a studio but was a room 2 singles and a sofa bed was a little disapointet but made do.We stayed on a half bored bassis and food was great lots of choice loads to eat fish meet duck everything you can think of.just wish you did not have to pay for evening drinks.Beach is great and a massarge for a £5 great.Barcelona great day just get the train 8euro return.Will def be back 2nd year will be back for 3rd

Thanks
Aqua Hotel Montagut for a great time .room 314

Room Tip: The Holland bar next door is great the owner is a really nice bloke
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

group of 9 arrived at midnight to find we were a room short.4 of us had to double up for 1st night.according to a member of staff "its company policy to overbook up to 120% capacity and hope all guests do not turn up"!!Food was also of poor standard and very monotonous.Also found part of a broken plate in food.Had to insist the rest was removed.(at least one other person had the same problem as i was shown the bit of plate they had found). if you have problems do not expect any help from management.If you want a quiet holiday or have children go somewhere else.The noise from the bars in front of the rooms will keep u awake until 5 a.m.On the plus side the rooms were very clean and the bar staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: use a different hotel. do not waste your hard earned money on this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarvis846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Customer,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your opinion and also to thank you for mentioning our bar staff.
In reference of the overbooking mentioned, we assure you that this is not the company policy to overbook up to 120% of its capacity. What happened about your booking was a mistake. We introduced two triple rooms instead of three double rooms. As the hotel was fully booked for that night, we asked you to share the rooms the first night and change the rooms the following morning. To apologize about this incident, we offered a very good compensation.
About the food, we care a lot about providing a wide range of international dishes so that everyone can enjoy our buffet.
Concerning the broken plates, we have already taken steps to avoid such eventualities in the future.
Finally, the hotel management are truly sorry about what occurred. Every day, we work hard together to provide the best customer services.
We hope that these eventualities will not prevent you to come back again in our establishment. It will be pleasure for us to welcoming you in the near future.
Aqua Hotel Montagut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites

Property: Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Address: Torrento de Can Gelat s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant destination. Hotel Montagut Suites offers spacious, well equipped suites to provide you the comfort you deserve. Situated in Santa Susanna some 150m from the beach, it has a landscaped pool area, play areas for children as well as a well equipped MINICLUB and an outdoor garden area where endless fun can be had. Our beautifully constructed restaurant with glass surroundings which gives our guests the chance to eat in a truly special environment. Enjoy our vast, elaborate and extensive buffet. Guests can also enjoy the various facilities the hotel can offer situated around the main bar area which includes a quiet reading area, games area, wi-fi, and the opportunity to enjoy your favorite drink or cocktail on the terrace whilst enjoying the nightly entertainment. The hotel also has outdoor parking available. Dogs are allowed (max. 5 kg). Whether you are with your partner, family or friends ... Montagut Suites offers a kind, personalized service. You will enjoy a superb holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Aqua Hotel Montagut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing