We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say.... just amazing.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
2 reviews
“What can I say.... just amazing.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Went with my mum who is 67 years old to the Onabrava and what a beautiful hotel. When you walk in ,the reception area is big, clean and tidy and the staff were friendly. The man who looked after our cases as we arrived at 10am, as our room wasn't ready was really friendly and funny.
Our room had a sea and pool view and was amazing. Had two king size beds and the room was spacious with amble wardrobe space. Bathroom was a good size and very clean, tiled from floor to ceiling. Beds were comfy and had good nights sleep.
The food was great and I never went hungry, there is food for all nationalities, I did love the paella one evening and even went up for seconds.
The outdoor pool and jacuzzi was clean and always loads of sun loungers, you DON'T need to put your towels on to SAVE your lounger, as I witnessed loads of time by certain europeans......
The animation team, Moises and Shelly were good at getting you to take part in their
events, good fun as well. The evening entertainment was ok ,the best evening was the Elvis nite, not to be missed.
Went into Barcelona on the train and it was only 7euros return and the station is near the hotel. Just watch your wallet/purses when you are out and about as loads of pick pockets around. You would see some during the evening on their bicycles going up and down on the road looking for their prey.
We had a few rainy days and so went to the spa in the hotel, I would recommend the chocolate milk body wrap, Ramona did mine and she was very nice and friendly. She gave me a pair of paper thongs to put on and lets say my dental floss is thicker than that!!! You get an hour of pure relaxation, covered in a cocoa body scrub then chocolate/milk thick cream and wrapped in cling film and warm towels. You then get a facial massage, followed by a hose down in the shower(you do that yourself) and then covered in lovely moisturiser. This was for a great price of 55 euros and a pure treat if it rains. Also the steam room/jacuzzi and sauna is very relaxing as well. I didn't use the indoor pool but had a look and is very clean, also take your gym gear if you are a fitness freak as great gym.
This is by far the nicest hotel in Santa Susanna and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsfozBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    512
    118
    41
    16
See reviews for
615
457
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Level Contributor
322 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Welcoming, spacious, exceptionally clean and the reception area was clean and uncluttered. Guest rooms were what you would expect of a tourist hotel in Spain and worth the 4* accredited. Large outdoor and a small indoor pool. Spacious restaurant with self serve buffet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We were going to Onabrava hotel for our honeyweek. In general, hotel, room, food were just fine and we were satisfied with our staying there. But the last day after coming back from breakfast in hotel restorant I haven't found about 100 euros in my wallet which was in the handbag. Room was cleaned much earlier than usual and it was the only time I left my wallet during the cleaning. I knew which chambermaids were cleaning our room and I went straight to them. Of course, they said that doesn't know anything. It was pity, because every day we were leaving tips for them despite that cleaning was minimal. Also I informed reception about theft, but we were told that hotel doesn't take responsibility for thefts in the room. In such cases we should have taken safe (which costs about 30 euros for the week). Well, we have been in such countries like Turkey, Egypt in 3 stars hotels and didn't have such case of theft so didn't even imagine that in Spain 4 stars hotel could happen something like that... Anyway, it will be a lesson for us, that doesn't matter what country and what hotel, it is necessary to take SAFE for being sure about safety of your belongings. Also we still think that hotel administration should pay attention what staff they are employing and try to ensure maximum safety for their clients because such cases leaves black marks on hotel reputation...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giedre_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquasantasusanna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
The Hotel always advises its customers to use the safety deposit box in the room for security reasons.

After receiving this information, the hotel management followed procedures which couldn't confirm the theft took place.

The rooms are always cleaned after 09:00 a.m. but do not however always get cleaned at the exact same time per day due to differing occupation levels and individual guest requests regarding the cleaning of their rooms.

We performed a verification on all cards which had been used to open your door. The two housekeeping staff came to clean the room at 09:38 a.m., after which the customer entered at 09:46 a.m. The customer then left the room and returned once again at 10:00 a.m. The customer then left once more returning at 10:18 p.m. The housekeeping staff were only in the room for 8 minutes. We have also viewed the security video which confirmed the entries and the exits from the rooms. As well as this, the video confirmed there was nothing out of the ordinary took place.

The housekeeping staff in charge of this floor have 9 years experience and an immaculate record.

The reception immediately alerted the police who later made the necessary checks but could not however confirm any details until today. As well as this, we would also like to add that the police always offer the opportunity to officially report the incident.

Aqua Hotel Onabrava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, as usual prior to booking, we were expecting good things....but not this! Having stayed all over Spain, three times this year alone, this is quite easily the best ever Hotel we have stayed in, and we cannot wait to go back! The place is clean,food excellent,service above and beyond from all staff,rooms are great,lots of wardrobe space, which are also modern and clean,loads of space,double bed each,lots of room. Santa Susanna still somewhat traditional,no cheesy bars or English idiots screaming and bawling,lovely walks available.No cheap shops or stuff like that,there are actually places worth wandering around with quality shopping available should you feel so inclined.This place cannot be faulted at all in any way whatsoever,it really is excellent.We were debating whether or not to give it such a good review because we dont want you all flocking there and spoiling our next booking but we had to..its only right!
We noticed on a previous review a staff member called Samir mentioned,now we know why.What a credit to the reception team he is,speedy booking us in,could not be helpful enough,very polite and respectful,could not help us enough.He deserved a particular mention.We took the time to speak to the general manager who regularly wanders around to make our views known to him, we have never took the time to do that before.
This place is an absolute diamond, what a find!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked this with Travel Republic and to say this was the most painless holiday experience would be an understatement. All confirmations were quickly received and transfers, flights and accomodation all booked seperately. We had a great coach drive through Barcelona to get to the resort of Santa Susana which was around an hour and 20 mins away. The resort is small but newly developed. The Onabrava is by far the best of several 4* hotels in the resort. We narrowed our choice down the the Onabrava or the Caprici Verd and having looked at the latter we definately made the right choice. We had a standard room which consisted of 2 large double beds, sat tv, phone, mini bar, bathroom with hairdryer, bidet , bath, shower and loo. nice large wardrobes and tastefully furnished. There are "posher" rooms with more bits and pieces but this suited our needs and pocket. The public areas are fantastically clean and spacious. The bar is nice and serves booze, coffees, snacks and non alcaholic drinks. Not too cheap, but nice surroundings, with the large and airy reception and entertainment areas merging into one. The pool area was again spacious and the was always a sunbed available whatever time of day. The hotel charges 1 euro per bed and you get a complementary towel for that too. The animation team worked hard and long to keep the kids and adults entertained and some of the games of aqua polo got a bit "competitive! The main plus for me was the lack of English people staying in the hotel. It was very multi culural with obviously Spanish plus French, Dutch, Germans, Russians and Italians making up 90% of the guests and around 10 British families at most. Now on to the food...WOW. The choice was fantastic, with a speciallity put on each day, chinese, indian, mexican to name but a few. Every meal was different, the breakfasts were fab too, with different cooked items plus various breads, croissants, home made jams...delish! I have 2 fussy teens and they loved the food as much as we did. On our departure, we checked out at 12 and put our luggage in a secure room, and were allowed to use the showers in the spa (which looks great) free of charge. I would highly recommend this hotel and resort which is small but perfectly formed. Another plus point was the ease of travel along the coast by train. Cheap, fast and took in a few nudist beaches along the way to Barcelona much to the amusement of my fellow travellers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danoofcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

While I would agree that the hotel is beautifully maintained and that the lobby area and poolside are excellent, I feel that this hotel needs to look after the needs of its guests better to merit a 4 star rating.
€1 per person per day to rent a sunbed. €2 a day to rent an empty fridge/mini-bar. Daily or weekly charge to use wifi, only available in reception area. Naturally there was a rental charge for the safe, but we didn't feel the need for it. A good point about the hotel is its clientele.
On arrival the reception staff appeared to have no record of our booking (via a well known website) and gave us a twin room on the ground floor. We had booked a double room and requested not to be on the ground floor. Initially we were told that there were no double rooms in the hotel, but later they found a room on the 5th floor for us (the following day).
The furnishing of the rooms is basic, especially the bathrooms. No tea/coffee making facilities. If you like your tea piping hot, you'll be disappointed as the machines at breakfast yield hot but not boiling water!
The hotel is very clean and all public areas are very well maintained. Pity about the extras.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We just returned from a week in Onabrava. We travel a lot and we are quite demanding people when it comes to hotels. This time we came back full of very positive and pleasant memories. The most impressive - excellent staff from cleaning ladies to receptionists. Can not but mentioned Fini, one of the best receptionists we have ever met. She was always willing to help and not in a formal way but with genuie concern for people's requests. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the sea, quite big very clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend this hotel for couples as well as families with children. There were lots of entertainment programmes in the evening and during the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing