We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is good, food is probably on par with a standard all inclusive and does have room to improve but the basics are there and you won't go hungry. Drinks reasonably priced but buy your bottled water in the shop next door.
Really clean hotel with good reception service. Wifi good once you pay €12 for the week works everywhere.
Spa nice for €5 plus the €2 for swim hat and €1 for locker but worth it.
Typicall small Spanish resort, very touristy not much Spanish stuff to be seen. But quiet hotel in the sun

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    512
    118
    41
    16
See reviews for
615
457
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this hotel after researching the area and reading past reviews, and this really did seem to get the best write-up.
The hotel really was lovely. Very clean as you enter and spacious in the main lobby/reception. The room was also spotless and certainly large enough for two girls with their overly-packed suitcases...!

One thing I did notice was that the air-con wasn't great in our room. Being May and not overly hot, this wasn't too much of a problem, but thought it worth saying.

You really do have to pay for all extras. Wifi is 12 Euros a week but the reception is good and reliable.

After reading the various reports on the food, we decided to go for just Bed and Breakfast but actually feel that half board would have been better. The food at breakfast was great - there was always a fantastic choice which changed every day.

Unfortunately, there isn't a huge choice of restaurants outside the hotel, so perhaps it would have been better to eat at the hotel in the evenings... this might be different if you go more during peak season, but we went during the May half term where things along the sea front were very quiet...

We also made use of the spa (you'll need a swimming cap...!! And they charge for this, if you don't bring one) but actually the spa was lovely and a good way of spending a less than sunny afternoon.

The hotel really is opposite the train station, with frequent trains to and from Barcelona, which takes just over an hour and is reasonably priced. If you want to go to Lloret de Mar, get the train to Blanes and then get a bus - sounds awkward but actually isn't too hard at all.

So, all in all, a lovely hotel. Santa Susanna is quite low-key - not too many clubs and bars, but it's easy to travel and it's a good central location.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a great view...but it shouldn't be a deal breaker - it's a good ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had read quite a number of the good and notsogood reviews about this hotel before we got there, and are glad to say that the hotel lives up to it's 'top hotel in Santa Susanna' rating.

The staff were fantastic - from the lovely ladies on reception (who let us look at another room to the one we'd booked - becuase we weren't too keen on our 2 children sharing a double bed), to the amazing Velina in the kid's club (loved her to bits, very sad to say goodbye), and the lovely maitre d's and serving staff in the restaurant. Even the cleaners said 'hola' each time you went past them.
Hotel itself - very clean, well laid out, 2 outside pools, one for young children, and the other for older children and adults.
Food/restaurant - We don't agree with the moaners about the food. Every day you had the choice of hot or cold food, never the same hot food in consecutive meals; there was pizza most days, and always chips and always pasta/sauces for those who didn't want to try new stuff (or children...), great range of breads, signs up saying what all the hot food was, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts and icecreams and other cakey desserts. We didn't have a problem with the temperature of any of the food.
Kid's Club - Velina did a brilliant job keeping the kids amused- she is so friendly, and organised, and has a huge amount of energy. It's for 4-10 year olds, so I stayed quite a lot when my daughter was there as she's only 3.5. If the weather's good they go outside for half an hour at 11 and 4pm to do several games or treasure hunt. Always things to colour in, paint, make. Our papier mache chicks both survived the trip home intact! Outside Moises and colleague kept the adults busy with activities, but Moises came into his own at the mini-disco, held each night at 9pm. OUr 7 year old loved this, and joined in happily. 45 minutes of action songs, followed by lollipops for all children, and then the main musical 'act' started at 10pm. Lots of children stayed for this too. (Varied each night).
We had a premium room, so wi-fi was included free for the week, and we didn't have to hire pool towels either. We had taken our own towels to use on the beach.
Spa - we had already read on Tripadvisor about taking our own lock for the lockers, and could have taken swim caps too, but they were only 2euros each. Lots of choice in the spa, diiferent temp pools, children under 16 not allowed in these, only in the main (salty water) pool. I personally felt that the price for even a manicure was too high, but then it's not like I have them all the time in the UK (like never..)
Local stuff - train station just over the road, easy access to buses. If you want the land train (good for seeing round the local area) walk back along the path to where the road goes under the trainline, you are morel likely to get a seat there. Ask reception for a map of the area and they will tell you where the landtrain stops are. Carrefour supermarket 15 min walk away if you need anything you might have forgotten;and a LIDL too (did'nt go there though). There is a Galleries des Pins about 5 mins walk from the hotel, good for presents to bring home, and has a small shop at the back (5L water 1.2euros). We didn't go to any local restaurants/cafes as we were on full board but there seemed to be plenty to choose from. In the village of SS itself there was a playarea, but we didn't get to it in the end. WOuld probably be a 30 min walk.
Beaches - there are 3. ONe very big shingle, one slight smaller shingle (opp the land train stop), and we didn't get to the third one. Very little tide. It was very windy when we were there, which took away from the heat of the sun quite a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good value holiday. 4 of us went and the location is superb, right opposite the beach and a 2 minute walk to the train station that is an hour or so to Barcelona. Great staff and service all around. As is normal on a package deal, the food could have been better, but it was above average and certainly did the job! Not much choice for restaurants outside of the hotels, but the Mexican in the beach is worth a visit. A very nice spa indeed with reasonable prices for treatments and an excellent gym.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NUM8ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel with nice interior and clean facilities etc, staff were generally friendly but found we had to pay for lots of extras mini bar service (plus extra for drinks) ironing as iron wasn't provided, sun beds (summer months) no towels provided at the pool. gym, then told we had to pay extra for a swimming hat, then found out the classes would only run if there was 3 or more people in the class grrrr the list goes on .....

Dont stay by the lifts as you will get no sleep, you constantly hear people walking and talking down the lifts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelcrock2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with great staff. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms are great.
The food though leaves a lot to be desired. As others have pointed out there is a lot of selection but it is often not very warm, the meat is tough and you can often be waiting for dishes to come out of the kitchen. I would expect a lot more of a hotel of this quality.

We had a short break of 4 nights in the hotel and I am glad that I was not staying much longer as I would have had to look for food elsewhere in the resort.

With regard to location there is really not that much in Santa Susanna but the hotel was ideal for us as we simply wanted to get into Barcelona and not do much else. The train station is only a few metres away from the hotel and rail fares are very cheap into Barcelona, less than 10 Euros return, and the journey follows the coast and lasts just over an hour. There does not really appear to be much else to do in the resort itself, there are a few bars and restaurants but not much else. The 4 Euros for the mini train and 2 euro entry to the museum half way around was very good value for money and 90 minutes well spent.

The other thing we found strange about the hotel was the charging for the Spa and then the towels in the spa and then the swim caps for the spa and then the padlocks for the lockers for the spa. I have never stayed in a hotel before that charges for all these things individually.

Drinks were very reasonably priced in the hotel and other than the charges for the spa we did not feel like we had been overcharged for anything.

Overall the hotel is great but let down by the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornfield_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have already stayed at a previous hotel owned by the Aqua Group [Hotel Montagut] and had previously looked around this hotel before we booked.
We found the rooms and the cleanliness in and around the hotel to be of a high standard. The Onabrava is a modern hotel at the newer end of Santa Susanna. Santa Susanna is not a traditional old resort but it depends on your needs for a break away. We hired a car and visited many of the coastal resorts and found it to be a good central base.

The food was varied and there was always plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meals [we booked half board, so are unable to review the lunch menu]. The staff at the hotel were all helpful and friendly.

While we stayed at the Onabrava we fully intended to take the train into Barcelona and a bonus is the station is situated just across the road. There is hardly any noise from the quick and frequent trains as the line is electrified.

The entertainment in the evening is good and varied; it usually attracts many people.In fact the first time we entered the hotel it was in the evening when the entertainment had just started.

The only downside was when we stayed we had to pay for the internet and I think it was around 2 euros a day [April 2013 prices].

Overall I would return to this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms overlooking the pool are the best....there are no rooms overlooking the car park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montemar Maritim
Montemar Maritim
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing