We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The 'front' of the hotel is on a back street and not too impressive. The 'wow' factor is as you come through the revolving door into a very impressive and expansive area with reception to your right and the bar in the far distance on your left! Rooms have two double beds as standard, are clean and kept so by housekeeping. All staff are friendly and helpful and it is flattering to be remembered by many when returning after six months or more. The only minor point to fault is that access to the fridge in the room is by key for which you have to pay a daily rate. Incidentally, if you go in to Malgrat, try Bar Joan at the railway station - pleasant staff and a nice pint at a decent price!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms get sun in the morning & even numbers from lunchtime onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had another great five day stay at this hotel. It is the sixth time we have visited and we have been very impressed on every occasion. The hotel is very well appointed, the rooms are large and airy, the food is very good and the staff are always attentive. On this occasion our car was damaged in a public car park and Samia the hotel receptionist was most helpful in assisting us to make the necessary phone calls [in Spanish]. He made a difficult situation very much easier for us to deal with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time at the Onabrava Hotel in Santa Susanna, we thoroughly enjoyed it yet again. The Hotel is very spacious, luxurious, with wonderful staff and fabulous choices of food.
This year we never saw any of the entertainment but last year it was very good. Our friends have been three times there also and they agree with us it is F.A.B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel itself was a bit difficult to find by car, as the satnav doesn't have these newly built hotels on the database - and it was only updated in Dec 2012. So if you are coming from Barcelona airport just select Santa Susanna (remember the two 'n's as there are a few aternative locations), or put the zip/postcode. Oddly enough there are actually 2 separate Aqua Hotels about 300yds apart, so make sure you get the right one.

On the down side, there isn't any free parking - so it's 10 Euros a day to park. Avoid the underground carpark as it is very tight to enter and seems to have been designed as an after thought - as it has no direct link to the hotel and you have to lug all of your cases up a steep ramp and walk about 150yds round the side of the hotel to the reception.

At reception the staff are very friendly and helpful, so no isues there. Once we got to our room there were no issues although it seemed a bit odd that you pay a daily rate for your room safe plus a 2 euro a day rate for NOT using the minibar unless you use it! Wifi is also not free and is quite a hefty 12 euros a day - although you can get weekly rates. Personally we would have preferred to have had everything 'inclusive' as I havent came across a hotel that charges you for everything as an extra - even the spa - which is quite small and is 5 euros a day. So for a family of 4 prepare for a lot of extra costs from teh start - they even charge you for a padlock for the changing rooms and have a 10 euro deposit for the privilege!.

Other factors that were less than ideal but not deal breakers for us were:

Everthing is expected to be paid in cash e.g. drinks, spa treatments, etc.. as no one seems to be used too having it charged to your room. Eventually we did manage to work out an arrangement, but seemed a bit backward for a 4 star hotel. Beware of soft drinks for the kids, as they seem excessively expensive at 2.10 euros for a tiny juice sized bottle of lemonade - which seems opportunist when a 1L bottle of water was only 1.45 (the fizzy stuff was half the size and cost more).

If you go for the half board option its ok, but not anything special. The buffet style was good for the kids as they invariably decide what they wanted isn't really what they wanted after all, so no great issues in getting something else, but its very basic fare on the whole. Oddly enough they don't seem to do much by way of chicken breast or the like, as most dishes seem geared to the cheap meats i.e. the occasional drumsitick, pork, lamb shank, etc. The salads were fine but when we were there the desserts seemed just to be combinations of different coloured/flavoured blancmanges, but overall, we didn;t starve.

We had a massage at the spa, and if you are used to massages at typical 4 star+ hotels, this wont be it. It was ok, and was a relaxing hour away from the kids, but 'techinically' it left a lot to be desired. Oddly they started you on your back (i.e. front up), then spent 12 minutes just massaging my feet - when all I really wanted was the knots in my back and legs undone from the flight and drive, but even after saying so, it was half hearted and not that good for the money.

The indoor pool was very busy (and oddly up slippery stairs from the changing rooms), and no-one seemed to shower before going in - and some really needed to!, but as the showers were not ideally placed and had no soap or even hot water), it was probably not surpirising. It let down what was otherwise a nice facility.

In summary, it was a nice hotel, clean, modern and friendly, but had some odd ideas about pricing and just basically bad layout/design in a lot of areas. There was no real deal breaker in terms of bad or poor experience, its just that it missed its 4 star rating on a number of simply remedied fronts - so it wasn't quite what we expected.

Would we go back, probably not, but if they sorted out the pricing, parking and variety of food, then maybe would be worth another go - hence the rating we gave.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the front or pool, as otherwise it can be quite a bland view. Consider upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend both 19 years old took a trip to Onabrava hotel to use their spa as we were staying in H.Top Royal Sun which was literally five minutes away. Hotel Onavrava was amazing! The staff were very helpful, it looked newly built so everything was clean and tidy and the spa was only 5 euros. We had a wonderful day here and I would recommend to friends and family. If we ever come back to Costa Brava I would stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoisOxenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

On arrival at the hotel, a very impressive reception lobby area. Reception guy was wanting for us to arrive in the early hours of the morning 01.30, I asked would it be possible to upgrarde to a premium room for more comfort and luxury and was extremely shocked on how cheap this was 48 euros for 4 nights extra £10 per night for 2 people. When arrived in our room the view of the pool and sea was excellent, my first impressions was the cleanilness which was 100% which at the end of the day that's why I pay for 4 star plus hotels.
The food in the restaurant was of a very good choice and plenty, the only fault would be it could be a lttle hotter but saying that I like my food to be extremely hot. Drink prices are about the same as home if not a little more expensive, only stayed in the hotel last night due to shattered after spending the day sight seeing in Barcelona.
All in all a very good 4 day break despite the misserable weather, talking to some local people and it's one of the worst April's they have came across typical!!!
Yes probably would return to this hotel in the near future as didn't like the other surronding towns.

Room Tip: pay the little extra to get a premium or superior room, unfortunatley there was no superior rooms le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RochdaleEmilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we had a four night stay at the Onabrava...like some unfortunate tourists we also had a longer transfer from Girona than it took to fly from Bournemouth...but it is was worth it...it looks impressive when you arrive and even more impressive inside...for a treat we upgraded when we arrived and had a fabulous room...the staff were brilliant and the service they gave was first class...everyone was so friendly...the food was wonderful...also fun entertainment for all ages...the resort of Santa Suzanna is lovely...we loved it so much we are coming back in June 2013 and bringing our children and grandchildren...looking forward to seeing you x

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cc2seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear cc2seas,
Thank you for choosing Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa for your holidays and for your review about your stay in Santa Susanna.
We appreciate your comments very much and are delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.
We also look forward to your next visit in June.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#8 of 21 in Santa Susanna
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caprici Verd
Caprici Verd
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $61 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing