We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night break in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 Night break in Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

3 nights for 2 people for £359 inclusive of flights and transfers.
A really excellent hotel stumbled on by chance for a short break in November. Really could not fault the hotel, clean, modern with all the amenities.
A truly excellent range of food, arguably the most extensive range of choice I have ever experienced, particularly so at breakfast.
I expect the price we paid would have been considerably more expensive in the height of the season but for us represented superb value for a short winter break.
A frequent train service down the coast to Barcelona, the railway station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear David W,

We are happy to read that you found the facilities excellent, that you enjoyed the breakfast and we thank you for that.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    519
    121
    44
    16
See reviews for
624
463
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having looked at some of the other hotels in the area this was definitely one of the best ones in the area.
This really does look like a four star hotel. The lobby, restaurant, pools the room all looked modern and clean. We upgraded to the family room (2 bedrooms) on arrival for around €170. This did however include use of the indoor pool/spa/Gym which would otherwise have cost us €16 per day – 2 adults and 2 kids. This also included use of the fridge (€2 per day) and wireless connection (€12 per device per week).
We went full board luckily as we went in late October and many restaurant (and Hotels) started closing for winter so limited choice of places to eat at. Food was very good but a little bland for my taste. Went to a supermarket close by to get some Salsa sauce which we took with us every day. Food is very well labelled which is important for me as I am a Vegetarian. As a result the choice became a bit limited but still not bad. Desserts were fine but don’t expect great quality. It was fine though. Drinks are very reasonably priced. 0.5l of house wine was around €7.
Indoor pool and spa – excellent. We made the most of it as it was included in our room rate and too cold to swim outside.
Kids club was open 10am -1pm and 3pm – 5pm while we were there. There were around 5 to 8 kids in the club and our 2 really enjoyed it.
Evening entertainment was not the best. Highly geared to the French visitors aged 60+. We still made the most of it and had a drink at the bar with the entertainment in the background.
The area seems fine but was very quiet late October. 1st November almost became like a Ghost town.
Big plus was the train station across the road into Barcelona for €8 each – same price for kids. They only take cash. ATM in the two hotels to the left as you are facing the beach. Also on the street outside the Aqua sister hotel walking towards the centre.
Beach was 5 / 10 minute walk using the underpass.
High lights – indoor pool / Spa, drink prices, the fact they had a kids club
Low lights – Very quiet end of October, being charged for every small item such as the fridge if we had a standard room. Wished they had themed nights for the food such as Mexican, Indian, and Asian etc... Oh the Juice at breakfast is awful. They use dilute rather than real juice – the breakfast is otherwise very good.
There is a carrefour supermarket 10/15 minute walk which we stocked up from at the beginning of the holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to family room if you are going to use theindoor pool/spa/gym every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SunMan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ameet P,

We are relly happy to read that you had an excellent holiday in our Hotel Onabrava & Spa.
Thank you very much for your opinion, we hope to welcome you again in the future in Santa Susanna.

Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at Aqua Hotel Onabrava in late september. The hotel is located just by the train staion Santa Susanna. The area is very touristic, not so "spanish" and mostly big hotel complex

Got a good deal for a halfboard reservation. 50€ / night.

The hotel is very nice, clean. Big pool and pool area. A lot of sunbeds to chill on in the sun,

Got a room on the top floor, View inwards to the hotel to the other side (hotel is in 2 buildings, connected on first floor with reception) Room clean, but kind of small. Big balcony tough to enjoy the warmth from the sun. Had everything you need. Bathroom with bathtub

Restaurant / brekfeast area is on the -1 floor, so its very bad natural light. On my halfboard there was a buffetstyle dinner. A lot of diffrent choices of meets, potatos, rice, pastas, salads etc. Same on brekfeast, a lot of diffrent choices, hot food with bacon, sausages, beens, eggs etc and cold with bagels, yoghurts.

It´s a great place to relax on. Tough, keep in mind, the area is not typical spanish. Very touristic. A lot of elder people. But if you want to enjoy your holiday on half / fullboard style this could be a good place to enjoy that

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear David L,

We are happy to read that you found the facilities excellent in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
Whope to welcome you again on your next trip to Santa Susanna.

Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here in November (low season) for 2 nights.

Travelled up by train from Barcelona, train station in Santa Susanna is a short walk to hotel.

Stayed in a superior room (I think) which had a nice terrace, sea view and included unlimited access to the spa (which you usually need to pay for).

Room was nice and large, with large terrace and even a small garden outside one of the windows.

Bathroom included a jacuzzi bath which was a nice bonus although the shower temperature continually fluctuated which was disappointing.

Stayed on full board and overall food quality was ok (it was better at Caprici Verde, hotel next door which previously stayed at). However Nou Wok restaurant is a short walk away (next to Carrefour) which is the best buffett restaurant i have ever been to in Europe, and great value (10 euros for lunch).

The gym/spa is very new and very good. Nice warmish swimming pool, different temperature jacuzzis, tropical and arctic plunge pools and shower. Its a 5 star facility.

Reception/public areas are very good, lots of seating and nice airy atmosphere.

Overall, a very good hotel and would stay again - although would be eating out more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear CV76.

Thank you very much for your opinion and for recommending our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a good stay.
We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Santa Susanna.

Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

went for a long weekend and really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. The service was first class, rooms are big and very clean. The only downfall is the evening meal, it wasnt worth paying the price as the buffet didnt have that much choice and wasnt very nice but otherwise i will defo use this hotel again.. EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Don't go for evening meals here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzhoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Super hotel. Superb restaurant and food. Very friendly and professional staff. Would go back again but not in october. The spa was excellent. The reception staff were very helpfull when i missed my transfer. A taxi was ordered for me pronto.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazbahuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed here in the past a few years ago and thought the food was of a really high standard and a little better than the other hotels in the area, so we were willing to pay a bit extra to stay here. We could have got other 4 star hotels in the area for a lot less money, but thought it would be worth paying for a better standard of food.
When we stayed this time from 21st to 29th October, we were disappointed with the food and thought the standard had fallen from the last time we stayed here. The food was only average and no better than other 3 star hotels in the area we have stayed in. The breakfast in particular was quite poor, with little in the way of a british breakfast, and catered mostly for other nationalities.
We were disappointed that we did not receive the rooms we had requested overlooking the pool. When we asked reception if we could move rooms, they said come back tomorrow and we will move you to another room. When we went back the next day they said the same thing. This happened for the first 4 days of our stay, they kept saying come back tomorrow. In the end we gave up asking.
The Hotel itself is still very nice, but the food not as good as it used to be.

Room Tip: High floor rooms 4 or 5 overlooking pool for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing