We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good all round Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideal for couples , we chose this on the back of other TripAdvisor reviews , and we weren't disappointed ! The room, the staff and especially the food were all very good , as expected.
Our own silly fault, we missed our complimentary visit to their SPA / pool ,which finishes early at 1pm on a Sunday .. never mind, the outdoor pool is just as good, if a little 'fresh'.

The resort is OK, but not brilliant ..it's such a shame the hotel is not in the very best location, but I guess if it were, the price would be more .. you can't have everything , and it was very good value accom.(about £70 ppn HB)
Whilst not exactly on the sea front, you have to use one of the underpasses to get across the railway line between (most) of the hotels and the beach.. but then on the bright side, the town is about midway between Barcelona city and Girona airport ..which are both about an hour away. The station is about 2mins walk, with a good service passing through to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    541
    131
    44
    16
See reviews for
649
484
29
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Hotel is 1st Class..the staff are fantastic everywhere!The food is plentiful and spanish! which is so nice to see...lots of choice to suit every taste.....The outdoor pool is a little cold but clean. No! cannot fault the whole thing......Well! maybe one and this is NOTHING to do with the hotel...the place is a dump! It's Blackpool with sun full of tacky gift shops!
The train to Barcelona is a plus and only costs 8 euros return. You can get from station to station very cheaply...went to Blanes to walk into LLoret de Mar.....don't bother...
We were there for 2 weeks and we certainly made the most of it...did a lot of walking, enjoyed the sun and thank goodness for the beautiful hotel!! Very Busy!

Room Tip: Facing the pool you get a full view...around the sides you looking at each other...top floor good no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Homeground,
Thank you for writing such great comments about our hotel and staff.
We hope to welcome you very soon, it will be a pleasure for us.
Best regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here 7-12 Oct with Hubby & 7 Year old son.was greeted with a smile on check in which was all of 3 mins!! the coach journey from BCN was as long as the Flight from LBA to BCN! 2 hours by the time we a had found the coach waited for people to get on then stopped at calella.

The hotel is spotless its 11 years old so has a very new feel, once in the rooms they are like any other city hotel 2 double beds and a very small balcony, modern small bathroom with hairdryer which was fine (2 Speeds!) ours over looked the next hotel so not very private and a at 5am very noisy from the bins being emptied etc, you had to have balcony door open as it so hot in the room! i would go for a Pool View if i was booking again!

The buffet food had a huge selection, breakfast 8am-10am with bacon and eggs and all the Danish pasties and croissants you can eat. Dinner is 7pm-9.30pm again huge selection for fish ,pork and pasta, melon, ice tubs and cakes! wine is around 5.50 euro and water 1.70 euros.

The bar area is nice and the waiters come around asking you if you would like a drink small beer 2.10 and coffee 1.90

The pool is huge and very clean(a bit cold for me!!) ok if your hardy or aged 7!!!!, theres a place to get Mexican food from called La pergola, a pizza is 7.00 and a ham and cheese wrap 4.00euros burritos 8.00 euros or you can go to mini market again on site for a cheese salad bagette for just over 2.00 euros. They have wine from 1.85 euros!!!!!! and cava for 3.20euros
we though the prices were good for 4*

A guy who looked after the kids around the pool(didnt get his name) over 6 foot you cant miss him was great they played skittles and massive connect 4. there is a life guard around the pool which is nice to know.

The beach is reached through an underpass then through Bon Repos Camping! the beach was clean and the sea did dip down quite sudden but ok for 7 year old.

we took the train to BCN and it was good value and we found it easy to walk around and also took the hop on hop off bus for the major sights

We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again as the part where the hotel is, is new clean and pleasant to walk along, the further on you walk it gets into Malgrat De Mar not so new & not so Nice! The stalls on the promenade are great to visted after Dinner.(just outside the hotel)

Room Tip: Book pool view as they Must be the best???
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at Aqua Hotel Onabrava - hotel is very clean and well equipped, staff very helpful

Food was very good with plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner, though the restaurant does have a canteen feeling as it is geared to mass catering and not intimate dining.

Prices for drinks very reasonable, especially the hotel run mini-market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We travelled to the onabrava for some winter sun and the weather was very nice mid 20s and clear skies most days.There were 4 of us ranging 27 to 58.Santa sussana is very nice is quite quiet in October lots of hotel bars along the promenade but no real nice looking resteraunts. The beach was clean and always lots of space to lie. The hotel itself was immaculately clean and is very impressive looking. The main reason I mark this hotel 4 and not 5 is the dinning experience the resteraunt is clean Like everywhere else the service is average at best having to wait quite time for drinks or your plate to be clared. the food itself was good but quality was sometimes lacking there needed more options and would suggest themed nights to make a little more exciting. Considering what we paid I was pleased with our stay and would recommend to people in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Rich M,
Thank you very much for your opinion and for recommending our hotel.
We are pleased to read that you had a good stay.
It will be a pleasure to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went with Siesta Holidays to the Onabrava Hotel and it was an excellent holiday. The food, room and public areas were all very good. All the staff were very attentive and it was so convenient for the Train Station to get to Barcelona and the surrounding areas. The Train Company were doing a special combined price of 24 euros for a return train ticket and all day on the Blue Tour Buses which was great value. The promenade walk at night from the hotel was nice as there were stalls and entertainment all along the walkway into the main part. I would recommend the Wee Train trip as it takes you up to the hills behind the hotel. We enjoyed the entertainment at night or just having a glass of wine in the lounge. A great Hotel with very nice staff.

Room Tip: Higher than 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maunys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Maunys,
We are really happy to read that you had an excellent holiday in our establishment.
Thank you for writing such great comment and for mentioning the staff.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Best regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

the hotel itself was spotless and the staff worked hard, my issue was with the sheer size
which makes for too much traffic esp at meal times, selfish people kept me awake slamming doors, and making loads of noise consequently It did not make 4 a relaxing hol next time i go
away I will opt for a villa as have come back exhausted from lack of sleep from too much noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Kay G,
We are sorry to learn that your experience was not the one expected in our hotel.
We thank you for letting us know your opinion which helps us to improve.
We hope to have the chance to see you again in our establishment. It will be a pleasure to welcome you.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
Aqua Hotel Montagut Suites
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indalo Park
Hotel Indalo Park
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#10 of 21 in Santa Susanna
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#7 of 21 in Santa Susanna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa

Property: Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Address: Av. del Mar, 6, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Susanna
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an innovative design, this modern hotel has a relaxing feel designed for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Located 150 meters from the beach, these brightly decorated rooms are perfect to take in the Mediterranean climate and have all the facilities you could need in order to enjoy a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated meaning you can enjoy excellent sea views and has also got both indoor and outdoor parking available for guests. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing with a design to meet your needs ... The hotel can also offer its excellent meetings and events facilities which provide you with a personalized service and, with the help of our dedicated staff who aim to cater to all your needs, we can provide you with the best possible venue for your meetings, events, and banquets. During the day, guests can relax and unwind in our spectacular lobby area. Of an evening, you are welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment at the "Music Bar" whilst enjoying your favourite cocktail. Aqua Hotel Onabrava has a large buffet style restaurant. Here, you can enjoy a wide variety of Mediterranean cuisine and enjoy the various theme nights which include food from many parts of the world. As well as this, the restaurant has an open kitchen area where live cooking takes place on a regular basis. During the daytime, guests are free to relax in the outdoor pool which measures 400m2 with a jacuzzi area. The pool area is surrounded by gardens where you will also find "La Pergola", the poolside snack bar... Alternatively, guests are welcome to enjoy the outdoor shopping area which is situated directly in front of the hotel... The Aquafit SPA & FITNESS centre is the ideal place for relaxation where guests can enjoy various types of massages and treatments. Also, guests can relax in Aquafit's thermal circuit, bi-thermal showers, steam room, sauna, tropical shower, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. For those looking for a little more activity, guests are able to use the extensively equipped gym with a dedicated fitness area as well as take part in the various fitness classes available. A centre ideally equipped to keep your body and mind in perfect condition.In addition to this, guests can enjoy a variety of outdoor entertainment led by our dedicated entertainment team which also includes the Miniclub where your children are guaranteed to be kept amused and entertained at all time ... Don't hesitate any longer, make your dream holiday a reality ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Aqua Onabrava
Aqua Hotel Onabrava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing