We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a pretty standard Spanish hotel, food is of a fair standard but typically not very hot, rooms and facilities are clean, beach front location is very desirable. The bar staff are typical of an all inclusive hotel, you feel like a second class citizen. The staff in the restaurant are fantastic! If only the bar staff were any where near as polite and courteous the customer experience would be massively enhanced!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PickyfussyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear client,

We thank you for your positive review, and we can assure you that your comments regarding some not so good aspects of your holiday will be taken into consideration. We hope to see you again, we are sure that your experience would be even better.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for H.TOP Royal Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Me and girl friends stayed 3nts we loved it food was great service was great staff friendly things to do, evening entertainment was good ...Its on the beach short walk to shops,bars,clubs. Will return
D x

Room Tip: Make sure you get balcony room if your a smoker we forgot and it was a right pain to keep going out.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Dawn J,

Thank you so much for your nice review, we are very glad knowing that you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you soon, since your last visit we have had some improvements, such as new lifts and a fantastic new club right on the beach, the Sand Beach Club, with special offers for our clients.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

i stayed here for 5 nights with my autistic daughter. couldn't get over the fact they had branded spirits on the all inclusive. food wasn't too bad only one day it went down hill. you really need to either add a cider pump or include it on all inclusive. hotel staff were good the hair dryer didn't work in our room so within in 2 hours old one gone and replaced with a new one. would return for the location but take up the free shuttle bus to the other hotels if i went back we were told they had better food and some facilities. also beach hut they sell pizzas instead of being included. invest in a bbq and have burgers etc as your snacks instead of having to go to the restaurant. people complained about the card system but i figured it after a day

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lfrances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Lfrances,

We thank you for your nice review; we appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and the hotel’s location. Concerning our beach bar, we offer a discount to our clients, and the all inclusive drinks are also offered on this bar. We will take your comments into consideration, as they are an excellent tool in order to improve our services.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel dated but very clean and staff were great, fully inclusive was ok, drinks were great food was very bad, not hot, at best lukewarm and sometimes cold, gave us both the trots, had to be the food. We started eating out after a bit, toast and jam for breakfast. Also there was not a great deal of variety day to day.
Although they say they are fully air conditioned it was not turned on, even though for the 18 days we were there it was fairly hot most of the time. I believe that this hotel is at best a 3 star, not a 4 star.

Room Tip: Although dated they were ok, lots of noise early in the morning, dustmen at 5.30, and because the ai...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookable Holidays
2  Thank Paulus631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Paulus,

We thank you for review; we are taking into consideration both the positive and the negative comments. We are introducing new dishes on our daily buffet as we are trying to improve our client’s level of satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Arrived at hotel, check in no problem yes there is a 20 euro deposit for tv remote but you received it back when you handed it back at end of stay. (most hotels do this now ). The room was slightly dated but was clean and tidy , the beds were 2 single beds pushed together (why they were made up as single beds) and was very comfortable , nice view of beach from balcony, bathroom had a full size bath with a shower over the bath ,yes not modern , but fantastic water pressure and plenty of hot water , The rooms are cleaned and beds made every day I agree that you could hear noise from other rooms ,but that is quite common in hotels , but that isn’t hotels fault its down to guests ,12am all music is stopped and lights go out on balconies
The location is fantastic ,right on the beach , the beach bar you can only get drinks free on all inclusive, and if you wanted food you had to pay , but if you wanted food you had to go to restaurant which I preferred as some all-inclusive hotels had food outside all day in the heat and flies. I found the food good Breakfast there was choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants ,cakes ,toast, cheese and meats as well as boiled and fried eggs ,bacon, beans and sausages yes there was pigs cheeks on one day (which I didn’t try)but there was chicken , pork , fish and they also had veal and duck some days as well as cheese ham different salads ,soup, chips, rice ,pasta and sauce, potatoes and veg as well as bread rolls, fantastic choice of cakes, different flavoured whips , choice of jellies and a great choice of fresh fruit every lunch and evening meal, and yes there is some strange dishes but it is not all English people that stay there is French, Italian ,Spanish etc., there was always something to eat and personally I enjoyed the food and had a lot worse in hotels that were double the price. The snacks were often a small choice of what was on at breakfast and again afternoon snacks were similar to lunch etc., but I liked this idea as if you missed breakfast there was something proper for you to eat same if you missed lunch etc., but if you have breakfast ,lunch and tea you didn’t need the snacks, if you were out you could order a picnic which was water ,sandwich and fruit not exciting but they are never are at any hotel. There was a good choice of drinks including juice, cocktails , beer and good selection of spirits and you help yourself to coffee& tea at machine and you can have 2 drinks at a time and you get a card so you take your glasses back , if you want proper espresso ,filter coffee it is 1.60 euro which I thought was reasonable as I know how much proper coffee costs.
The entertainment was ok but we didn’t really bother with it as we enjoyed sitting outside , but it seemed ok there was activities available . The Htop group has its own bus and if you booked a day or so in advance they would pick you up at the hotel and take you to Calella or Lloret and you could use the other HTop hotels to have lunch or drink and there is no charge
I found it great value for money and have had a lot worse and paid a lot more money than I paid for this hotel and I wonder what people want as the price you pay for this all inclusive hotel in a beautiful location and resort as in UK you just about manage to to get a half decent B&B for the same price.
The only negative and this is nothing to do with hotel you have to walk down steps or go under subway to get to hotel from main stretch of Santa Susannah but there are ramps and its only a few minutes I enjoyed my holiday and will be returning to the Royal Sun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Sharon,

The title of your review is exactly what we pretend to be ; a really good value hotel in a fantastic location. We will pass it on to the guys in the marketing department!. We are very happy if you have enjoyed your holiday so much, and we thank you again for understanding our effort in order to please clients from different countries, which is not always easy.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in May.

Ignore all the bad/low reviews about this hotel, me & my partner had no problems with this hotel at all!

We arrived late at night and the receptionist was very helpful, quickly checked us in, room is nice and a good size. Decoration is fine, bed comfortable, shower good. No need for the tv so we didn't bother getting the remote control for 20 euro's.. who goes on holiday to watch tv anyway?

The food is buffet style, but we had no problems with finding something to eat that we both liked, there were many types of different foods available, many different puddings etc!! So yummy!!

The card system works well. U give them a card, and can get another drink when you've finished your drink etc etc you get your card back after you've finished at the bar. Some drinks like cocktails arent included in the all inclusive but they're only 2 euros each which is decent!

Staff were very helpful and always happy, entertainment was good, there was a lady entertainer every night, had a kids disco first then an adults one. There was a reptile show there one night and a latin couple singing another night who were amazing.

The beach is about 10 steps away from the bar, very clean where u have to return the cup to get your card back so nobody can dump rubbish etc... lovely shops nearby for soveniers. Two swimming pools.

Overall, very good holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would go back again in a few years!!!

So ignore all bad reviews as we had a lovely first holiday abroad as a couple! Thank you to all the staff at the Royal Sun!!

xx

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Lisa

We do thank you for your great review and for having chosen the H Top Royal Sun for your holiday. We are especially grateful for your comments regarding our staff, because that id our main concern. There is only one comment that we did not like: you said that you are planning to come back in a few years; we hope that you change your mind and come back sooner !!!

Thank you again and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Where to start. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and has put me off of all inclusive as this was the first time we had tried it. We arrived to be greeted by a rude middle aged man working at the reception who looked like he did not want to be there. Our room key was given to us and this is where we first came across the ' lifts '. These are pathetic and there is no order to the floors they stop at or direction they go in. They will drive you mad by the end of your stretch at this hotel, especially if you have a youngster in a push chair as you have no choice but to use them.
Once at our room we are greeted with a double room with two more beds in it and a put up cot. So that is four beds and a cot in a space the size of your average travel lodge room!!!! It also smelt of drains in there and this would be even worse at night. We would end up sleeping with the sliding door open to get rid of it but then my youngest, aged two would be woken up by the frequent trains going past right outside our room.The train track. This cuts the beech off from the rest of the resort and you need to find subways to get between the two. This is not the end of the world but is annoying especially with a push chair as the most direct routes are bridges with steps.
When I imagined all inclusive I thought of main meals at certain times and being able to get ice creams/ burgers/ hotdogs for the kids at the hut by the pool in between. No, you got a 20% discount at the pool bar so you had to wait for the meal times to feed the kids as the snacks were just warmed up old food from the previous meal times and were served down in the dungeon/dining room.
Overall we could not wait to get home and this place was such a let down. We consider ourselves to be very easy going people and after reading the reviews thought ' it can't be that bad '. Well it is!!!!! It maybe ok for all the old people that have been coming here for the last 30 years when it probably was a 4* hotel but times have moved on!!!!! My advice; spend a bit more money and go down to the costa blanca where you will have a much better time. Especially if you have a young family.

Room Tip: Get one in the hotel next door.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Jamie,

We are sorry to hear that you did not stay your holiday. We must say that we have done some improvements since last year; we have installed new lifts that worked perfectly. Being a large family we would like to recommend you to book two rooms, or you might prefer an appartement. We have another hotel in Santa Susanna, the H Top Royal Sun Suites, where the rooms are very spacious.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
877 reviews
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing