We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok!”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went as a family of four, two boys aged 9 and 3 for 1 week all inclusive in August 12. We arrived late at night about 11:45pm and there was no food available at all for us but luckily we ate on the plane. We were given an awful room on the ground floor with a view of the road with no balcony and large sliding windows with a sheer drop over the car park which didn't even lock! No good for young children. We had paid for a room with a balcony and we had to wait until the next afternoon to be moved which isn't ideal but didn't let it spoil things for us. We found the hotel ok but not four star even for Spanish standards. It felt like it was once quite grand but hasn't been updated lately but the hotel was very clean throughout. We found the food ok, not brilliant but not poor. Always plenty of choice but this is common with all inclusive. We found the card system not brilliant. We prefer the wrist band system. The room was sufficient and cleaned and made up daily. The lifts were temperamental with us often taking the stairs. The entertainment was so so. We preferred to leave the hotel in the evenings and walk down the Main Street. Plenty going on with stalls and children's entertainment and plenty of shops bars and restaurants. Great location right next to the beach however we found it not ideal for young children as the man made sea shelf drop is deep and sudden and my son was put off right away. Overall it was ok but we won't be returning here.

Room Tip: Sea view room would make it better! However room looking over the Main Street was good too?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mindy



We thank you for your review, and we are taking into consideration both your
positive and not so positive comments regarding our services. We appreciate
your comments regarding our cleanliness, food and location, and we apologize
if the first room assigned had not a nice view. We hope to see you again in
the future; we will make sure that you get a nice room from the very
beginning.



Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    360
    229
    144
    101
See reviews for
445
346
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I read most of the reviews re this Hotel, they were all very different, some good and some bad.
I went with x 2 Teenagers and x2 Adults.
Just a few hints re Hotel and resort. Its ok!! I have seen worse but been to better.

I can understand now why you had to walk a fair distance from the drop off point, the bridge over the railway line, was too low for a coach to pass underneath.
Reception staff were pleasant, and always happy to help. The Rooms were old, worn and quite basic. nothing to write home about. Fairly clean! if you dont mind a little dust in the corners, or not a change of sheets everyday! The hotel Mediterainim par..looked beautiful, posh and clean yet cheaper!!! oh yes it was checked it out. No kids though. too posh!!
The pool, it was a little small for size of hotel, although quite busy. Nice for the babes. I never used it.
The Locaton to beach was brill! but the beach was like an overflow of Benidorm! It was packed solid, The sea was not really kind for the younger kids, It had a deep sudden dip, and rough at times. Dont forget to pay for your sun bed/parasol at hotel reception, slightly cheaper than paying on the beach.
What really made my blood boil was the beach sellers, constantly....all the time.. annoying you trying to bargin you with, bits of crap. sunglasses, massages, scarfs, handbags. etc Worst than Turkey for pressure...I know things are hard spain but this is ruining your resort!! they were quite rude at times.
Now the all inclusive bar; given your drink in a plastic cup/beaker. Queueing in a designated spot for a drink while others whom pay, given priority and a glass! the service was almost like i was a nuscience.... you forget my friends, I paid before I came!!! Felt second class!!!
Food; cannot complain, choices for everyone, (always chips)It was as expected really. We ate well. The evening entertainment was very basic. Look around something you may like out there in other hotels.
Booked with an outside tour co for a Jeep safari..we got up early but the jeep safari people decided not to show!!! very poor!!
The boys went to Aquapark, they said it was ok. the nightclub locally was quite good. Also calella for shopping much better than local. the little tram/train went up into the Mountain..lovely view. The water falls just a 5 min stroll from hotel.... lovely for the kids to play in. Then a shop to Carffore/outlet. Wanted to go Bacelona just didnt make it! told it was a great trip.
I did meet some lovely people. Nice to be home today..sorry!!!! wont be going back.

Room Tip: Every room is the same size...Small!! Quieter over poolside and this will show the sea as well. jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brains15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your extended review; we appreciate your positive
comments regarding our food, our staff and our location. We will study your
comments regarding the all inclusive service, and we´ll try to improve that
point. We hope to see you back, and remember that being all inclusive you
can get a great discount booking any excursion, including the tour to
Barcelona.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for 6 days all inclusive, never been a 4* hotel in its life.. food was ok at best.. the lifts.. dont get me started, u wanted to go up and ud go down, stop on every floor on the way up or way down even with no1 getting on or off.. wont be going back !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Soraya,

We thank you for your comments and for your positive qualification (very
good). We apologize for any trouble caused by the lifts; it is true that at
peak hours sometimes the clients have to wait a bit, but hopefully that
problem will be solved very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is never a 4*. The best thing about it is its proximity to the beach. Otherwise it is definitely one to avoid completely. The room was very basic. From the balcony there were cars driving along the road underneath, a frequently used railway line and a main road, coupled with very noisy loud music until midnight. The food was poor and we ate out most of the time which added to an already expensive trip. The towels were thin and old. The bedding was old. There was mould in the bathroom. I had taken my daughter for a treat after finishing her degree and was embarrassed and extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for using Trip Advisor to share your comments with other travelers. We apologize if we were not able to make your stay enjoyable. We would like to see you again in the future; in that case remember that you have the option to book a room overlooking the sea, as the hotel is situated right in front of the beach.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

arrived at 11.30 am and had to wait till 12 to get the room, we waiting and was then checked in after about 10 other people that has arrived not log after us but were allowed to check in early?? we were then told cant have your all inclusive cards and it wont start till dinner time and to go to the room and "be happy with it". when we got to room it was awful stained bedding, door lock broke, smelled, went to reception to ask to talk with a manager and was told there was not one. Food was ok if you don't mind it cold. After a depressing night not being able to sleep due to entertainment (if you can call it that) and the trains and not to forget the "ding dong" airport tannoy system the hotel have we moved to a really nice 3* hotel up the road in blanes, was a lovely hotel in a great location. The royal sun is on the beach but be warned its not sand it gravely, u have to give your green card to get a drink and only when the plastic stained scratched cup is returned your allowed you car back, get charged 1.20 euro if u want water even though meant to be AI and cant use it on the outside bar. Pools tiny for size of hotel. there is a train track at back of hotel u have to cross this to get to shops and bars, it smells of urine and has lots of steps, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties or small children.

Room Tip: Chose a room in another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lisa,

We thank you for your review; we use every review as a positive tool in order to improve our services. Nonetheless, we cannot share some of your points:
· The check in time is 12.00, but we normally make the administrative procedures as soon as the clients arrive, that is why you thought that some clients were checking in before you. Anyway, 12.00 is a standard time for check in in any hotel; in fact it is quite usual to find hotel when the rooms are not given until 14.00.
· If you could not sleep it was not because of the entertainment, as it ends at midnight. The trains do not work at night, and we do not use any “ding dong” system.
· Santa Susanna beach is one of the nicest in the country, and we consider that our two outdoor pools are big enough, especially considering that the hotel is situated right on the beach.
· If you cross to the town center you can use the stairs (there are 7 steps), or you can use ramps to get there, so there is no need to take stairs if you have any walking problem.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading some of the reviews before we travelled, I was to say the least, a little bit apprehensive. However, within minutes of arriving, my frst thought was "where have these people been staying" because it could not possibly the Royal Sun Santa Susanna that these bad reports were about. Throughout our stay we found the staff pleasant, friendly and very helpful. A special thanks to Tony in the outside bar for helping us with our sons 8th birthday party. The hotel was always clean and the maid service in the rooms was second to none. The food was plentiful (there was hardly a time when you couldn't eat) and good, with lots of choices especially at dinner when there was a different theme every evening. The card system for drinks is an excellent idea as it meant no piles of pastic cups around the pool area as seems to be a feature of some all inclusive hotels.The entertainment was good and varied with something for everyone and the location was brilliant, where else can you sit in the bar area and watch the kids playing safely on the beach at midnight. I would definitely go back there, in fact, I have already checked out next years prices. A good time was had by all and none of us wanted to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phil P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr Phil,

Your review has made us extremely happy; I have already tell Tony (bar manager) and he does remember your party and does thank you for a positive comment, as everyone likes to be congratulated for a well done job. Your comments regarding our staff, our food, our entertainment and our location are very positive, obviously we expect to see you very soon at the Royal Sun. Please contact our booking department before coming; we would like to make sure that your next stay is as pleasant as this one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited in June and had mixed expectations after reading reviews.
Location perfect, right on the beach lovely, not so lovely if you get a room at the back by the railway line like us, and the noise from the hotels and disco's over the road. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff brilliant. Had fresh towels every day. All the bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. My friend was poorly one night and just wanted some yoghurt for dinner in the evening this was mentioned and the next thing the manager had gone to the kitchen and bought her some. I could not fault the service its just a shame the staff have to put up with some really rude people.
It was not warm enough to eat outside and sit out in the evenings which was unfortunite as the room where the entertainment was, was horrible and all sitting close together not my cup of tea at all.
The inclusive card system they have works well and although never come across this before is good, the fact the drinks are watered down so much is not so good If you want a good drink dont bother here. This hotel is in need of a refurbishment and needs some money spent on it, there is a new hotel next door that knocks the spots of the royal sun im afraid and this is just a average cheap 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the front as really noisy at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highmaintenance38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear client,

We thank you for having shared your comments with the rest of the Trip advisor community. We are very pleased with your comments regarding our cleanliness and our staff; it makes us very proud for having coped with your expectations. Also, we expect to make some improvements in the hotel very soon, we hope to see you again so you would be able to find it out yourself.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
851 reviews
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#65 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Property: H.TOP Royal Sun
Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing