We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect a 4* expect a 1* and you wont be disappointed”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed August 22, 2013

arrived at 11.30 am and had to wait till 12 to get the room, we waiting and was then checked in after about 10 other people that has arrived not log after us but were allowed to check in early?? we were then told cant have your all inclusive cards and it wont start till dinner time and to go to the room and "be happy with it". when we got to room it was awful stained bedding, door lock broke, smelled, went to reception to ask to talk with a manager and was told there was not one. Food was ok if you don't mind it cold. After a depressing night not being able to sleep due to entertainment (if you can call it that) and the trains and not to forget the "ding dong" airport tannoy system the hotel have we moved to a really nice 3* hotel up the road in blanes, was a lovely hotel in a great location. The royal sun is on the beach but be warned its not sand it gravely, u have to give your green card to get a drink and only when the plastic stained scratched cup is returned your allowed you car back, get charged 1.20 euro if u want water even though meant to be AI and cant use it on the outside bar. Pools tiny for size of hotel. there is a train track at back of hotel u have to cross this to get to shops and bars, it smells of urine and has lots of steps, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties or small children.

Room Tip: Chose a room in another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Lisa,

We thank you for your review; we use every review as a positive tool in order to improve our services. Nonetheless, we cannot share some of your points:
· The check in time is 12.00, but we normally make the administrative procedures as soon as the clients arrive, that is why you thought that some clients were checking in before you. Anyway, 12.00 is a standard time for check in in any hotel; in fact it is quite usual to find hotel when the rooms are not given until 14.00.
· If you could not sleep it was not because of the entertainment, as it ends at midnight. The trains do not work at night, and we do not use any “ding dong” system.
· Santa Susanna beach is one of the nicest in the country, and we consider that our two outdoor pools are big enough, especially considering that the hotel is situated right on the beach.
· If you cross to the town center you can use the stairs (there are 7 steps), or you can use ramps to get there, so there is no need to take stairs if you have any walking problem.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for H.TOP Royal Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading some of the reviews before we travelled, I was to say the least, a little bit apprehensive. However, within minutes of arriving, my frst thought was "where have these people been staying" because it could not possibly the Royal Sun Santa Susanna that these bad reports were about. Throughout our stay we found the staff pleasant, friendly and very helpful. A special thanks to Tony in the outside bar for helping us with our sons 8th birthday party. The hotel was always clean and the maid service in the rooms was second to none. The food was plentiful (there was hardly a time when you couldn't eat) and good, with lots of choices especially at dinner when there was a different theme every evening. The card system for drinks is an excellent idea as it meant no piles of pastic cups around the pool area as seems to be a feature of some all inclusive hotels.The entertainment was good and varied with something for everyone and the location was brilliant, where else can you sit in the bar area and watch the kids playing safely on the beach at midnight. I would definitely go back there, in fact, I have already checked out next years prices. A good time was had by all and none of us wanted to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Phil P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mr Phil,

Your review has made us extremely happy; I have already tell Tony (bar manager) and he does remember your party and does thank you for a positive comment, as everyone likes to be congratulated for a well done job. Your comments regarding our staff, our food, our entertainment and our location are very positive, obviously we expect to see you very soon at the Royal Sun. Please contact our booking department before coming; we would like to make sure that your next stay is as pleasant as this one.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited in June and had mixed expectations after reading reviews.
Location perfect, right on the beach lovely, not so lovely if you get a room at the back by the railway line like us, and the noise from the hotels and disco's over the road. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff brilliant. Had fresh towels every day. All the bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. My friend was poorly one night and just wanted some yoghurt for dinner in the evening this was mentioned and the next thing the manager had gone to the kitchen and bought her some. I could not fault the service its just a shame the staff have to put up with some really rude people.
It was not warm enough to eat outside and sit out in the evenings which was unfortunite as the room where the entertainment was, was horrible and all sitting close together not my cup of tea at all.
The inclusive card system they have works well and although never come across this before is good, the fact the drinks are watered down so much is not so good If you want a good drink dont bother here. This hotel is in need of a refurbishment and needs some money spent on it, there is a new hotel next door that knocks the spots of the royal sun im afraid and this is just a average cheap 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the front as really noisy at the back.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highmaintenance38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear client,

We thank you for having shared your comments with the rest of the Trip advisor community. We are very pleased with your comments regarding our cleanliness and our staff; it makes us very proud for having coped with your expectations. Also, we expect to make some improvements in the hotel very soon, we hope to see you again so you would be able to find it out yourself.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a great week all inclusive at this hotel 30th July -6th August. Room clean and tidy. Staff polite and eager to please. Super beach location. Food was good and plentiful. Evening entertainment was above average.Some of the other guests quite rude.....letting doors swing back, jostling, stepping on toes and not saying sorry. Some guests going to bar with all inclusive cards and just saying beer wine cola etc and not even saying please. Plenty of sunbeds and chairs as well. Would go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Mr Ian,

We are really glad knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always are happy knowing that our clients find our staff polite and helpful; as we consider that it is the only way to make a difference. After reading your comments concerning our location, our staff, our food and our entertainment we hope to see you again as soon as possible; please do contact our booking reservation as we would like to make sure that your next stay is as good as the first one.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned and loved it. We have stayed here several times and have always had a good experience.
Unfotunately my credit card was charged three times because the machine was faulty. The staff couldn't have done any more. They were brilliant. A special thanks to Anna, Fernando and Conrad.
The room was clean and fresh. More toiletries than you could ever use. Thankyou Monica x
The bar staff are brilliant. They have just forgotten to tell their faces that they are happy. A big thanks to Tony, Daniel and George.
On Mum's birthday I was upset that I couldn't take her out for a special meal to celebrate her 75th (because of the credit card situation). In comes Jamie in the restaurant. Good sparkling wine on the table with ice bucket and all the dressings - he even came out with a cake and candles. We love you Jamie x
We have already booked to go back in October with friends.
If you want a cheap and cheerful holiday - BOOK NOW!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Back rooms overlook railwayline
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Alistair

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic comment , but we thank you especially for having become part of our family along these years. We are looking forward to see you again in October (and Miss Helen), the weather will be cooler but we will try to make your stay as nice as possible.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great holiday at Top Royal Sun Suites,The hotel was spotless food was good and the staff are brilliant and nothing is a problem. Our room was lovely with a flat screen t.v, and well needed air conditioning. Manell on reception was brilliant and was happy to help with anything we needed. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights all inclusive.This hotel has received negative reviews, however our stay was a very positive experience from check in. The staff were all very pleasant and polite. A special mention should be given to Konrad at reception for his friendliness and enthusiasm and Jonathan in the outside bar area for his industriousness. The food was perfectly acceptable with varied meat and fish dishes, fresh fruit and puddings each day. There was plenty choice for breakfast, lunch and evening meal - anybody who complains about the food must be very fastidious. Although our room was basic, it was very clean with sheets and towels changed daily. H top hotels provide a free shuttle bus which we used to visit other areas of the costa brava.( NOTE- you must book the day before). Lunch is provided at each H top hotel you visit in each area. By far the best feature of Royal Sun is the beach front location. The only negative aspect was the card scheme for all inclusive guests. Only one drink allowed per card. It is understandable, however hearty drinkers may get fed up standing to queue. We do plan to return in the future though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Shirley Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H.TOP Royal Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Miss Shirley,

We do thank you for positive opinion; we are especially happy knowing that our staff was efficient and pleasant, that is undoubtely our main target. We have already told Konrad and Jonathan about your comments; they are really grateful and happy. We are sure that you will be coming again in the very next future; please contact our booking department as soon as you have booked; we will make the necessary to make your next stay as enjoyable as the first one.

Thank you vey much indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
876 reviews
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing