We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel if you want a nice holiday”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel if you want a nice holiday”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

To start with I don't
Normally moan about nothin but this hotel is horrendous! We arrived after booking a family room as myself and my partner was travaling with 3 children on arrival we was told they don't even have family rooms just standard double's so we ended up with 4 singles and a cot crammed into a tiny space! The room was covered with ants the heating didnt work the phone didnt work and when it rained it came in running down the inside of the windows! We paid for wi-fi which also didn't work! The staff were very unhelpful and basically told us to get on with it! The lifts are diabolical very slow and we also got trapped in one witch upset my children! The all inclusive is terrible we was only allowed one small plastic beaker to use and if you forgot to take it back to the bar even if you have Qued for over half hour you are turned away bar staff are very rude and very slow! There was also a new hotel being built right next door so very loud all day every day (even Sunday) this 4* hotel should be a rated as a 1-2* we shall NEVER be returning again and would advise every one to avoid!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astra0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    360
    229
    143
    99
See reviews for
443
345
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed from 18th to 25th april 2013 i must say this hotel stay was realy nice and i would go back,
the hotel has a policy of giving you two cards one you give to the bar tender and the other you use to get your drink, then you take your empty glass back and get a fresh glass and drink, you are ment to only get one drink per card, but i never had any problems getting more than one drink as long as you had the extra glass,

we found the food to be reasonabley well,
the rooms were ok except the walls are very thin as you can hear some talking even if they are quiet,

remember you can use all other h top hotels in cost brava for lunch and drinks, and the train is realy cheap,

my only problem is the french people who i have never had problems with in the past, could be they were O.A.P.S but they just barge past you then expect you to move for them,

they don't have a spa or fitness center

Room Tip: get a pool view and if you see a spare glass keep it then you can get two drinks with just one card
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boss4262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at this hotel at 11pm at night, just me and my sister. When we got to the hotel the guy at reception advised me that the hotel had made a mistake and that even though my paperwork clearly stated I was to stay at the royal sun, this guy told me I was booked into the royal sun suits! He told me "this no different, you go there" . I explained I am very poorly and virtually unable to walk and I am clostrophobic the for I could not stay at the royal sun as there pool was on the roof and I would not be able to get to it, hence booking the royal sun not the sun suits.
The reception guy shook his head at me and told me to "go now". I asked if he could get me to the other hotel? His reply was " no no you walk, I very busy, you go now".
I was completely appalled, I had to walk across town, under railway bridges with no idea where I was going at nearly midnight in a strange place and had to stop every 2 min due to the pain of walking.
WILL NEVER VISIT HTOP AGAIN!!!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just arrive back from this hotel. Charged 99 cents per person a night tourist tax. The room was facing FERGUS Mar Mediterrania hotel that is presently being refurbished and was noisy between 7am - 10pm.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clint017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. The restaurant staff were frankly superb. I have Coeliac Disease and require a gluten free diet, this usually means I have a very restricted diet when on holiday but I mentioned it on my booking form and they really went out of their way to provide me with specially prepared meals, gluten free bread, cakes, pasta and croissants. I have never been so well looked after and the general buffet food was also excellent.

In all, we were very impressed with this hotel. It was a little noisy from a building site next door but it looked like the major works were almost finished, we still had a sea view and it didn't disturb us.

The season was just starting when we went and weather was pretty naff. We couldn't sit by the beach or the pool and didn't find an awful lot to do in Santa Suzanna but the hotel staff helped us to arrange train trips to Barcelona and nearby towns. The trains are regular and reasonably priced so in high summer there should be plenty of things to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this short break as a last minute trip to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel had a 1970's retro feel and evidently needed updating. Our room was dated but clean and had a lovely view of the sea and beach, which was pleasant. The fact that the hotel is right on the beach is great. The hotel I would rate as a 2 star and definitely not a 4, but with respect we didn't pay a lot of money to stay there. The food was average and what you would expect from an all inclusive hotel of this standard. The cocktails were great and cocktails not included in the 'all inclusive' were reasonably priced. The bar area was a little small for the amount of guests staying although we managed to get a seat each evening. The general atmosphere of the hotel was friendly and the staff were helpful and polite. The local train station was 5 minute walk from the hotel and is a pleasant hour's journey to Barcelona. Santa Susanna is a pleasant place to spend a few days and the hotel is fine for the amount of money we paid. I do feel the same as other reviewers that if you are expecting a 4 star you will be disappointed, however if you are realistic about what you paid for your break then you should have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiejo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself daughter and grand daughter have just returned from a week at this hotel.
We had a fantastic time.
We went all inclusive, there was a good variety at meal times.
It is right on the beach and very beautiful scenery.
A minority of the reception staff are miserable but most off them were lovely the bar staff and house cleaners are friendly, but the best staff are the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant are lovely always pleasant and kind.
But best of all we had lovely sunny weather.
There's lots to do out of the hotel to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Susanna hotels
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
849 reviews
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Property: H.TOP Royal Sun
Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing