We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of March 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“End of March 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this all inclusive holiday last minute for me and my boyfriend both 19 years old because it was cheap and cheerful with a gorgeous view of the beach. I did look at the reviews but they were mixed. As we entered the 4* hotel reception gave us a 14 euro bill for tourist tax which we thought was naughty of them as we already paid for the hotel through onthebeach.com. We also rented out a safe which was 38 euros as we overheard a couple mentioning her bag got pinched in the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy I couldn't say a bad word as the cleaners were wonderful. The food was standard, chips everyday and the snacks were left overs. The staff couldn't speak much English which was frustrating. The bar staff were very grumpy and made us feel awkward apart from one young man who was always singing and dancing behind the bar, also there was a big notice on the bar saying 'If you exceed your card limit, your card will be taken off you' this hotel had silly rules considering it was suppose to be all inclusive. You could only get one drink per a card and we had another card which we hat to hand in to get a glass and once you returned your glass you get your card back, it was so confusing. We took a trip to a hotel down the road which was called 'Onabrava hotel 4*' it was gorgeous, the staff were very helpful and we had an amazing time in the spa which was only 5 euros. Beware they are building another hotel next door to H.Top Royal Sun which thankfully we didn't hear them building but a couple we met couldn't get any sleep as they are working 24/7. We didn't have amazing weather as it was raining most of the time and the spanish were wrapped up in thermals.l I wouldn't come back to this hotel and I don't see why most couples/families go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisOxenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    337
    217
    135
    91
See reviews for
407
328
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having seen some of the previous reviews, it makes me wonder what people are looking for. The food at night had a chicken dish, a fish dish, pasta & sauce and either veal or lamb or beef as well as all your salad stuff. For a hotel that has 2-300 guests, don't you think the bar can get busy? The staff were very friendly to us, so, perhaps, what you give you get! All in all, a very enjoyable break and , in my opinion, very good value!

Room Tip: Sea view a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 940SamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having been here before and didnt think for what we paid it was to bad for a short break, however if you like a drink steer clear you have a glass card so can only get one drink and have to take your glass back which isn't to bad but the quees were horrendous and its only April also all the spirits are now on optics so a very small measure also they've changed brands and all the spirits are only 25%, food is ok and not to bad a choice good location on the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wannaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

First impressions are the hotel is clean and fairly comfortable. Our room was small and basic but o.k. however we looked out at a hotel that is being refurbished and had to put up with building site noise from 8:30 every morning (even weekends) until 18:00 each evening - no holiday lie ins for us. We couldn't be moved as we were told the hotel was fully booked (lots of school trips). The strict drink system is unnecessary, they have a strict 2 drink per person policy (as long as you had two cards) and you also need different cards to have a glass. Drinks are served in small plastic beakers and bar staff are very miserable and make you feel uncomfortable when you ask for a drink - seeing as its the start of the season this is a bit worrying!!

The food was extremely poor and we struggled to find a meal that we were happy with, this is really unusual for my family as we are not fussy eaters and regularly use A.I hotels. If you want a snack between meal times these are only available in the basement restaurant and you can't take food out of here yet they don't serve drinks with snacks therefore you can't have something to eat and drink together - a bit strange!!

Reception staff were fine to me and my husband, but rude to children if they were unaccompanied. My daughter tried to buy a wifi access card at reception a number of times and was told it was out of order, i went up literally 5 mins after she was told this and they sold it to me. They also said 'what do you want now' when she politely asked for our room key and then turned on the smile when they realised i was with her.

This hotel is def. not 4* ; it may have been when it opened in the 70s but the staff and food are letting down this fab beach location. My family and friends wont return or recommended this hotel, however would def. consider santa susana again.

The train station is mins walk from the hotel and costs 9 euro return to barcelona this is good value for a great day out.

Room Tip: Request pool view - away from hotel that is being refurbed next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaponicaRosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Susanna hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

im not a fussy eprson but the food in the hotel left even me struggling was not great choice of salads and same ham cheese daily, breakfast was the best meal they offwered as was good choice, rooms was great for a stay as had everything you needed, staff where friendly which makes it a better holiday and dealt with our requests promplty,pools was lovely sadly closed but is perfect for siting nar bachj to use when open another down side not lot chairs for sitting outside so can be hard if you want sit in sun to find place ,the all inclusive was very restirctive only 2 drinks per person and you must have you cards with you to get drink and bring you glass back to be served another drink , resort itself clean bright and good shops and markets would visit resort again but defo not this hotel

Room Tip: top floor better get great veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0mble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a posh hotel at a good price from the h top hotel group . It is actually on the beach. With aic beach bar in sight of beach. Nice staff . near rail station. f r ee bus to take you to other hotels and resorts.

Room Tip: ask for beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nobbyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself snd my 7 year old daughtar went for a week at the end of October 2012
The first night it was like a war zone outside from spanish nightclubbers on there way home.
After that it got better no noise at all
The hotel is clean the food was ok not the best and im not a fussy eater the cakes were fantasic though.
The hotel is right on the beach
Bar staff were friendly but wont be rushed
The entertainment staff were great with the kids
An all round pleasant stay
The weather was poor but it was nearly November but we made the most of it.
In peak season it would be a great place with lots to do
Go you will enjoy it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wecoolanycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun Suites
H.TOP Royal Sun Suites
#20 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#18 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Susanna Resort
Santa Susanna Resort
#15 of 21 in Santa Susanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Property: H.TOP Royal Sun
Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing