We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not.”
Review of H.TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Sun
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to htop royal sun for three nights via on the beach.
As a whole, on the beach ---> transfers not great, lengthy time and not faxed through departure time! Ryan air did not provide great service but thats just me whinging!
The hotel was absolutely fine! Cleaned everyday if you want towels changing that can be done by leaving them in the bath, the shower is like a tap you'd see in a third world country but did not bother us as we went to enjoy ourselves and not pick faults! You can still wash.
Very basic, a little dated and clean enough for a few days.
Location is right on the beach (great!) beach is lush, lots of people looking to offer you a massage, which we accepted and thouroughly enjoy although a little annoying as all you hear is hello massage, people selling fruit and knock off stuff also wandering about, be polite they are only trying to earn a living!!!
The food is, personally diabolical, we lived off chips or ate out. We are not fussy but ... dear me.
Wouldn't recommend all inc, the drinks are local if you want important, i.e normal safe drinks you pay a small price; however you can get an upgrade of a gold card if thats something you'd benefit from. If your're looking for entertainment there is very little in hotel; again doesn't bother us as went to spend time with each other!
two pools, rather chillly, just get to the beach!
Lots of nearby shops and cute bars, few places to eat.
For what you pay for this isn't a bad hotel, in a good location (apart from the undercrossing with the train) but you get used to it!
Enjoy yourself your'e on holiday!

Room Tip: High for the view, beware, there are 6 floors and three elavators, so make sure you either like to w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for H.TOP Royal Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

hi stayed here for a week with my husband sister and brother in-law had a great time hotel clean my husband said bar man in restaurant was a really chatty made an effort to greet everyone by name and in their own language, impressed him by his welsh! hotel right on beach lovely setting though sand is rather gritty. something for everyone to eat in restaurant.stayed at many h top hotels this was the best, as someone said sun doesn`t stay on sun terrace or pool for long but so close to beach didn`t matter sea quite deep drop and choppy. Train line at back of hotel didnt bother us, cheap to use the train, station not far up the road, and they have some lovely stalls out on the street at night with crafts and gifts etc . People will always moan about something but we all paid £350 each all inclusive for the week for our hols inc transfers and airport parking, and think we had a good deal with what we paid .
We all would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wickedwendy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Definitely not a 4-star hotel. Maybe if you were there in 1982!!! Dirty room upon arrival, cigarette ends on the balcony (from previous guests), smelly beds, dated and damaged furniture, less than average food and do not let me start on lifts. Waiting for 10 - 15 minutes at times and doors closing as you were coming in ( have couple bruises on arms). We were there with our 20-months daughter and was scared to death as she was going into the lift and doors were starting to close. No way it would pass health and safety regulation in England. Outside pool was cold and seen sun for about 2 hours per day. Some staff friendly but staff in outside bar made so much effort not to notice you it was beyond believe. Program during the day - none (if I dont count playig cards) and very poor in the evening. On the plus side - good sangria,beer and location - right on the beach with great sea. Will definitely not come back again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive at start of September and it couldn't have went any better! The main street is behind the hotel with restaurants,bars,shops an stalls an the beach is at the front. Food was fine an free drinks is fantastic. Staff were brilliant an helped with everything we asked. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walls_f_jericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights at this 4star H.Top hotel and can only say we were very dissapointed with this hotel we have stayed in other H.Top hotels before and can only say that there are better than this the food was poor compared to others ( Pineda Palace) being one.The hotel itself was very clean but tired do not go expecting SUN on the pool all day it doesn't show at all on the sun beds till after dinner.The other killer was the weather cold and windy but you cant do anything about that. The hotel itself has plenty of outdoor seating with a bar right on the beach but this closed on the 11th Sept. every night at 5.pm because it was the end of season so all entertainment of which the magician was the best was inside not what we expected as we enjoy the outdoor leisurely drinking mode. Suffice to say we would not be returning to this hotel again.On the subject of food you had better enjoy Pork ,Rabbit or Turkey but not as we know it breakfast being the best offer of the day. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned (several weeks) from a 7 day “family” holiday. The family was comprised of myself, my 4 year old son and my parents.
Firstly, the hotel was not as bad as other reviews have expressed. It is gaudy and had these amazing gold mirrored pyramids hanging from the basement restaurant ceiling. Proper 70’s glamour!!!
The hotel is tired and gaudy but, is clean and tidy. The cleaning starts around 17:00.
The reception staff are not the friendliest, but they do get the job done. However, all the bar staff and catering staff were pretty good and made the holiday a great laugh as my son was very much the centre of attention for them.
The food; sorry, but my family take food seriously. We are food geeks. We like good quality authentic food from where we are staying. This is our first “package” holiday since 1996!!!!
I can’t fault it. It isn’t to the Roux brother’s standard, but I didn’t expect Michelin starred cuisine. We had regular fresh salad and some actually Catalan fair. Most memorable would be the Catalan sausage was pretty good with cannellini beans. My son made short work of these!!
There is some “recycling” done, but to be honest for a 4* all-inclusive in Spain I wouldn’t expect anything more. Breakfast was the normal hotel fair. The lunch was pretty good and the dinner was good too. My son actually eat something most nights. There was a child’s buffet but, this is pretty crap. Chips!!!!
The pool was basic, and cold!! The architect had not planned a good pool placement!!! But, it worked.
The bedroom, again just worked. 4 single beds, 1 bathroom. Enough said. No major fights!!! The room was clean-ish, but the floor did need a good wash. We also had a balcony over-looking the train line. My son likes trains, so this was fine. I think it ran from 6:30 till around 22:30. It is the Blanes to Barcelona line so a quick train.
The hotel, the food and staff all worked well, but it is defiantly not going to set the world on fire for high standards or amazing cuisine.
For me the greatest disappointment was the area it’s self. Santa Susassana. The beach was comprised of very sharp sand and the beech had a “shelf” into the sea so this caused good waves for kids to jump but after several paces in and you could be up to you neck. I never went too deep as on parent duty. I can surf and swim well so have a respect for the sea and was cautious with the drop and my son.
The resort was just a complex of hotels, no real life. The one thing we did was the Blue train which was on the main promenade. This winds itself to the hills with some stunning houses and a Catalayan Ville. This was aiming to become a working farm and teach children about agricultural history. You did get a free glass of wine and the white is pretty nice.
Would I go again? No, done it. Move on. But if you are thinking of going and my maybe hire a car? Also the train to Barcelona is easy, takes about 1.20min train ride and only costs 8 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

On first arrival, the rooms had been booked incorrectly was supposed to be me and 3 kids in 1 room and my parents in another room, instead 2 rooms of 3 had been reserved. Kids knocked something under the bed and when they got it out it was covered in fluff and dust that hadnt been cleaned. Rooms were supposed cleaned every day yet floors very dusty with previous days dirt and baths only ever looked like they had been rinsed out. The restaurant is ok as long as you like pork, pork and more pork for lunch and dinner and chips with everything including breakfast, the food was rarely above lukewarm. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, the beack is nice and the staff are good. The animation staff for the kids club and entertainment are fantastic but definitely would not go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Susanna
0.2 mi away
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
HTOP Royal Sun Suites Superior
#19 of 21 in Santa Susanna
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
877 reviews
7.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#75 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Sun

Address: Passeig Maritim S/N, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H•TOP Royal Sun hotel sits on the seafront promenade in the peaceful tourist village of Santa Susanna in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona, overlooking a beautiful beach. Positioned really close to the train station, bars, restaurants and shops, it is perfect for singles, couples and families. The 217-room offer a wonderful sea view and many onsite facilities, such as a Beach Restaurant only for clients and discounts in the Sand Beach Club situated just in front. It is situated 70 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 30 Km from Girona Airport. Santa Susanna is a family tourist destination with an impressive long sand beach and a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Santa Susanna sits between the popular beach villages of Calella & Lloret de Mar, with an easy access by train to Barcelona city center. Clients from H•TOP Royal Sun have an exclusive burger-bar by the beach and can visit Sand Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces Children • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Discounts Sand Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H.TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
h Top Royal Sun
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing