We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No heating, no hot water, poor service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casamar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Llafranc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No heating, no hot water, poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

This is a 2 star hotel located in a tiny beautiful sea village in Costa Brava. The only good thing about the hotel are the views. The hotel is a family business but very badly run. The owners focus their efforts on the restaurant while neglecting the hotel. Four examples:

- It is impossible to take a shower after 9pm, since the hot water works with solar panels. But nobody tells you that, so you discover it once you are inside the shower. The funny thing is that in the morning there was no hot water either (it was only slightly warm). When we complained to the receptionist, he told us "well, the hotel guide in your room advises about the water". So now we need to read a book before taking a shower....

- Our room was very cold (November) and the heating was not turned on. We asked the recepcionist to turn it on and the manager told her "yes, but only a little bit". That was shocking for us, taking into account that the reception was pleasantly warm. After a while they turned it off again, and our room kept cold for the rest of the night. I asked them to keep the heating on, but they never did that.

- The room was narrow, the furniture was uncomfortable (mattresses are horrible) and the telephone was not working, so every time we had to communicate with reception, we had to go downstairs. [We attach a picture of the room]

- We had made a booking for the restaurant at 9.30 pm. Even though this is an expensive restaurant (about 70 EUR per person), we were asked to wait about 12 minutes before we got our table. Also, once dinning, the couple next to us had finished their dinner and was having coffee when the maitre told them to leave "when they were ready, no rush" in order to make room for other people.

We have been in a 4star hotel in the centre of Madrid for 8 euros more than we have paid for this 2 star hotel. Owners of the Casamar are unpleasant and they treat you as they were making you a favor. Prices correspond to a 3 star hotel, but this is a 2 star hotel deserving only 1star.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    46
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

we came here for the resaurant, we were not staying at the hotel. Wow! the food was brilliant, absolutely superb at very reasonable prices. It has recently been redecorated and fitted out and is very comfotable and the restaurant is run by the son and daughter of the owner, extremelt good service, nothing to fault it. only problem is that if you want to go at the week-end in the summer you have to books a table weeks ahead. This is THE restaurant to visit if you are staying anywhere in the Palamos/Gerona/Llfranc area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank SebDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely hotel on the Costa Brava and I can honestly say we loved the place.
There were absolutely no draw backs at all as far as we were concerned and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in this area.
The only potential problem here is that there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms,which wasn't a problem for us in October,but I guess in the hot Summer season air con.is a priority in this region.
Our room had a sea view with balcony which we requested when we booked directly with them on the web.and I have to say that it wasn't the biggest room we have stayed in,but it was clean and comfortable and suited us for the 5 nights we were there.Towels are changed daily if requested-usual thing,towel left in bath indicates it needs replacing.
We dined in the hotel's restaurant just the once and although it was a little pricey,the food was very good indeed,just as our continental buffet breakfasts were each day .
All in all I would say this hotel is excellent value for money and I can only speak highly of this establishment

  • Liked — Cleanliness,location,value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay in Casamar hotel, Llafranc and we will definitely be back when I can finalise next year's holidays at work.

While the rooms are small but adequate, the food is what makes this hotel fantastic. We would normally eat at different places on holiday but we had read the reviews on the restaurant here and decided to take dinner on two nights. We later added on 2 more nights for half-board and what a treat! Even though we had taken a fixed menu as residents, it was one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in and excellent value.

Breakfasts were also a treat and even though it is rated a 2-star hotel the service and breakfasts were much better than a 4-star establishment in Barcelona where we stayed at the end of the holiday. What a find.

We never go back to the same hotel on holiday but this time we will.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sagababenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

The charming Hotel Casamar in Llafranc has one of the best positions in this delightful small bay on the Costa Brava. Although only rated as a two star hotel the Casamar is very comfortable. The room was clean and functional, and the bathroom of a very good standard. What makes this hotel so attractive is the location; the terrace for dining, and the friendly, helpful staff and owner. Situated at one end of the bay, at the top of a small hill, the view of Llafranc is wonderful, with the beach being a two minute walk away. Opening the curtains each morning (we had a sea facing room with small terrace) the sun sparkled on a clear blue and turquoise sea, flecked with small boats, whilst holidaymakers strolled leisurely along the pretty promenade.

We were not staying as halfboard guests and had not thought to reserve a table for dinner for the night of our arrival. As it was high season...end of July, and the restaurant very popular, they were unable to accommodate us for dinner in the evenings. However, later in the week, due to a cancellation, we were able to have dinner which was extremely good.
A buffet breakfast is available on the terrace every morning, and provides a choice of fruits, cereals, croissants, bread, or cold meats, tortilla, eggs etc. If you are looking for a small, comfortable, unpretentious, professionally run family hotel with excellent food in one of the most beautiful areas of Spain, then this is for you!

  • Liked — small hotel, location, food, helpful staff
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in room; coffee or tea for b/fst served in individual cups. Pot of coffee & milk left on table much preferred.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gillilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We have been staying at the Casamar for about 6 years and this is no time at all compared to many of the regulars who have been returning for decades.

It's almost perfect, excellent location, small, family run, friendly and welcoming staff, great food (the half-board deal is a bargain), a pleasant bar, great breakfast on the terrace with stunning views and generally good value for money. When the owners start 'improving' the rooms and adding air conditioning that's probably the time we'll have to rethink our visits as the prices may well become out of our reach. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are pretty good, most have balconies and nice views and the showers work well. I really don't understand when people grumble about places like this without acknowledging the cheapness, rooms in similar hotels in Llafranc with aircon' are much more expensive.

I was sorry to read the review by the chap who was disappointed that he didn't have a reservation but I'm not sure I'd ever go to an hotel without taking a copy of the booking confirmation. You surely shouldn't rely on a telephone conversation with a member of staff whose first language isn't English unless, of course, you speak perfect Catalan?

The area is splendid, Llafranc itself is small and family friendly with a great beach. Nice walks around the coast to Calella and plenty of towns and villages in easy drivable reach.

Anyway, we love the place and will be going back.

Roger and Maggie Burton

  • Liked — The staff, the food and wine, the views and the location.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Following the good reports we read on Trip Advisor, we definately were excited at the prospect of staying here and sampling the food at the hotel restaurant. The hotel has been refurbished in the lobby area to a good modern standard, however the rooms are more basic and most dissapointingly did not have air conditioning. They just provided a fan which was not practical during the summer months. LLafranc is a lovely place and worth visiting however if you are at Casamar for the food we would warn you that the service is terrible. The staff were miserable and did not make it a great experience. The food was well presented but very over rated. The Michelin Bib Gourmand is not justified. For an excellent meal we recommend restaurant Leon on the street behing Casamar.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamar Hotel

Property: Casamar Hotel
Address: Del Negro, 3-11, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casamar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing