We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic hotel - great location and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - great location and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've just got back from a stay at the Hotel Terramar and loved it - it was just what we wanted, a quiet, sleepy resort for lots of rest and relaxation. We did feel a bit adventurous on our second day and decided to walk to 'nearby' resort Tamariu. Three hours later and we made it after getting lost in the woods (twice), puffing and panting up massively steep hills and eventually walking along a busy A road! The walk the other way, to Calella, is much more pedestrian friendly and relaxing so do this one instead!
The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and smart, The staff are incredibly friendly and the location is spot on - we had a view of the sea from our room. We were also pleased to discover the little communal roof terrace - it's a bit sparse but does the job if you want a break from the sometimes busy beach.
The resort is very quiet however so you will be disappointed if you are looking for lots to do. We weren't, so we loved it. Next time, I think I would hire a car and explore the area - the roads were also very quiet so seemed manageable for first time drivers in Spain like we would have been.
On the last night we ate in the restaurant which was absolutely lovely, the food was great and good value too. We didn't have breakfast so can't say what that's like but we did have a coffee on the terrace by the sea which was very nice indeed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizPaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Wishing to you greet again, you receive a very warm greeting.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    100
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
144
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit. Lovely location with super view over the seafront, beach and sea. Good overall menu with a wide choice so there should be something for everyone. If not, then the adjoining pizza and pasta bar are worth a look too. The staff are attentive and friendly without being overbearing. When the food arrives you will not be disappointed. Well executed traditional Catalonian cuisine.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Initially allocated a room at the back of the hotel, James and Marina assisted us in our request for a sea-facing room despite the hotel being quite full. It was lovely falling asleep and waking to the sounds of the waves on the beach.

The bedroom was immaculate, the bathroom spotless. It would have been preferable to have a double bed but this is often not the case on the continent. No matter, this is a minor comment.

We were more than happy to choose to eat at the Terrassa Terramar on our first evening, having meandered along the length of the beachfront. The food was delightful - we both had Beef Wellington, and a bottle of the red wine served at the Oscar's ceremony earlier this year. The service was equally enjoyable and the experience as a whole, from the moment unexpected glasses of cava were brought to the table, was a thoroughly pleasurable one.

The hotel excel at the finer points - it may be three-star in name, but the attention to detail and the service lift it above that level. The flat roof has been turned into a suntrap with plenty of loungers - we enjoyed the mid-evening sunshine - and the hotel is happy to look after baggage if you are leaving the town late on your day of departure.

There is no parking at the hotel but we were directed to a quiet road only a couple of hundred metres away where the car sat safely for the duration of our stay.

Offering great value for money and a wonderful location, we will happily stay there again when next we visit Llafranc.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. 206 has a double terrace. As mentioned elsewhere, first floor (rooms 1xx) will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I agree with all the superlatives that are mentioned about the Hotel Terramar. Staff, food(all meals), pricing, ambience with the sea, and even the ability to bring your own wine from a visit to a local winery to dinner. All combined make this the preferable choice in Llafranc. IF a room in another hotel at a similar price is appointed better(and that would be arguable) the Terramar's other superlatives would still make it the better choice.

Room Tip: 102 or 104 if solo for the sea and least cost, 107 and up if a couple. I prefer the lower rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Yet another lovely stay at this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and it was a lovely surprise to receive a half bottle of Cava in our room as we generally stay here around 3 times a year. The buffet breakfast is splendid but we never manage to take full advantage! Cheese, pate, sausage, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, breads, tomatoes, ham etc I could go on!! A freshly squeezed orange machine and Cava if you want plus espresso coffee.
We will return in 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view it's lovely to relax and look out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCG518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice, location is great but the food in the restaurant really makes the difference! We think it is just refurbished, really nice seats at the fire place, would be even better if you could eat there. Good wine menu for a nice price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timjoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel and Restaurant Terramar. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar and we note their contributions.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic little hotel. We stayed in a family room with unbeatable sea view. It was fantastic to fall asleep listening to the waves ! The hotel is spotless and the size of the room / bathroom was very decent. The food at the restaurant is excellent. We had lunch and breakfast. Breakfast is really worth it. Fantastic buffet with the freshest products. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelacuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#5 of 7 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#3 of 7 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Property: Hotel Terramar
Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing