We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Costa Brava Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Llafranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Llafranch
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Costa Brava Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were touring the Costa Brava from Barcelona and quite disappointed by the coastline until we found this treasure tucked away in a sandy cove. The hotel goes way back to the early movie days where they hosted lots of celebrities during that era. But what made this visit so special was the food. We had a 3 hour lunch with all the local delicacies and were entertained by the owner, one of three brothers that own the hotel . The Hotel LLaFranch is worth looking up and what you hope that all of the Costa Brava looks like but does not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianainaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
101
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oppdal Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like last year we hiked one week on Costa Brava. And like last year our tour operator had Hotel Llafranc on the list; with one extra night in this hotel. And we mailed the hotel and asked for two rooms with connecting balconies, and got that. And even better rooms than last year.

In addition to breakfast, which wwas excellent, we had all our meals in the hotel. The waiters recognized us from us from last year, and treated us well. Food and wine was suberb, and it is always good to be served by happy and cheerful waiters.

There is absolutely nothing to complain over in this hotel, and we are already planning to stay there for some days next autumn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We checked this place out but they offered us quite an expensive room opening on to an air shaft!! Instead we got a room with sea view balcony at La Llagosta, just a few yards along the promenade, for much cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a very nice holiday in this hotel in september 2012.
Nice rooms,very nice breakfast,on the beach and very good gin tonics in abar with good waiters and good music from Ibiza.
This is one of the best hotels we have lived in in Spain and we have been on 25 paradores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We’ve now made two visits and we love this place.

Spain’s Catalunyan coast is rocky and studded with small beach cove resorts, generally of a modest scale with tasteful development. Llafranc is one of the most appealing – a small curved but sandy beach with a marina at one end, sheltered between two wooded headlands dotted with signature homes and apartments and one topped by a lighthouse. On entering the resort by car after the cross-country drive from the motorway (c50 minutes) it’s an immediately benign and personable place. The beach gets full but doesn’t feel crowded. The water is clear, safe and lovely with shoals of colourful fish nibbling at the occasional buried rock shelf.

Hotel Llafranch is a smart but understated centrepiece to a restrained and tasteful waterfront where nothing is more than 3 stories high and residential townhouses, their residents sitting quietly out front or eating on their verandahs, punctuate the hotels and cafes facing the sea. . It feels family-run, with the assurance of years of business and many repeat visitors. Rooms look out onto either the beachfront road – not noisy – or the little square of covered cafes.

The rooms are good, clean, bright and comfortable – not much bigger than the average for this class but the sofa and table and the balcony make it feel extended and roomy. The people-watching and view from the balcony make it a great place to read and relax, for all its tininess. Breakfasts are varied and good in a room directly across the road from the beach. The restaurant is good.

Service at the front desk, particularly from Senora Ana-Maria (the best English-speaker and always helpful and courteous) was kind and warm.

What’s curious about Hotel Llafranch is that these sound like minor positives, but they coalesce into a little jewel of a hotel – modest in so many ways but immensely comfortable, relaxing and welcoming. We can’t imagine not going back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have the best views, but the weekend nightclub music is louder there. Facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Llafranc in general has to best the best kept secret on the Costa Brava !
We stayed in the Hotel Llafranc for 5 nights during the peak season now in Aug, Its a charming hotel worth its 3 stars.
If you are looking for a hotel just steps from the beach and the waterfront, this is the place.
We had a double room 101 its was quite small but in good condition , everything worked TV, aircon etc, it has a nice balcony overlooking the beach, but is right above the hotels busy resturant, we were warned by the hotel that it could be noisy and it was especilly on Saturday nights in Aug, but what the hell, when in Spain......
Their breakfast buffe was really good with lots of choices especially hot ones always something different, and a espresso machine for the coffee.
We even ate here our 1st night , it was ok , the best place to eat is at Chez Tomas, we had dinner there 3 times, and do eat lunch at La Serina , very busy at lunch time but good simple food . If you dont mind driving around do go to the village of Palou Sator, it has many find dinning options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Spent 4 days @ Hotel Llafranc, we had double superior rm, views ,room and hotel simply stunning. Fantastic place to spend our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Staff great, big thankyou to the ladies on reception for sorting out flowers and cava in the rm upon arrival. Breakfast were very ,very good. Best ever. LLafranc is great for trying out many good restaurants, some can be at the high end of the price range but dont let that put you off. Walk to Palafrugel is great exercise after the breakfast. Once again thankyou to the staff ,we will be back . Thankyou Tony and Angela

Room Tip: Double superior or sea views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Llafranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Llafranch

Property: Hotel Llafranch
Address: Passeig Cypsela, 16, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Llafranch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Llafranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llafranch Hotel Llafranc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing